Linux-WPAN Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
To: Mark Salyzyn <salyzyn@android.com>
Cc: "Jarkko Sakkinen" <jarkko.sakkinen@linux.intel.com>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, kernel-team@android.com,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	"Jonathan Corbet" <corbet@lwn.net>,
	"Ard Biesheuvel" <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>,
	"Harry Wentland" <harry.wentland@amd.com>,
	"Leo Li" <sunpeng.li@amd.com>,
	"Alex Deucher" <alexander.deucher@amd.com>,
	"Christian König" <christian.koenig@amd.com>,
	"David (ChunMing) Zhou" <David1.Zhou@amd.com>,
	"David Airlie" <airlied@linux.ie>,
	"Daniel Vetter" <daniel@ffwll.ch>,
	"VMware Graphics" <linux-graphics-maintainer@vmware.com>,
	"Thomas Hellstrom" <thellstrom@vmware.com>,
	"Laurent Pinchart" <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>,
	"Mauro Carvalho Chehab" <mchehab@kernel.org>,
	"Trond Myklebust" <trond.myklebust@hammerspace.com>,
	"Anna Schumaker" <anna.schumaker@netapp.com>,
	"Alexander Aring" <alex.aring@gmail.com>,
	"Jukka Rissanen" <jukka.rissanen@linux.intel.com>,
	"Alexey Kuznetsov" <kuznet@ms2.inr.ac.ru>,
	"Hideaki YOSHIFUJI" <yoshfuji@linux-ipv6.org>,
	"Ingo Molnar" <mingo@kernel.org>,
	"Matthew Garrett" <matthewgarrett@google.com>,
	"Hans de Goede" <hdegoede@redhat.com>,
	"hersen wu" <hersenxs.wu@amd.com>, "Roman Li" <Roman.Li@amd.com>,
	"Maxim Martynov" <maxim@arista.com>,
	"David Ahern" <dsahern@gmail.com>,
	"Francesco Ruggeri" <fruggeri@arista.com>,
	"Linus Lüssing" <linus.luessing@c0d3.blue>,
	"Feng Tang" <feng.tang@intel.com>,
	"Steven Rostedt (VMware)" <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	"Andrew Morton" <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	"Rafael Aquini" <aquini@redhat.com>,
	netdev@vger.kernel.org, linux-doc@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-efi@vger.kernel.org, amd-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org,
	dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org, linux-media@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-nfs@vger.kernel.org, linux-bluetooth@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-wpan@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH] Cleanup: replace prefered with preferred
Date: Thu, 24 Oct 2019 14:47:28 -0400
Message-ID: <20191024184728.GC260560@kroah.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <fa12cb96-7a93-bf85-214d-a7bfaf8b8b0a@android.com>

On Wed, Oct 23, 2019 at 08:40:59AM -0700, Mark Salyzyn wrote:
> On 10/23/19 4:56 AM, Jarkko Sakkinen wrote:
> > On Tue, Oct 22, 2019 at 02:41:45PM -0700, Mark Salyzyn wrote:
> > > Replace all occurrences of prefered with preferred to make future
> > > checkpatch.pl's happy.  A few places the incorrect spelling is
> > > matched with the correct spelling to preserve existing user space API.
> > > 
> > > Signed-off-by: Mark Salyzyn <salyzyn@android.com>
> > I'd fix such things when the code is otherwise change and scope this
> > patch only to Documentation/. There is no pragmatic benefit of doing
> > this for the code.
> > 
> > /Jarkko
> 
> The pragmatic benefit comes with the use of an ABI/API checker (which is a
> 'distro' thing, not a top of tree kernel thing) produces its map which is
> typically required to be co-located in the same tree as the kernel
> repository. Quite a few ABI/API update checkins result in a checkpatch.pl
> complaint about the misspelled elements being (re-)recorded due to
> proximity. We have a separate task to improve how it is tracked in Android
> to reduce milepost marker changes that result in sweeping changes to the
> database which would reduce the occurrences.

Requiring checkpatch spelling warnings to be correct based on function
names is crazy, you should fix your tools if you are requiring something
as looney as that :)

> I will split this between pure and inert documentation/comments for now,
> with a followup later for the code portion which understandably is more
> controversial.

Please break up per subsystem, like all trivial patches, as this
isn't anything special.

thanks,

greg k-h

      parent reply index

Thread overview: 6+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
     [not found] <20191022214208.211448-1-salyzyn@android.com>
2019-10-23 10:22 ` Laurent Pinchart
2019-10-23 11:56 ` Jarkko Sakkinen
2019-10-23 15:40   ` Mark Salyzyn
2019-10-24 12:26     ` Jani Nikula
2019-10-24 17:30     ` Jarkko Sakkinen
2019-10-24 18:47     ` Greg Kroah-Hartman [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20191024184728.GC260560@kroah.com \
    --to=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=David1.Zhou@amd.com \
    --cc=Roman.Li@amd.com \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alex.aring@gmail.com \
    --cc=alexander.deucher@amd.com \
    --cc=amd-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=anna.schumaker@netapp.com \
    --cc=aquini@redhat.com \
    --cc=ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org \
    --cc=christian.koenig@amd.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=daniel@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=dsahern@gmail.com \
    --cc=feng.tang@intel.com \
    --cc=fruggeri@arista.com \
    --cc=harry.wentland@amd.com \
    --cc=hdegoede@redhat.com \
    --cc=hersenxs.wu@amd.com \
    --cc=jarkko.sakkinen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=jukka.rissanen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=kernel-team@android.com \
    --cc=kuznet@ms2.inr.ac.ru \
    --cc=laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com \
    --cc=linus.luessing@c0d3.blue \
    --cc=linux-bluetooth@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-efi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-graphics-maintainer@vmware.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-media@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-nfs@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-wpan@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=matthewgarrett@google.com \
    --cc=maxim@arista.com \
    --cc=mchehab@kernel.org \
    --cc=mingo@kernel.org \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=salyzyn@android.com \
    --cc=sunpeng.li@amd.com \
    --cc=thellstrom@vmware.com \
    --cc=trond.myklebust@hammerspace.com \
    --cc=yoshfuji@linux-ipv6.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-WPAN Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-wpan/0 linux-wpan/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-wpan linux-wpan/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-wpan \
		linux-wpan@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-wpan

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-wpan


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git