linux-staging.lists.linux.dev archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
To: "Uwe Kleine-König" <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>
Cc: "Greg Kroah-Hartman" <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	"Sascha Hauer" <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	"Alexander Shishkin" <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>,
	"Alexandre Belloni" <alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com>,
	"Alexandre Bounine" <alex.bou9@gmail.com>,
	"Alex Dubov" <oakad@yahoo.com>, "Alex Elder" <elder@kernel.org>,
	"Alex Williamson" <alex.williamson@redhat.com>,
	"Alison Schofield" <alison.schofield@intel.com>,
	"Allen Hubbe" <allenbh@gmail.com>,
	"Andreas Noever" <andreas.noever@gmail.com>,
	"Andy Gross" <agross@kernel.org>, "Arnd Bergmann" <arnd@arndb.de>,
	"Benjamin Herrenschmidt" <benh@kernel.crashing.org>,
	"Benjamin Tissoires" <benjamin.tissoires@redhat.com>,
	"Ben Widawsky" <ben.widawsky@intel.com>,
	"Bjorn Andersson" <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	"Bjorn Helgaas" <bhelgaas@google.com>,
	"Bodo Stroesser" <bostroesser@gmail.com>,
	"Boris Ostrovsky" <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>,
	"Chen-Yu Tsai" <wens@csie.org>,
	"Christian Borntraeger" <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>,
	"Cornelia Huck" <cohuck@redhat.com>,
	"Cristian Marussi" <cristian.marussi@arm.com>,
	"Dan Williams" <dan.j.williams@intel.com>,
	"Dave Jiang" <dave.jiang@intel.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	"David Woodhouse" <dwmw@amazon.co.uk>,
	"Dexuan Cui" <decui@microsoft.com>,
	"Dmitry Torokhov" <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com>,
	"Dominik Brodowski" <linux@dominikbrodowski.net>,
	"Finn Thain" <fthain@linux-m68k.org>,
	"Florian Fainelli" <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	"Frank Li" <lznuaa@gmail.com>,
	"Geoff Levand" <geoff@infradead.org>,
	"Haiyang Zhang" <haiyangz@microsoft.com>,
	"Hannes Reinecke" <hare@suse.de>,
	"Hans de Goede" <hdegoede@redhat.com>,
	"Harald Freudenberger" <freude@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Heikki Krogerus" <heikki.krogerus@linux.intel.com>,
	"Heiko Carstens" <hca@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Helge Deller" <deller@gmx.de>, "Ira Weiny" <ira.weiny@intel.com>,
	"Jakub Kicinski" <kuba@kernel.org>,
	"James E.J. Bottomley" <James.Bottomley@hansenpartnership.com>,
	"Jaroslav Kysela" <perex@perex.cz>,
	"Jason Wang" <jasowang@redhat.com>,
	"Jens Taprogge" <jens.taprogge@taprogge.org>,
	"Jernej Skrabec" <jernej.skrabec@gmail.com>,
	"Jiri Kosina" <jikos@kernel.org>,
	"Jiri Slaby" <jirislaby@kernel.org>,
	"Joey Pabalan" <jpabalanb@gmail.com>,
	"Johan Hovold" <johan@kernel.org>,
	"Johannes Berg" <johannes@sipsolutions.net>,
	"Johannes Thumshirn" <morbidrsa@gmail.com>,
	"Jon Mason" <jdmason@kudzu.us>, "Juergen Gross" <jgross@suse.com>,
	"Julien Grall" <jgrall@amazon.com>,
	"Kai-Heng Feng" <kai.heng.feng@canonical.com>,
	"Kirti Wankhede" <kwankhede@nvidia.com>,
	"Kishon Vijay Abraham I" <kishon@ti.com>,
	"Krzysztof Wilczyński" <kw@linux.com>,
	"K. Y. Srinivasan" <kys@microsoft.com>,
	"Lee Jones" <lee.jones@linaro.org>, "Len Brown" <lenb@kernel.org>,
	"Lorenzo Pieralisi" <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>,
	"Manohar Vanga" <manohar.vanga@gmail.com>,
	"Marc Zyngier" <maz@kernel.org>,
	"Mark Brown" <broonie@kernel.org>,
	"Mark Gross" <mgross@linux.intel.com>,
	"Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@oracle.com>,
	"Martyn Welch" <martyn@welchs.me.uk>,
	"Mathieu Poirier" <mathieu.poirier@linaro.org>,
	"Matt Porter" <mporter@kernel.crashing.org>,
	"Mauro Carvalho Chehab" <mchehab@kernel.org>,
	"Maxime Ripard" <mripard@kernel.org>,
	"Maximilian Luz" <luzmaximilian@gmail.com>,
	"Maxim Levitsky" <maximlevitsky@gmail.com>,
	"Michael Buesch" <m@bues.ch>,
	"Michael Ellerman" <mpe@ellerman.id.au>,
	"Michael Jamet" <michael.jamet@intel.com>,
	"Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@redhat.com>,
	"Mika Westerberg" <mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com>,
	"Mike Christie" <michael.christie@oracle.com>,
	"Moritz Fischer" <mdf@kernel.org>,
	"Ohad Ben-Cohen" <ohad@wizery.com>,
	"Pali Rohár" <pali@kernel.org>,
	"Paul Mackerras" <paulus@samba.org>,
	"Peter Oberparleiter" <oberpar@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>,
	"Rafał Miłecki" <zajec5@gmail.com>,
	"Rich Felker" <dalias@libc.org>,
	"Rikard Falkeborn" <rikard.falkeborn@gmail.com>,
	"Rob Herring" <robh@kernel.org>,
	"Russell King" <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	"Russell King (Oracle)" <rmk+kernel@armlinux.org.uk>,
	"Samuel Holland" <samuel@sholland.org>,
	"Samuel Iglesias Gonsalvez" <siglesias@igalia.com>,
	"SeongJae Park" <sjpark@amazon.de>,
	"Srinivas Kandagatla" <srinivas.kandagatla@linaro.org>,
	"Srinivas Pandruvada" <srinivas.pandruvada@linux.intel.com>,
	"Stefano Stabellini" <sstabellini@kernel.org>,
	"Stefan Richter" <stefanr@s5r6.in-berlin.de>,
	"Stephen Boyd" <sboyd@kernel.org>,
	"Stephen Hemminger" <sthemmin@microsoft.com>,
	"Sudeep Holla" <sudeep.holla@arm.com>,
	"Sven Van Asbroeck" <TheSven73@gmail.com>,
	"Takashi Iwai" <tiwai@suse.com>,
	"Thomas Bogendoerfer" <tsbogend@alpha.franken.de>,
	"Thorsten Scherer" <t.scherer@eckelmann.de>,
	"Tomas Winkler" <tomas.winkler@intel.com>,
	"Tom Rix" <trix@redhat.com>,
	"Tyrel Datwyler" <tyreld@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Ulf Hansson" <ulf.hansson@linaro.org>,
	"Vasily Gorbik" <gor@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Vineeth Vijayan" <vneethv@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Vinod Koul" <vkoul@kernel.org>,
	"Vishal Verma" <vishal.l.verma@intel.com>,
	"Wei Liu" <wei.liu@kernel.org>,
	"William Breathitt Gray" <vilhelm.gray@gmail.com>,
	"Wolfram Sang" <wsa@kernel.org>, "Wu Hao" <hao.wu@intel.com>,
	"Yehezkel Bernat" <YehezkelShB@gmail.com>,
	"Yoshinori Sato" <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>,
	YueHaibing <yuehaibing@huawei.com>,
	"Yufen Yu" <yuyufen@huawei.com>,
	alsa-devel@alsa-project.org, dmaengine@vger.kernel.org,
	greybus-dev@lists.linaro.org,
	industrypack-devel@lists.sourceforge.net, kvm@vger.kernel.org,
	linux1394-devel@lists.sourceforge.net,
	linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org, linux-cxl@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-fpga@vger.kernel.org, linux-hyperv@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-i2c@vger.kernel.org, linux-i3c@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-input@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org, linux-media@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-mips@vger.kernel.org, linux-mmc@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-ntb@googlegroups.com, linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-pci@vger.kernel.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org,
	linux-remoteproc@vger.kernel.org, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org, linux-serial@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-sh@vger.kernel.org, linux-spi@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-staging@lists.linux.dev, linux-sunxi@lists.linux.dev,
	linux-usb@vger.kernel.org, linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org,
	netdev@vger.kernel.org, nvdimm@lists.linux.dev,
	platform-driver-x86@vger.kernel.org, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org,
	target-devel@vger.kernel.org,
	virtualization@lists.linux-foundation.org,
	xen-devel@lists.xenproject.org,
	"Johannes Thumshirn" <jth@kernel.org>,
	"Rafael J . Wysocki" <rafael@kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v4 5/5] bus: Make remove callback return void
Date: Wed, 14 Jul 2021 10:44:06 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAMuHMdW8r6u4O5zv2ee-3=jPP6qwnOSHdSzf8pPE_y=jY3Bn5A@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210713193522.1770306-6-u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>

On Tue, Jul 13, 2021 at 9:35 PM Uwe Kleine-König
<u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de> wrote:
> The driver core ignores the return value of this callback because there
> is only little it can do when a device disappears.
>
> This is the final bit of a long lasting cleanup quest where several
> buses were converted to also return void from their remove callback.
> Additionally some resource leaks were fixed that were caused by drivers
> returning an error code in the expectation that the driver won't go
> away.
>
> With struct bus_type::remove returning void it's prevented that newly
> implemented buses return an ignored error code and so don't anticipate
> wrong expectations for driver authors.

>  drivers/zorro/zorro-driver.c              | 3 +--

Acked-by: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>

Gr{oetje,eeting}s,

                        Geert

-- 
Geert Uytterhoeven -- There's lots of Linux beyond ia32 -- geert@linux-m68k.org

In personal conversations with technical people, I call myself a hacker. But
when I'm talking to journalists I just say "programmer" or something like that.
                                -- Linus Torvalds

  reply	other threads:[~2021-07-14  8:44 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 7+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-07-13 19:35 [PATCH v4 0/5] " Uwe Kleine-König
2021-07-13 19:35 ` [PATCH v4 5/5] " Uwe Kleine-König
2021-07-14  8:44   ` Geert Uytterhoeven [this message]
2021-07-14 10:25   ` Sudeep Holla
2021-07-20 20:25   ` Wolfram Sang
2021-07-21 10:09 ` [PATCH v4 0/5] " Greg Kroah-Hartman
2021-07-22  8:45   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAMuHMdW8r6u4O5zv2ee-3=jPP6qwnOSHdSzf8pPE_y=jY3Bn5A@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=geert@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=James.Bottomley@hansenpartnership.com \
    --cc=TheSven73@gmail.com \
    --cc=YehezkelShB@gmail.com \
    --cc=agross@kernel.org \
    --cc=alex.bou9@gmail.com \
    --cc=alex.williamson@redhat.com \
    --cc=alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=alison.schofield@intel.com \
    --cc=allenbh@gmail.com \
    --cc=alsa-devel@alsa-project.org \
    --cc=andreas.noever@gmail.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=ben.widawsky@intel.com \
    --cc=benh@kernel.crashing.org \
    --cc=benjamin.tissoires@redhat.com \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com \
    --cc=borntraeger@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=bostroesser@gmail.com \
    --cc=broonie@kernel.org \
    --cc=cohuck@redhat.com \
    --cc=cristian.marussi@arm.com \
    --cc=dalias@libc.org \
    --cc=dan.j.williams@intel.com \
    --cc=dave.jiang@intel.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=decui@microsoft.com \
    --cc=deller@gmx.de \
    --cc=dmaengine@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com \
    --cc=dwmw@amazon.co.uk \
    --cc=elder@kernel.org \
    --cc=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=freude@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=fthain@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=geoff@infradead.org \
    --cc=gor@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=greybus-dev@lists.linaro.org \
    --cc=haiyangz@microsoft.com \
    --cc=hao.wu@intel.com \
    --cc=hare@suse.de \
    --cc=hca@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=hdegoede@redhat.com \
    --cc=heikki.krogerus@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=industrypack-devel@lists.sourceforge.net \
    --cc=ira.weiny@intel.com \
    --cc=jasowang@redhat.com \
    --cc=jdmason@kudzu.us \
    --cc=jens.taprogge@taprogge.org \
    --cc=jernej.skrabec@gmail.com \
    --cc=jgrall@amazon.com \
    --cc=jgross@suse.com \
    --cc=jikos@kernel.org \
    --cc=jirislaby@kernel.org \
    --cc=johan@kernel.org \
    --cc=johannes@sipsolutions.net \
    --cc=jpabalanb@gmail.com \
    --cc=jth@kernel.org \
    --cc=kai.heng.feng@canonical.com \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=kishon@ti.com \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=kvm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=kw@linux.com \
    --cc=kwankhede@nvidia.com \
    --cc=kys@microsoft.com \
    --cc=lee.jones@linaro.org \
    --cc=lenb@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-cxl@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-fpga@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-hyperv@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-i2c@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-i3c@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-input@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=linux-media@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mips@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mmc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-ntb@googlegroups.com \
    --cc=linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-remoteproc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-s390@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-serial@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-sh@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-spi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-staging@lists.linux.dev \
    --cc=linux-sunxi@lists.linux.dev \
    --cc=linux-usb@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux1394-devel@lists.sourceforge.net \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=linux@dominikbrodowski.net \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com \
    --cc=luzmaximilian@gmail.com \
    --cc=lznuaa@gmail.com \
    --cc=m@bues.ch \
    --cc=manohar.vanga@gmail.com \
    --cc=martin.petersen@oracle.com \
    --cc=martyn@welchs.me.uk \
    --cc=mathieu.poirier@linaro.org \
    --cc=maximlevitsky@gmail.com \
    --cc=maz@kernel.org \
    --cc=mchehab@kernel.org \
    --cc=mdf@kernel.org \
    --cc=mgross@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=michael.christie@oracle.com \
    --cc=michael.jamet@intel.com \
    --cc=mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=morbidrsa@gmail.com \
    --cc=mpe@ellerman.id.au \
    --cc=mporter@kernel.crashing.org \
    --cc=mripard@kernel.org \
    --cc=mst@redhat.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=nvdimm@lists.linux.dev \
    --cc=oakad@yahoo.com \
    --cc=oberpar@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=ohad@wizery.com \
    --cc=pali@kernel.org \
    --cc=paulus@samba.org \
    --cc=perex@perex.cz \
    --cc=platform-driver-x86@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=rafael@kernel.org \
    --cc=rikard.falkeborn@gmail.com \
    --cc=rjw@rjwysocki.net \
    --cc=rmk+kernel@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=robh@kernel.org \
    --cc=samuel@sholland.org \
    --cc=sboyd@kernel.org \
    --cc=siglesias@igalia.com \
    --cc=sjpark@amazon.de \
    --cc=sparclinux@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=srinivas.kandagatla@linaro.org \
    --cc=srinivas.pandruvada@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=sstabellini@kernel.org \
    --cc=stefanr@s5r6.in-berlin.de \
    --cc=sthemmin@microsoft.com \
    --cc=sudeep.holla@arm.com \
    --cc=t.scherer@eckelmann.de \
    --cc=target-devel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=tiwai@suse.com \
    --cc=tomas.winkler@intel.com \
    --cc=trix@redhat.com \
    --cc=tsbogend@alpha.franken.de \
    --cc=tyreld@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=ulf.hansson@linaro.org \
    --cc=vilhelm.gray@gmail.com \
    --cc=virtualization@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=vishal.l.verma@intel.com \
    --cc=vkoul@kernel.org \
    --cc=vneethv@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=wei.liu@kernel.org \
    --cc=wens@csie.org \
    --cc=wsa@kernel.org \
    --cc=xen-devel@lists.xenproject.org \
    --cc=ysato@users.sourceforge.jp \
    --cc=yuehaibing@huawei.com \
    --cc=yuyufen@huawei.com \
    --cc=zajec5@gmail.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v4 5/5] bus: Make remove callback return void' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
on how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox