Linux-SPDX Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+huawei@kernel.org>
To: Kate Stewart <kstewart@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Linux Doc Mailing List <linux-doc@vger.kernel.org>,
	LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Bingbu Cao <bingbu.cao@intel.com>,
	Maxime Ripard <mripard@kernel.org>, Yong Zhi <yong.zhi@intel.com>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Tian Shu Qiu <tian.shu.qiu@intel.com>,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	devicetree@vger.kernel.org, linux-spdx@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-mm@kvack.org, linux-media@vger.kernel.org,
	dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Sakari Ailus <sakari.ailus@linux.intel.com>,
	Harry Wei <harryxiyou@gmail.com>, David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>,
	Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>,
	Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch>,
	Thomas Zimmermann <tzimmermann@suse.de>,
	Hans Verkuil <hverkuil-cisco@xs4all.nl>,
	Alex Shi <alex.shi@linux.alibaba.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 0/9] Convert the remaining text files to ReST and add SPDX for GFDL
Date: Tue, 23 Jun 2020 15:37:15 +0200
Message-ID: <20200623153442.5d0c91b2@coco.lan> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAG_66ZRjeX0AERQ0g_d0u=quhrhKHzXRu__m46trqzLLt=8XDA@mail.gmail.com>

Hi Kate,

Em Tue, 23 Jun 2020 06:58:55 -0500
Kate Stewart <kstewart@linuxfoundation.org> escreveu:

> On Tue, Jun 23, 2020 at 4:53 AM Mauro Carvalho Chehab
> <mchehab+huawei@kernel.org> wrote:
> >
> > The main goal of this series is to finish the ReST conversion. After this
> > series, we have just those files still in plain old format:
> >
> >         - Documentation/RCU/RTFP.txt
> >         - Documentation/atomic_bitops.txt
> >         - Documentation/memory-barriers.txt
> >         - Documentation/atomic_t.txt
> >         - Documentation/filesystems/dax.txt
> >         - Documentation/filesystems/path-lookup.txt
> >         - Documentation/virt/kvm/devices/README
> >
> > PS.: I'm using a script to remove false-positives and ignore non-converted
> > translated files.
> >
> > It is worth to mention that this fseries contain licenses for the two
> > GFDL licenses used within the Kernel: GFDL-1.1+ and GFDL-1.2.
> >
> > Those licenses are the result of long discussions with the SPDX legal
> > team, and are part of this commit, to be added for the future
> > SPDX 3.10 version:
> >         https://github.com/spdx/license-list-XML/pull/1048/commits/f695d2ac65230d0f4161ba58fff2f9d87bb5a053
> >
> > Mauro Carvalho Chehab (9):
> >   docs: dt: convert booting-without-of.txt to ReST format
> >   LICENSES: add GFDL licenses
> >   media: docs: use SPDX GFDL-1.1-or-later-no-invariants  
> 
> The identifier "GFDL-1.1-or-later-no-invariants" isn't following expected
> construction (or-later and -only at the end) and the pull request is
> still under
> discussion on the SPDX license list, so please hold off on applying this
> until the correct identifier is figured out there.

Thanks for checking this. I assumed that the discussions on SPDX were
finished. For now, I'll keep using a license text at the Kernel
(on media and on another file dual-licensed GPL and GFDL).

I'm keeping the patches changing the license on a temp branch. I'll
re-submit them once the patch gets merged at SPDX specs tree.

Btw, another file using both GPL and GFDL was just added via the
media tree[1]. I need to remember that when re-submitting this one,
as otherwise it would be a left-over.

[1] Due to historic reasons, media userspace API is licensed under
GFDL. We're using a dual-license model for newer files at the
media uAPI book.

Thanks!
Mauro

      reply index

Thread overview: 5+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-06-23  9:52 Mauro Carvalho Chehab
2020-06-23  9:52 ` [PATCH v2 2/9] LICENSES: add GFDL licenses Mauro Carvalho Chehab
2020-06-23 11:47   ` Kate Stewart
2020-06-23 11:58 ` [PATCH v2 0/9] Convert the remaining text files to ReST and add SPDX for GFDL Kate Stewart
2020-06-23 13:37   ` Mauro Carvalho Chehab [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200623153442.5d0c91b2@coco.lan \
    --to=mchehab+huawei@kernel.org \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alex.shi@linux.alibaba.com \
    --cc=bingbu.cao@intel.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=daniel@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=harryxiyou@gmail.com \
    --cc=hverkuil-cisco@xs4all.nl \
    --cc=kstewart@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-media@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux-spdx@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=mripard@kernel.org \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=sakari.ailus@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=tian.shu.qiu@intel.com \
    --cc=tzimmermann@suse.de \
    --cc=yong.zhi@intel.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-SPDX Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-spdx/0 linux-spdx/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-spdx linux-spdx/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-spdx \
		linux-spdx@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-spdx

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-spdx


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git