linux-wireless.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Hector Martin <marcan@marcan.st>
To: Jonas Gorski <jonas.gorski@gmail.com>
Cc: "Arend van Spriel" <aspriel@gmail.com>,
	"Franky Lin" <franky.lin@broadcom.com>,
	"Hante Meuleman" <hante.meuleman@broadcom.com>,
	"Kalle Valo" <kvalo@kernel.org>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	"Eric Dumazet" <edumazet@google.com>,
	"Jakub Kicinski" <kuba@kernel.org>,
	"Paolo Abeni" <pabeni@redhat.com>,
	"Alexander Prutskov" <alep@cypress.com>,
	"Chi-Hsien Lin" <chi-hsien.lin@cypress.com>,
	"Wright Feng" <wright.feng@cypress.com>,
	"Ian Lin" <ian.lin@infineon.com>,
	"Soontak Lee" <soontak.lee@cypress.com>,
	"Joseph chuang" <jiac@cypress.com>,
	"Sven Peter" <sven@svenpeter.dev>,
	"Alyssa Rosenzweig" <alyssa@rosenzweig.io>,
	"Aditya Garg" <gargaditya08@live.com>,
	asahi@lists.linux.dev, linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org,
	brcm80211-dev-list.pdl@broadcom.com,
	SHA-cyfmac-dev-list@infineon.com, netdev@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, "Rafał Miłecki" <rafal@milecki.pl>,
	"Hauke Mehrtens" <hauke@hauke-m.de>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 1/5] brcmfmac: Drop all the RAW device IDs
Date: Thu, 2 Feb 2023 14:25:15 +0900	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <4fb4af22-d115-de62-3bda-c1ae02e097ee@marcan.st> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAOiHx=mYxFx0kr5s=4X_qywZBpPqCbrNjLnTXfigPOnqZSxjag@mail.gmail.com>

On 31/01/2023 23.17, Jonas Gorski wrote:
> On Tue, 31 Jan 2023 at 12:36, Hector Martin <marcan@marcan.st> wrote:
>>
>> These device IDs are only supposed to be visible internally, in devices
>> without a proper OTP. They should never be seen in devices in the wild,
>> so drop them to avoid confusion.
> 
> I think these can still show up in embedded platforms where the
> OTP/SPROM is provided on-flash.
> 
> E.g. https://forum.archive.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php?id=55367&p=4
> shows this bootlog on an BCM4709A0 router with two BCM43602 wifis:
> 
> [    3.237132] pci 0000:01:00.0: [14e4:aa52] type 00 class 0x028000
> [    3.237174] pci 0000:01:00.0: reg 0x10: [mem 0x00000000-0x00007fff 64bit]
> [    3.237199] pci 0000:01:00.0: reg 0x18: [mem 0x00000000-0x003fffff 64bit]
> [    3.237302] pci 0000:01:00.0: supports D1 D2
> ...
> [    3.782384] pci 0001:03:00.0: [14e4:aa52] type 00 class 0x028000
> [    3.782440] pci 0001:03:00.0: reg 0x10: [mem 0x00000000-0x00007fff 64bit]
> [    3.782474] pci 0001:03:00.0: reg 0x18: [mem 0x00000000-0x003fffff 64bit]
> [    3.782649] pci 0001:03:00.0: supports D1 D2
> 
> 0xaa52 == 43602 (BRCM_PCIE_43602_RAW_DEVICE_ID)
> 
> Rafał can probably provide more info there.
> 
> Regards
> Jonas
> 

Arend, any comments on these platforms?

- Hector

  reply	other threads:[~2023-02-02  5:25 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 16+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2023-01-31 11:28 [PATCH v2 0/5] BCM4355/4364/4377 support & identification fixes Hector Martin
2023-01-31 11:28 ` [PATCH v2 1/5] brcmfmac: Drop all the RAW device IDs Hector Martin
2023-01-31 13:18   ` Arend van Spriel
2023-01-31 14:17   ` Jonas Gorski
2023-02-02  5:25     ` Hector Martin [this message]
2023-02-02 17:19       ` Arend Van Spriel
2023-02-05  2:50         ` Hector Martin
2023-02-05  6:58           ` Arend Van Spriel
2023-02-05 12:44             ` Jonas Gorski
2023-02-05 13:02               ` Hector Martin
2023-02-08  4:02                 ` Hector Martin
2023-02-08  6:41                   ` Arend Van Spriel
2023-01-31 11:28 ` [PATCH v2 2/5] wifi: brcmfmac: Rename Cypress 89459 to BCM4355 Hector Martin
2023-01-31 11:28 ` [PATCH v2 3/5] brcmfmac: pcie: Add IDs/properties for BCM4355 Hector Martin
2023-01-31 11:28 ` [PATCH v2 4/5] brcmfmac: pcie: Add IDs/properties for BCM4377 Hector Martin
2023-01-31 11:28 ` [PATCH v2 5/5] brcmfmac: pcie: Perform correct BCM4364 firmware selection Hector Martin

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=4fb4af22-d115-de62-3bda-c1ae02e097ee@marcan.st \
    --to=marcan@marcan.st \
    --cc=SHA-cyfmac-dev-list@infineon.com \
    --cc=alep@cypress.com \
    --cc=alyssa@rosenzweig.io \
    --cc=asahi@lists.linux.dev \
    --cc=aspriel@gmail.com \
    --cc=brcm80211-dev-list.pdl@broadcom.com \
    --cc=chi-hsien.lin@cypress.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=edumazet@google.com \
    --cc=franky.lin@broadcom.com \
    --cc=gargaditya08@live.com \
    --cc=hante.meuleman@broadcom.com \
    --cc=hauke@hauke-m.de \
    --cc=ian.lin@infineon.com \
    --cc=jiac@cypress.com \
    --cc=jonas.gorski@gmail.com \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=kvalo@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=pabeni@redhat.com \
    --cc=rafal@milecki.pl \
    --cc=soontak.lee@cypress.com \
    --cc=sven@svenpeter.dev \
    --cc=wright.feng@cypress.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).