Linux-USB Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
To: Konrad Dybcio <konradybcio@gmail.com>
Cc: Martin Botka <martin.botka1@gmail.com>,
	Rob Clark <robdclark@gmail.com>, Sean Paul <sean@poorly.run>,
	David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>, Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch>,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>, Andy Gross <agross@kernel.org>,
	Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	Kishon Vijay Abraham I <kishon@ti.com>,
	Vinod Koul <vkoul@kernel.org>,
	Michael Turquette <mturquette@baylibre.com>,
	Stephen Boyd <sboyd@kernel.org>, Felipe Balbi <balbi@kernel.org>,
	Jordan Crouse <jcrouse@codeaurora.org>,
	zhengbin <zhengbin13@huawei.com>,
	Jeffrey Hugo <jeffrey.l.hugo@gmail.com>,
	AngeloGioacchino Del Regno <kholk11@gmail.com>,
	Ben Dooks <ben.dooks@codethink.co.uk>,
	Krzysztof Wilczynski <kw@linux.com>,
	Harigovindan P <harigovi@codeaurora.org>,
	Brian Masney <masneyb@onstation.org>,
	Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>,
	Xiaozhe Shi <xiaozhes@codeaurora.org>,
	Manu Gautam <mgautam@codeaurora.org>,
	linux-arm-msm <linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:DRM PANEL DRIVERS" <dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org>,
	freedreno <freedreno@lists.freedesktop.org>,
	DTML <devicetree@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-usb@vger.kernel.org, linux-clk@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 9/9] soc/qcom: Add REVID driver
Date: Sun, 26 Jul 2020 14:04:22 +0200
Message-ID: <20200726120422.GA1292190@kroah.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAMS8qEV7jhbHqpXE2UOaXBVM5WbCThaGrcD3wiH9kf6h_K-qeA@mail.gmail.com>

On Sun, Jul 26, 2020 at 01:40:46PM +0200, Konrad Dybcio wrote:
> >Horrible global symbol name.  Who calls this?
> 
> Welcome to development on qcom platforms :D

Yeah, I have seen :(

> >This is the last patch in
> >the series, so if there is no user for this, please don't export it.
> 
> Other downstream drivers make use of it.. need to get this up first, sorry :V

Then use a proper name for it, with a correct prefix, and export it with
EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL() please.

> >Why do you need a .h file in the include directory if only a single .c
> >file needs it?  Just put that info in the .c file itself.
> 
> Again, other downstream drivers which some people and I intend to
> bring to upstream standards use that to access the PMIC model/hw revision.

But all of those defines are not needed, just the function name, right?

> >But again, who uses this module?  If it's only good for a single line in
> >the kernel log, that feels like a huge waste to me.
> 
> downstream-kernel-dir$ rg -l qpnp-revid.h | wc -l
> 25
> 
> So yeah, quite a bunch of other qcom-specific drivers.
> 
> I'll try to fix these and send a v2.

Hold off on this and wait until there is a real user for it, as we can
not take api additions without a user, otherwise we will just come along
and delete the code.

Submit it as part of a series that actually uses the function, so we can
at least see if the function makes sense to be used in that way as well,
right now we have no clue.

thanks,

greg k-h

  reply index

Thread overview: 23+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-07-26 11:11 [PATCH 0/9] SDM630/36/60 driver enablement Konrad Dybcio
2020-07-26 11:11 ` [PATCH 1/9] clk: qcom: gcc-sdm660: Add missing modem reset Konrad Dybcio
     [not found]   ` <159587899589.1360974.4403082749390843157@swboyd.mtv.corp.google.com>
2020-07-27 19:58     ` Konrad Dybcio
2020-07-26 11:11 ` [PATCH 2/9] phy: qcom-qusb2: Add support for SDM630/660 Konrad Dybcio
2020-07-31 20:26   ` Rob Herring
2020-07-26 11:12 ` [PATCH 3/9] drivers: usb: dwc3-qcom: Add sdm660 compatible Konrad Dybcio
2020-07-31 20:26   ` Rob Herring
2020-07-26 11:12 ` [PATCH 4/9] drm/msm/dsi: Add phy configuration for SDM630/636/660 Konrad Dybcio
2020-08-03 11:00   ` Vinod Koul
2020-08-03 16:06     ` Rob Clark
2020-08-04 12:09       ` Vinod Koul
2020-08-04 14:49         ` Rob Clark
2020-07-26 11:12 ` [PATCH 5/9] drm/msm/mdp5: Add MDP5 configuration for SDM630 Konrad Dybcio
2020-07-26 11:12 ` [PATCH 6/9] drm/msm/dsi: Add DSI configuration for SDM660 Konrad Dybcio
2020-07-26 11:12 ` [PATCH 7/9] drm/msm/mdp5: Add MDP5 configuration for SDM636/660 Konrad Dybcio
2020-07-26 11:12 ` [PATCH 8/9] clk: qcom: gcc-sdm660: Fix up gcc_mss_mnoc_bimc_axi_clk Konrad Dybcio
     [not found]   ` <159587887102.1360974.16083886481437183810@swboyd.mtv.corp.google.com>
2020-07-27 19:58     ` Konrad Dybcio
2020-07-26 11:12 ` [PATCH 9/9] soc/qcom: Add REVID driver Konrad Dybcio
2020-07-26 11:29   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-07-26 11:40     ` Konrad Dybcio
2020-07-26 12:04       ` Greg Kroah-Hartman [this message]
2020-07-27 18:13   ` Rob Herring
2020-07-27 18:13   ` Rob Herring

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200726120422.GA1292190@kroah.com \
    --to=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=agross@kernel.org \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=balbi@kernel.org \
    --cc=ben.dooks@codethink.co.uk \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=daniel@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=freedreno@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=harigovi@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=jcrouse@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=jeffrey.l.hugo@gmail.com \
    --cc=kholk11@gmail.com \
    --cc=kishon@ti.com \
    --cc=konradybcio@gmail.com \
    --cc=kw@linux.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-clk@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-usb@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=martin.botka1@gmail.com \
    --cc=masneyb@onstation.org \
    --cc=mgautam@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=mturquette@baylibre.com \
    --cc=robdclark@gmail.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=sam@ravnborg.org \
    --cc=sboyd@kernel.org \
    --cc=sean@poorly.run \
    --cc=vkoul@kernel.org \
    --cc=xiaozhes@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=zhengbin13@huawei.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-USB Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-usb/0 linux-usb/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-usb linux-usb/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-usb \
		linux-usb@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-usb

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-usb


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git