Linux-USB Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
To: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Maxime Chevallier <maxime.chevallier@bootlin.com>
Cc: Gavin Li <git@thegavinli.com>,
	Laurentiu Tudor <laurentiu.tudor@nxp.com>,
	Minas Harutyunyan <hminas@synopsys.com>,
	Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>,
	Geoff Levand <geoff@infradead.org>,
	Michal Simek <michal.simek@xilinx.com>,
	Shawn Guo <shawnguo@kernel.org>,
	Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>,
	Pengutronix Kernel Team <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	Fabio Estevam <festevam@gmail.com>,
	NXP Linux Team <linux-imx@nxp.com>,
	Mathias Nyman <mathias.nyman@intel.com>, Bin Liu <b-liu@ti.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, linux-usb@vger.kernel.org,
	linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org,
	iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org, linux-arch@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: next take at setting up a dma mask by default for platform devices v2
Date: Fri, 16 Aug 2019 08:24:29 +0200
Message-ID: <20190816062435.881-1-hch@lst.de> (raw)

Hi all,

this is another attempt to make sure the dma_mask pointer is always
initialized for platform devices.  Not doing so lead to lots of
boilerplate code, and makes platform devices different from all our
major busses like PCI where we always set up a dma_mask.  In the long
run this should also help to eventually make dma_mask a scalar value
instead of a pointer and remove even more cruft.

The bigger blocker for this last time was the fact that the usb
subsystem uses the presence or lack of a dma_mask to check if the core
should do dma mapping for the driver, which is highly unusual.  So we
fix this first.  Note that this has some overlap with the pending
desire to use the proper dma_mmap_coherent helper for mapping usb
buffers.  The first two patches have already been queued up by Greg
and are only included for completeness.

Changes since v1:
 - fix a compile error in the ppc of ohci driver
 - revamp the last patch to get rid of the archdata callout entirely.

             reply index

Thread overview: 8+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-08-16  6:24 Christoph Hellwig [this message]
2019-08-16  6:24 ` [PATCH 1/6] usb: don't create dma pools for HCDs with a localmem_pool Christoph Hellwig
2019-08-16  6:24 ` [PATCH 2/6] usb: add a hcd_uses_dma helper Christoph Hellwig
2019-08-16  6:24 ` [PATCH 3/6] usb: add a HCD_DMA flag instead of guestimating DMA capabilities Christoph Hellwig
2019-08-16  6:24 ` [PATCH 4/6] usb/max3421: remove the dummy {un,}map_urb_for_dma methods Christoph Hellwig
2019-08-16  6:24 ` [PATCH 5/6] dma-mapping: remove is_device_dma_capable Christoph Hellwig
2019-08-16  6:24 ` [PATCH 6/6] driver core: initialize a default DMA mask for platform device Christoph Hellwig
2019-08-16  7:39   ` Geert Uytterhoeven

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20190816062435.881-1-hch@lst.de \
    --to=hch@lst.de \
    --cc=b-liu@ti.com \
    --cc=festevam@gmail.com \
    --cc=geoff@infradead.org \
    --cc=git@thegavinli.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=hminas@synopsys.com \
    --cc=iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=laurentiu.tudor@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-arch@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-imx@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=linux-usb@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=mathias.nyman@intel.com \
    --cc=maxime.chevallier@bootlin.com \
    --cc=michal.simek@xilinx.com \
    --cc=s.hauer@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --cc=stern@rowland.harvard.edu \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-USB Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-usb/0 linux-usb/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-usb linux-usb/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-usb \
		linux-usb@vger.kernel.org linux-usb@archiver.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-usb


Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-usb


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/ public-inbox