linux-um.lists.infradead.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Niklas Schnelle <schnelle@linux.ibm.com>
To: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Richard Henderson <richard.henderson@linaro.org>,
	Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>,
	Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>,
	Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>,
	Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>,
	Thomas Bogendoerfer <tsbogend@alpha.franken.de>,
	"James E.J. Bottomley" <James.Bottomley@HansenPartnership.com>,
	Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>,
	Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>,
	Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>,
	Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@csgroup.eu>,
	Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com>,
	Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@dabbelt.com>,
	Albert Ou <aou@eecs.berkeley.edu>,
	Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>,
	Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>,
	John Paul Adrian Glaubitz <glaubitz@physik.fu-berlin.de>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>,
	Anton Ivanov <anton.ivanov@cambridgegreys.com>,
	Johannes Berg <johannes@sipsolutions.net>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>,
	x86@kernel.org, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: "Greg Kroah-Hartman" <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	"Bjorn Helgaas" <bhelgaas@google.com>,
	"Uwe Kleine-König" <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>,
	"Mauro Carvalho Chehab" <mchehab@kernel.org>,
	"Alan Stern" <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@kernel.org>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-arch@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-pci@vger.kernel.org, "Arnd Bergmann" <arnd@kernel.org>,
	linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org, linux-mips@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org,
	linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org,
	sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, linux-um@lists.infradead.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 01/38] Kconfig: introduce HAS_IOPORT option and select it as necessary
Date: Tue, 14 Mar 2023 17:37:34 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <62b254d84463338f0210b52e37628d05416787d1.camel@linux.ibm.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20230314121216.413434-2-schnelle@linux.ibm.com>

On Tue, 2023-03-14 at 13:11 +0100, Niklas Schnelle wrote:
> We introduce a new HAS_IOPORT Kconfig option to indicate support for I/O
> Port access. In a future patch HAS_IOPORT=n will disable compilation of
> the I/O accessor functions inb()/outb() and friends on architectures
> which can not meaningfully support legacy I/O spaces such as s390. Also
> add dependencies on HAS_IOPORT for the ISA and HAVE_EISA config options
> as these busses always go along with HAS_IOPORT.
> 
> The "depends on" relations on HAS_IOPORT in drivers as well as ifdefs
> for HAS_IOPORT specific sections will be added in subsequent patches on
> a per subsystem basis.
> 
> Co-developed-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@kernel.org>
> Signed-off-by: Niklas Schnelle <schnelle@linux.ibm.com>
> ---
> 

@Arnd, I swear I asked you and then added Signed-off-bys for all these
Co-developed-bys as suggested by checkpatch. Sadly that must have been
during my failed attempt of converting to b4 prep / b4 send before
sending this last Friday and then it got lost. It almost worked and is
a very nice work flow except that b4 currently can only use a single
list of To/Cc fields and for this treewide series that would probably
hit mail server limits. Added it now.

Thanks,
Niklas


_______________________________________________
linux-um mailing list
linux-um@lists.infradead.org
http://lists.infradead.org/mailman/listinfo/linux-um

      parent reply	other threads:[~2023-03-14 16:38 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 7+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
     [not found] <20230314121216.413434-1-schnelle@linux.ibm.com>
2023-03-14 12:11 ` [PATCH v3 01/38] Kconfig: introduce HAS_IOPORT option and select it as necessary Niklas Schnelle
2023-03-14 12:37   ` Johannes Berg
2023-03-23 13:23     ` Niklas Schnelle
2023-03-14 12:48   ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2023-03-14 13:29   ` Arnd Bergmann
2023-03-14 16:11     ` Niklas Schnelle
2023-03-14 16:37   ` Niklas Schnelle [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=62b254d84463338f0210b52e37628d05416787d1.camel@linux.ibm.com \
    --to=schnelle@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=James.Bottomley@HansenPartnership.com \
    --cc=anton.ivanov@cambridgegreys.com \
    --cc=aou@eecs.berkeley.edu \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=arnd@kernel.org \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=christophe.leroy@csgroup.eu \
    --cc=dalias@libc.org \
    --cc=dave.hansen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=deller@gmx.de \
    --cc=geert@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=glaubitz@physik.fu-berlin.de \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru \
    --cc=johannes@sipsolutions.net \
    --cc=linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arch@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=linux-mips@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-sh@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-um@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=mattst88@gmail.com \
    --cc=mchehab@kernel.org \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=monstr@monstr.eu \
    --cc=mpe@ellerman.id.au \
    --cc=npiggin@gmail.com \
    --cc=palmer@dabbelt.com \
    --cc=paul.walmsley@sifive.com \
    --cc=rafael@kernel.org \
    --cc=richard.henderson@linaro.org \
    --cc=richard@nod.at \
    --cc=sparclinux@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=stern@rowland.harvard.edu \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=tsbogend@alpha.franken.de \
    --cc=u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --cc=ysato@users.sourceforge.jp \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).