linux-toolchains.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Miguel Ojeda <miguel.ojeda.sandonis@gmail.com>
To: Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@google.com>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Bill Wendling <wcw@google.com>,
	Sami Tolvanen <samitolvanen@google.com>,
	Peter Oberparleiter <oberpar@linux.ibm.com>,
	Masahiro Yamada <masahiroy@kernel.org>,
	Nathan Chancellor <nathan@kernel.org>,
	Luc Van Oostenryck <luc.vanoostenryck@gmail.com>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ardb@kernel.org>, Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Rasmus Villemoes <linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk>,
	linux-kernel <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	clang-built-linux <clang-built-linux@googlegroups.com>,
	"maintainer:X86 ARCHITECTURE (32-BIT AND 64-BIT)"
	<x86@kernel.org>, Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>,
	Martin Liska <mliska@suse.cz>, Marco Elver <elver@google.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Fangrui Song <maskray@google.com>,
	Linux Doc Mailing List <linux-doc@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux Kbuild mailing list <linux-kbuild@vger.kernel.org>,
	Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>,
	Johannes Berg <johannes.berg@intel.com>,
	linux-toolchains@vger.kernel.org,
	Heiko Carstens <hca@linux.ibm.com>,
	Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>,
	Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>,
	linux-s390@vger.kernel.org,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Miguel Ojeda <ojeda@kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 2/3] compiler_attributes.h: cleanups for GCC 4.9+
Date: Tue, 22 Jun 2021 01:31:01 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CANiq72kQ29ZnFB9RYe=pCzZLgSu=A+cxVAdq=hLPtymbc0XAag@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210621231822.2848305-3-ndesaulniers@google.com>

On Tue, Jun 22, 2021 at 1:18 AM Nick Desaulniers
<ndesaulniers@google.com> wrote:
>
> Since
> commit 6ec4476ac825 ("Raise gcc version requirement to 4.9")
> we no longer support building the kernel with GCC 4.8; drop the
> preprocess checks for __GNUC_MINOR__ version. It's implied that if
> __GNUC_MAJOR__ is 4, then the only supported version of __GNUC_MINOR__
> left is 9.

Yeah, I was waiting for the raise to 5.x to remove the entire block,
but this is of course good since we did not get that yet :-)

    Reviewed-by: Miguel Ojeda <ojeda@kernel.org>

Cheers,
Miguel

  reply	other threads:[~2021-06-21 23:31 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 18+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-06-21 23:18 [PATCH v2 0/3] no_profile fn attr and Kconfig for GCOV+PGO Nick Desaulniers
2021-06-21 23:18 ` [PATCH v2 1/3] compiler_attributes.h: define __no_profile, add to noinstr Nick Desaulniers
2021-06-21 23:41   ` Nathan Chancellor
2021-06-21 23:18 ` [PATCH v2 2/3] compiler_attributes.h: cleanups for GCC 4.9+ Nick Desaulniers
2021-06-21 23:31   ` Miguel Ojeda [this message]
2021-06-21 23:42   ` Nathan Chancellor
2021-06-21 23:18 ` [PATCH v2 3/3] Kconfig: add ARCH_WANTS_NO_INSTR+CC_HAS_NO_PROFILE_FN_ATTR, depend on for GCOV and PGO Nick Desaulniers
2021-06-21 23:45   ` Nathan Chancellor
2021-06-22  7:25   ` Peter Zijlstra
2021-06-22  8:09     ` Marco Elver
2021-06-22  9:05   ` Mark Rutland
2021-06-22 11:10     ` Will Deacon
2021-06-22  9:33   ` Heiko Carstens
2021-06-22  9:35   ` Peter Oberparleiter
2021-06-22  7:25 ` [PATCH v2 0/3] no_profile fn attr and Kconfig for GCOV+PGO Peter Zijlstra
2021-06-22 18:19 ` Kees Cook
2021-06-23  6:15 ` Kees Cook
2021-06-24 19:36   ` Nick Desaulniers

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CANiq72kQ29ZnFB9RYe=pCzZLgSu=A+cxVAdq=hLPtymbc0XAag@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=miguel.ojeda.sandonis@gmail.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=ardb@kernel.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=borntraeger@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=clang-built-linux@googlegroups.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=dvyukov@google.com \
    --cc=elver@google.com \
    --cc=gor@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=hca@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=johannes.berg@intel.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kbuild@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-s390@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-toolchains@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk \
    --cc=luc.vanoostenryck@gmail.com \
    --cc=masahiroy@kernel.org \
    --cc=maskray@google.com \
    --cc=mliska@suse.cz \
    --cc=nathan@kernel.org \
    --cc=ndesaulniers@google.com \
    --cc=oberpar@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=ojeda@kernel.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=samitolvanen@google.com \
    --cc=wcw@google.com \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 2/3] compiler_attributes.h: cleanups for GCC 4.9+' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).