Linux-Wireless Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Arend Van Spriel <arend.vanspriel@broadcom.com>
To: Douglas Anderson <dianders@chromium.org>,
	Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@linaro.org>,
	Kalle Valo <kvalo@codeaurora.org>,
	Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
Cc: brcm80211-dev-list.pdl@broadcom.com,
	linux-rockchip@lists.infradead.org,
	Double Lo <double.lo@cypress.com>,
	briannorris@chromium.org, linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org,
	Naveen Gupta <naveen.gupta@cypress.com>,
	Madhan Mohan R <madhanmohan.r@cypress.com>,
	mka@chromium.org, Wright Feng <wright.feng@cypress.com>,
	Chi-Hsien Lin <chi-hsien.lin@cypress.com>,
	netdev@vger.kernel.org, brcm80211-dev-list@cypress.com,
	Hans de Goede <hdegoede@redhat.com>,
	Franky Lin <franky.lin@broadcom.com>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	Hante Meuleman <hante.meuleman@broadcom.com>,
	YueHaibing <yuehaibing@huawei.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v4 3/5] brcmfmac: sdio: Disable auto-tuning around commands expected to fail
Date: Mon, 17 Jun 2019 12:35:50 +0200
Message-ID: <be97a37a-d81b-5756-7a97-418d9b36a381@broadcom.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20190613234153.59309-4-dianders@chromium.org>

On 6/14/2019 1:41 AM, Douglas Anderson wrote:
> There are certain cases, notably when transitioning between sleep and
> active state, when Broadcom SDIO WiFi cards will produce errors on the
> SDIO bus.  This is evident from the source code where you can see that
> we try commands in a loop until we either get success or we've tried
> too many times.  The comment in the code reinforces this by saying
> "just one write attempt may fail"
> 
> Unfortunately these failures sometimes end up causing an "-EILSEQ"
> back to the core which triggers a retuning of the SDIO card and that
> blocks all traffic to the card until it's done.
> 
> Let's disable retuning around the commands we expect might fail.
> 
> Fixes: bd11e8bd03ca ("mmc: core: Flag re-tuning is needed on CRC errors")

Reviewed-by: Arend van Spriel <arend.vanspriel@broadcom.com>
> Signed-off-by: Douglas Anderson <dianders@chromium.org>

  parent reply index

Thread overview: 19+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-06-13 23:41 [PATCH v4 0/5] brcmfmac: sdio: Deal better w/ transmission errors related to idle Douglas Anderson
2019-06-13 23:41 ` [PATCH v4 1/5] Revert "brcmfmac: disable command decode in sdio_aos" Douglas Anderson
2019-06-13 23:41 ` [PATCH v4 2/5] mmc: core: API to temporarily disable retuning for SDIO CRC errors Douglas Anderson
2019-06-14 12:04   ` Ulf Hansson
2019-06-14 16:41     ` Doug Anderson
2019-06-17  7:53       ` Ulf Hansson
2019-06-17  8:30   ` Adrian Hunter
2019-06-13 23:41 ` [PATCH v4 3/5] brcmfmac: sdio: Disable auto-tuning around commands expected to fail Douglas Anderson
2019-06-17  8:33   ` Adrian Hunter
2019-06-17 10:35   ` Arend Van Spriel [this message]
2019-06-13 23:41 ` [PATCH v4 4/5] mmc: core: Add sdio_retune_hold_now() and sdio_retune_release() Douglas Anderson
2019-06-14 12:09   ` Ulf Hansson
2019-06-14 16:38     ` Doug Anderson
2019-06-14 17:17       ` Arend Van Spriel
2019-06-17  8:46       ` Adrian Hunter
2019-06-17  8:34   ` Adrian Hunter
2019-06-13 23:41 ` [PATCH v4 5/5] brcmfmac: sdio: Don't tune while the card is off Douglas Anderson
2019-06-17  8:28   ` Adrian Hunter
2019-06-17 10:52   ` Arend Van Spriel

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=be97a37a-d81b-5756-7a97-418d9b36a381@broadcom.com \
    --to=arend.vanspriel@broadcom.com \
    --cc=adrian.hunter@intel.com \
    --cc=brcm80211-dev-list.pdl@broadcom.com \
    --cc=brcm80211-dev-list@cypress.com \
    --cc=briannorris@chromium.org \
    --cc=chi-hsien.lin@cypress.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=dianders@chromium.org \
    --cc=double.lo@cypress.com \
    --cc=franky.lin@broadcom.com \
    --cc=hante.meuleman@broadcom.com \
    --cc=hdegoede@redhat.com \
    --cc=kvalo@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-rockchip@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=madhanmohan.r@cypress.com \
    --cc=mka@chromium.org \
    --cc=naveen.gupta@cypress.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=ulf.hansson@linaro.org \
    --cc=wright.feng@cypress.com \
    --cc=yuehaibing@huawei.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-Wireless Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-wireless/0 linux-wireless/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-wireless linux-wireless/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-wireless \
		linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org linux-wireless@archiver.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-wireless


Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-wireless


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/ public-inbox