linux-sunxi.lists.linux.dev archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Doug Anderson <dianders@chromium.org>
To: Andrzej Hajda <a.hajda@samsung.com>
Cc: Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@linux.intel.com>,
	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	 Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	 Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>,
	 "open list:OPEN FIRMWARE AND FLATTENED DEVICE TREE BINDINGS"
	<devicetree@vger.kernel.org>,
	 "open list:DRM PANEL DRIVERS" <dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org>,
	MSM <linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org>,
	 David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>,
	Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>,
	 Thomas Zimmermann <tzimmermann@suse.de>,
	Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch>,
	 Maxime Ripard <mripard@kernel.org>,
	Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	 Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	 Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Emil Velikov <emil.velikov@collabora.com>,
	 Enric Balletbo i Serra <enric.balletbo@collabora.com>,
	Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@glider.be>,
	 Jagan Teki <jagan@amarulasolutions.com>,
	Jernej Skrabec <jernej.skrabec@gmail.com>,
	 Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@kernel.org>,
	 Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@samsung.com>,
	Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	 Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	 linux-kernel <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux-OMAP <linux-omap@vger.kernel.org>,
	 Linux-Renesas <linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org>,
	 linux-samsung-soc <linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-sunxi@lists.linux.dev,
	 linux-tegra <linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org>,
	 Stanislav Lisovskiy <stanislav.lisovskiy@intel.com>,
	smyakam@microsoft.com
Subject: Re: [PATCH v5 00/15] eDP: Support probing eDP panels dynamically instead of hardcoding
Date: Fri, 24 Sep 2021 06:59:05 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAD=FV=XEb-jx81inK8hGvdJeRqTLmmBKz7U-m+9=CHbNRSa16g@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <68c3f798-a18d-fe8d-2925-2686716a985b@samsung.com>

Hi,

On Fri, Sep 24, 2021 at 2:10 AM Andrzej Hajda <a.hajda@samsung.com> wrote:
>
> Hi
>
> removed most cc, due to server limitation
>
>
> W dniu 24.09.2021 o 10:03, Jani Nikula pisze:
> > On Mon, 20 Sep 2021, Doug Anderson <dianders@chromium.org> wrote:
> >> Pushed all 15 to drm-misc-next.
> > ...
> >> e8de4d55c259 drm/edid: Use new encoded panel id style for quirks matching
> >> d9f91a10c3e8 drm/edid: Allow querying/working with the panel ID from
> >> the EDID
> > Hi Doug, Stan's reporting "initializer element is not constant" issues
> > here that were discussed before [1]. I wonder what gives, you said you'd
> > hit them on a draft version, but not with what was merged, and I can't
> > reproduce this either. Curious.
>
>
> Apparently this is grey area of unclear specification.
>
> gcc version below 8 reports error, above 8.1+ should work [1]. I am not
> sure if there is nice workaround for older gcc.
>
>
> [1]: https://gcc.gnu.org/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=69960#c18

So I think the only solution is to go back to the character-at-a-time
version. It's slightly uglier but functionality trumps form.

I'll post something today though it might need to wait a few hours
before I can manage it.

-Doug

  reply	other threads:[~2021-09-24 13:59 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 8+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-09-14 20:21 Douglas Anderson
2021-09-14 20:21 ` [PATCH v5 05/15] ARM: configs: Everyone who had PANEL_SIMPLE now gets PANEL_EDP Douglas Anderson
2021-09-14 22:12 ` [PATCH v5 00/15] eDP: Support probing eDP panels dynamically instead of hardcoding Linus Walleij
2021-09-20 16:42   ` Doug Anderson
2021-09-24  8:03     ` Jani Nikula
2021-09-24  9:10       ` Andrzej Hajda
2021-09-24 13:59         ` Doug Anderson [this message]
2021-09-24 14:55           ` Doug Anderson

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAD=FV=XEb-jx81inK8hGvdJeRqTLmmBKz7U-m+9=CHbNRSa16g@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=dianders@chromium.org \
    --cc=a.hajda@samsung.com \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=daniel@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=emil.velikov@collabora.com \
    --cc=enric.balletbo@collabora.com \
    --cc=geert+renesas@glider.be \
    --cc=jagan@amarulasolutions.com \
    --cc=jani.nikula@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=jernej.skrabec@gmail.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=krzk@kernel.org \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-omap@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-sunxi@lists.linux.dev \
    --cc=linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=m.szyprowski@samsung.com \
    --cc=maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=mripard@kernel.org \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=sam@ravnborg.org \
    --cc=smyakam@microsoft.com \
    --cc=stanislav.lisovskiy@intel.com \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --cc=tzimmermann@suse.de \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v5 00/15] eDP: Support probing eDP panels dynamically instead of hardcoding' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).