Linux-USB Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
To: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Maxime Chevallier <maxime.chevallier@bootlin.com>
Cc: Gavin Li <git@thegavinli.com>,
	Laurentiu Tudor <laurentiu.tudor@nxp.com>,
	Minas Harutyunyan <hminas@synopsys.com>,
	Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>,
	Geoff Levand <geoff@infradead.org>,
	Michal Simek <michal.simek@xilinx.com>,
	Shawn Guo <shawnguo@kernel.org>,
	Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>,
	Pengutronix Kernel Team <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	Fabio Estevam <festevam@gmail.com>,
	NXP Linux Team <linux-imx@nxp.com>,
	Mathias Nyman <mathias.nyman@intel.com>, Bin Liu <b-liu@ti.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, linux-usb@vger.kernel.org,
	linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org,
	iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org, linux-arch@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH 1/6] usb: don't create dma pools for HCDs with a localmem_pool
Date: Fri, 16 Aug 2019 08:24:30 +0200
Message-ID: <20190816062435.881-2-hch@lst.de> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20190816062435.881-1-hch@lst.de>

If the HCD provides a localmem pool we will never use the DMA pools, so
don't create them.

Fixes: b0310c2f09bb ("USB: use genalloc for USB HCs with local memory")
Signed-off-by: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
---
 drivers/usb/core/buffer.c | 6 +++---
 1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/usb/core/buffer.c b/drivers/usb/core/buffer.c
index 1359b78a624e..1a5b3dcae930 100644
--- a/drivers/usb/core/buffer.c
+++ b/drivers/usb/core/buffer.c
@@ -66,9 +66,9 @@ int hcd_buffer_create(struct usb_hcd *hcd)
 	char		name[16];
 	int		i, size;
 
-	if (!IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_HAS_DMA) ||
-	    (!is_device_dma_capable(hcd->self.sysdev) &&
-	     !hcd->localmem_pool))
+	if (hcd->localmem_pool ||
+	    !IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_HAS_DMA) ||
+	    !is_device_dma_capable(hcd->self.sysdev))
 		return 0;
 
 	for (i = 0; i < HCD_BUFFER_POOLS; i++) {
-- 
2.20.1


  reply index

Thread overview: 9+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-08-16  6:24 next take at setting up a dma mask by default for platform devices v2 Christoph Hellwig
2019-08-16  6:24 ` Christoph Hellwig [this message]
2019-08-16  6:24 ` [PATCH 2/6] usb: add a hcd_uses_dma helper Christoph Hellwig
2019-08-16  6:24 ` [PATCH 3/6] usb: add a HCD_DMA flag instead of guestimating DMA capabilities Christoph Hellwig
2019-08-16  6:24 ` [PATCH 4/6] usb/max3421: remove the dummy {un,}map_urb_for_dma methods Christoph Hellwig
2019-08-16  6:24 ` [PATCH 5/6] dma-mapping: remove is_device_dma_capable Christoph Hellwig
2019-08-16  6:24 ` [PATCH 6/6] driver core: initialize a default DMA mask for platform device Christoph Hellwig
2019-08-16  7:39   ` Geert Uytterhoeven
  -- strict thread matches above, loose matches on Subject: below --
2019-08-11  8:05 next take at setting up a dma mask by default for platform devices Christoph Hellwig
2019-08-11  8:05 ` [PATCH 1/6] usb: don't create dma pools for HCDs with a localmem_pool Christoph Hellwig

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20190816062435.881-2-hch@lst.de \
    --to=hch@lst.de \
    --cc=b-liu@ti.com \
    --cc=festevam@gmail.com \
    --cc=geoff@infradead.org \
    --cc=git@thegavinli.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=hminas@synopsys.com \
    --cc=iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=laurentiu.tudor@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-arch@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-imx@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=linux-usb@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=mathias.nyman@intel.com \
    --cc=maxime.chevallier@bootlin.com \
    --cc=michal.simek@xilinx.com \
    --cc=s.hauer@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --cc=stern@rowland.harvard.edu \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-USB Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-usb/0 linux-usb/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-usb linux-usb/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-usb \
		linux-usb@vger.kernel.org linux-usb@archiver.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-usb


Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-usb


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/ public-inbox