Linux-USB Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
To: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
Cc: Maxime Chevallier <maxime.chevallier@bootlin.com>,
	Gavin Li <git@thegavinli.com>,
	Laurentiu Tudor <laurentiu.tudor@nxp.com>,
	Minas Harutyunyan <hminas@synopsys.com>,
	Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>,
	Geoff Levand <geoff@infradead.org>,
	Michal Simek <michal.simek@xilinx.com>,
	Shawn Guo <shawnguo@kernel.org>,
	Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>,
	Pengutronix Kernel Team <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	Fabio Estevam <festevam@gmail.com>,
	NXP Linux Team <linux-imx@nxp.com>,
	Olav Kongas <ok@artecdesign.ee>,
	Tony Prisk <linux@prisktech.co.nz>,
	Mathias Nyman <mathias.nyman@intel.com>, Bin Liu <b-liu@ti.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, linux-usb@vger.kernel.org,
	linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org,
	linux-arch@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: next take at setting up a dma mask by default for platform devices
Date: Thu, 15 Aug 2019 16:05:31 +0200
Message-ID: <20190815140531.GC7174@kroah.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20190815132531.GA12036@lst.de>

On Thu, Aug 15, 2019 at 03:25:31PM +0200, Christoph Hellwig wrote:
> On Thu, Aug 15, 2019 at 03:23:18PM +0200, Greg Kroah-Hartman wrote:
> > I've taken the first 2 patches for 5.3-final.  Given that patch 3 needs
> > to be fixed, I'll wait for a respin of these before considering them.
> 
> I have a respun version ready, but I'd really like to hear some
> comments from usb developers about the approach before spamming
> everyone again..

Spam away, we can take it :)

  reply index

Thread overview: 17+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-08-11  8:05 Christoph Hellwig
2019-08-11  8:05 ` [PATCH 1/6] usb: don't create dma pools for HCDs with a localmem_pool Christoph Hellwig
2019-08-11  8:05 ` [PATCH 2/6] usb: add a hcd_uses_dma helper Christoph Hellwig
2019-08-11  8:05 ` [PATCH 3/6] usb: add a HCD_DMA flag instead of guestimating DMA capabilities Christoph Hellwig
2019-08-12 11:57   ` Christoph Hellwig
2019-08-11  8:05 ` [PATCH 4/6] usb/max3421: remove the dummy {un,}map_urb_for_dma methods Christoph Hellwig
2019-08-11  8:05 ` [PATCH 5/6] dma-mapping: remove is_device_dma_capable Christoph Hellwig
2019-08-11  8:05 ` [PATCH 6/6] driver core: initialize a default DMA mask for platform device Christoph Hellwig
2019-08-14 15:49   ` Robin Murphy
2019-08-15 13:32     ` Christoph Hellwig
2019-08-15 13:03   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2019-08-15 13:38     ` Christoph Hellwig
2019-08-15 14:05       ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2019-08-15 13:23 ` next take at setting up a dma mask by default for platform devices Greg Kroah-Hartman
2019-08-15 13:25   ` Christoph Hellwig
2019-08-15 14:05     ` Greg Kroah-Hartman [this message]
2019-08-15 14:39     ` Alan Stern

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20190815140531.GC7174@kroah.com \
    --to=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=b-liu@ti.com \
    --cc=festevam@gmail.com \
    --cc=geoff@infradead.org \
    --cc=git@thegavinli.com \
    --cc=hch@lst.de \
    --cc=hminas@synopsys.com \
    --cc=iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=laurentiu.tudor@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-arch@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-imx@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-usb@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@prisktech.co.nz \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=mathias.nyman@intel.com \
    --cc=maxime.chevallier@bootlin.com \
    --cc=michal.simek@xilinx.com \
    --cc=ok@artecdesign.ee \
    --cc=s.hauer@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --cc=stern@rowland.harvard.edu \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-USB Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-usb/0 linux-usb/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-usb linux-usb/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-usb \
		linux-usb@vger.kernel.org linux-usb@archiver.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-usb

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-usb


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/ public-inbox