linux-um.lists.infradead.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Niklas Schnelle <schnelle@linux.ibm.com>
To: Johannes Berg <johannes@sipsolutions.net>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Richard Henderson <richard.henderson@linaro.org>,
	Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>,
	Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>,
	Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>,
	Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>,
	Thomas Bogendoerfer <tsbogend@alpha.franken.de>,
	"James E.J. Bottomley" <James.Bottomley@HansenPartnership.com>,
	Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>,
	Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>,
	Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>,
	Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@csgroup.eu>,
	Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com>,
	Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@dabbelt.com>,
	Albert Ou <aou@eecs.berkeley.edu>,
	Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>,
	Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>,
	John Paul Adrian Glaubitz <glaubitz@physik.fu-berlin.de>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>,
	Anton Ivanov <anton.ivanov@cambridgegreys.com>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>,
	x86@kernel.org, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: "Greg Kroah-Hartman" <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	"Bjorn Helgaas" <bhelgaas@google.com>,
	"Uwe Kleine-König" <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>,
	"Mauro Carvalho Chehab" <mchehab@kernel.org>,
	"Alan Stern" <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@kernel.org>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-arch@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-pci@vger.kernel.org, "Arnd Bergmann" <arnd@kernel.org>,
	linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org, linux-mips@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org,
	linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org,
	sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, linux-um@lists.infradead.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 01/38] Kconfig: introduce HAS_IOPORT option and select it as necessary
Date: Thu, 23 Mar 2023 14:23:57 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <95d5d0c434ef6c4cadc3fca34c4c0d3104becea8.camel@linux.ibm.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <21a828bae06b97b8ca806a6b76d867902b1e0e1f.camel@sipsolutions.net>

On Tue, 2023-03-14 at 13:37 +0100, Johannes Berg wrote:
> On Tue, 2023-03-14 at 13:11 +0100, Niklas Schnelle wrote:
> > --- a/arch/um/Kconfig
> > +++ b/arch/um/Kconfig
> > @@ -56,6 +56,7 @@ config NO_IOPORT_MAP
> >  
> >  config ISA
> >  	bool
> > +	depends on HAS_IOPORT
> > 
> 
> config ISA here is already unselectable, and nothing ever does "select
> ISA" (only in some other architectures), so is there much point in this?
> 
> I'm not even sure why this exists at all.

You're right there's not much point and I dropped this for v4. I agree
that probably the whole "config ISA" could be removed if it's always
false anyway but that seems out of scope for this patch.

> 
> But anyway, adding a dependency to a always-false symbol doesn't make it
> less always-false :-)
> 
> Acked-by: Johannes Berg <johannes@sipsolutions.net> # for ARCH=um

Thanks

> 
> 
> Certainly will be nice to get rid of this cruft for architectures that
> don't have it.
> 
> johannes

Yes, also, for s390 the broken NULL + port number access in the generic
inb()/outb() currently causes the only remaining clang warning on
defconfig builds.

_______________________________________________
linux-um mailing list
linux-um@lists.infradead.org
http://lists.infradead.org/mailman/listinfo/linux-um

  reply	other threads:[~2023-03-23 13:25 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 7+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
     [not found] <20230314121216.413434-1-schnelle@linux.ibm.com>
2023-03-14 12:11 ` [PATCH v3 01/38] Kconfig: introduce HAS_IOPORT option and select it as necessary Niklas Schnelle
2023-03-14 12:37   ` Johannes Berg
2023-03-23 13:23     ` Niklas Schnelle [this message]
2023-03-14 12:48   ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2023-03-14 13:29   ` Arnd Bergmann
2023-03-14 16:11     ` Niklas Schnelle
2023-03-14 16:37   ` Niklas Schnelle

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=95d5d0c434ef6c4cadc3fca34c4c0d3104becea8.camel@linux.ibm.com \
    --to=schnelle@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=James.Bottomley@HansenPartnership.com \
    --cc=anton.ivanov@cambridgegreys.com \
    --cc=aou@eecs.berkeley.edu \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=arnd@kernel.org \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=christophe.leroy@csgroup.eu \
    --cc=dalias@libc.org \
    --cc=dave.hansen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=deller@gmx.de \
    --cc=geert@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=glaubitz@physik.fu-berlin.de \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru \
    --cc=johannes@sipsolutions.net \
    --cc=linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arch@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=linux-mips@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-sh@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-um@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=mattst88@gmail.com \
    --cc=mchehab@kernel.org \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=monstr@monstr.eu \
    --cc=mpe@ellerman.id.au \
    --cc=npiggin@gmail.com \
    --cc=palmer@dabbelt.com \
    --cc=paul.walmsley@sifive.com \
    --cc=rafael@kernel.org \
    --cc=richard.henderson@linaro.org \
    --cc=richard@nod.at \
    --cc=sparclinux@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=stern@rowland.harvard.edu \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=tsbogend@alpha.franken.de \
    --cc=u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --cc=ysato@users.sourceforge.jp \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).