linuxppc-dev.lists.ozlabs.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Michal Suchanek <msuchanek@suse.de>
To: linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org
Cc: Madhavan Srinivasan <maddy@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>,
	Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>,
	Claudio Carvalho <cclaudio@linux.ibm.com>,
	David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>,
	Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>,
	Christian Brauner <christian@brauner.io>,
	Breno Leitao <leitao@debian.org>,
	Michael Neuling <mikey@neuling.org>,
	Nicolai Stange <nstange@suse.de>,
	Diana Craciun <diana.craciun@nxp.com>,
	Firoz Khan <firoz.khan@linaro.org>,
	Allison Randal <allison@lohutok.net>,
	Mahesh Salgaonkar <mahesh@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>,
	"Naveen N. Rao" <naveen.n.rao@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Michal Suchanek <msuchanek@suse.de>,
	Valentin Schneider <valentin.schneider@arm.com>,
	Jagadeesh Pagadala <jagdsh.linux@gmail.com>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>,
	Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>,
	Daniel Axtens <dja@axtens.net>,
	Gustavo Romero <gromero@linux.ibm.com>,
	Mathieu Malaterre <malat@debian.org>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	"Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>,
	Andrew Donnellan <andrew.donnellan@au1.ibm.com>,
	Brajeswar Ghosh <brajeswar.linux@gmail.com>,
	Hari Bathini <hbathini@linux.ibm.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Subject: [PATCH 21/33] powerpc/64s/exception: soft nmi interrupt should not use ret_from_except
Date: Tue, 12 Nov 2019 17:52:19 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <85d3a8b3062501f545d16d4caf1c4925ce2fe618.1573576649.git.msuchanek@suse.de> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <cover.1573576649.git.msuchanek@suse.de>

From: Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>

The soft nmi handler does not reconcile interrupt state, so it should
not return via the normal ret_from_except path. Return like other NMIs,
using the EXCEPTION_RESTORE_REGS macro.

This becomes important when the scv interrupt is implemented, which
must handle soft-masked interrupts that have r13 set to something other
than the PACA -- returning to kernel in this case must restore r13.

Signed-off-by: Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>
---
 arch/powerpc/kernel/exceptions-64s.S | 6 +++++-
 1 file changed, 5 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/arch/powerpc/kernel/exceptions-64s.S b/arch/powerpc/kernel/exceptions-64s.S
index 38bc66b95516..af1264cd005f 100644
--- a/arch/powerpc/kernel/exceptions-64s.S
+++ b/arch/powerpc/kernel/exceptions-64s.S
@@ -2740,7 +2740,11 @@ EXC_COMMON_BEGIN(soft_nmi_common)
 	bl	save_nvgprs
 	addi	r3,r1,STACK_FRAME_OVERHEAD
 	bl	soft_nmi_interrupt
-	b	ret_from_except
+	/* Clear MSR_RI before setting SRR0 and SRR1. */
+	li	r9,0
+	mtmsrd	r9,1
+	EXCEPTION_RESTORE_REGS hsrr=0
+	RFI_TO_KERNEL
 
 #endif /* CONFIG_PPC_WATCHDOG */
 
-- 
2.23.0


  parent reply	other threads:[~2019-11-12 17:55 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 37+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-11-12 16:51 [PATCH 00/33] exception cleanup, syscall in C and !COMPAT Michal Suchanek
2019-11-12 16:51 ` [PATCH 01/33] powerpc/64s/exception: Introduce INT_DEFINE parameter block for code generation Michal Suchanek
2019-11-12 16:52 ` [PATCH 02/33] powerpc/64s/exception: Add GEN_COMMON macro that uses INT_DEFINE parameters Michal Suchanek
2019-11-12 16:52 ` [PATCH 03/33] powerpc/64s/exception: Add GEN_KVM " Michal Suchanek
2019-11-12 16:52 ` [PATCH 04/33] powerpc/64s/exception: Expand EXC_COMMON and EXC_COMMON_ASYNC macros Michal Suchanek
2019-11-12 16:52 ` [PATCH 05/33] powerpc/64s/exception: Move all interrupt handlers to new style code gen macros Michal Suchanek
2019-11-12 16:52 ` [PATCH 06/33] powerpc/64s/exception: Remove old INT_ENTRY macro Michal Suchanek
2019-11-12 16:52 ` [PATCH 07/33] powerpc/64s/exception: Remove old INT_COMMON macro Michal Suchanek
2019-11-12 16:52 ` [PATCH 08/33] powerpc/64s/exception: Remove old INT_KVM_HANDLER Michal Suchanek
2019-11-12 16:52 ` [PATCH 09/33] powerpc/64s/exception: Add ISIDE option Michal Suchanek
2019-11-12 16:52 ` [PATCH 10/33] powerpc/64s/exception: move real->virt switch into the common handler Michal Suchanek
2019-11-12 16:52 ` [PATCH 11/33] powerpc/64s/exception: move soft-mask test to common code Michal Suchanek
2019-11-12 16:52 ` [PATCH 12/33] powerpc/64s/exception: move KVM " Michal Suchanek
2019-11-12 16:52 ` [PATCH 13/33] powerpc/64s/exception: remove confusing IEARLY option Michal Suchanek
2019-11-12 16:52 ` [PATCH 14/33] powerpc/64s/exception: remove the SPR saving patch code macros Michal Suchanek
2019-11-12 16:52 ` [PATCH 15/33] powerpc/64s/exception: trim unused arguments from KVMTEST macro Michal Suchanek
2019-11-12 16:52 ` [PATCH 16/33] powerpc/64s/exception: hdecrementer avoid touching the stack Michal Suchanek
2019-11-12 16:52 ` [PATCH 17/33] powerpc/64s/exception: re-inline some handlers Michal Suchanek
2019-11-12 16:52 ` [PATCH 18/33] powerpc/64s/exception: Clean up SRR specifiers Michal Suchanek
2019-11-12 16:52 ` [PATCH 19/33] powerpc/64s/exception: add more comments for interrupt handlers Michal Suchanek
2019-11-12 16:52 ` [PATCH 20/33] powerpc/64s/exception: only test KVM in SRR interrupts when PR KVM is supported Michal Suchanek
2019-11-12 16:52 ` Michal Suchanek [this message]
2019-11-12 16:52 ` [PATCH 22/33] powerpc/64: system call remove non-volatile GPR save optimisation Michal Suchanek
2019-11-12 16:52 ` [PATCH 23/33] powerpc/64: system call implement the bulk of the logic in C Michal Suchanek
2019-11-12 16:52 ` [PATCH 24/33] powerpc/64s: interrupt return " Michal Suchanek
2019-11-12 16:52 ` [PATCH 25/33] powerpc/64s/exception: remove lite interrupt return Michal Suchanek
2019-11-12 16:52 ` [PATCH 26/33] powerpc: Add back __ARCH_WANT_SYS_LLSEEK macro Michal Suchanek
2019-11-12 16:52 ` [PATCH 27/33] powerpc: move common register copy functions from signal_32.c to signal.c Michal Suchanek
2019-11-12 16:52 ` [PATCH 28/33] powerpc/perf: consolidate read_user_stack_32 Michal Suchanek
2019-11-12 16:52 ` [PATCH 29/33] powerpc/perf: consolidate valid_user_sp Michal Suchanek
2019-11-12 16:52 ` [PATCH 30/33] powerpc/perf: remove current_is_64bit() Michal Suchanek
2019-11-12 16:52 ` [PATCH 31/33] powerpc/64: make buildable without CONFIG_COMPAT Michal Suchanek
2019-11-13  3:02   ` Nicholas Piggin
2019-11-13  8:41     ` Michal Suchánek
2019-11-13 10:04       ` Arnd Bergmann
2019-11-12 16:52 ` [PATCH 32/33] powerpc/64: Make COMPAT user-selectable disabled on littleendian by default Michal Suchanek
2019-11-12 16:52 ` [PATCH 33/33] powerpc/perf: split callchain.c by bitness Michal Suchanek

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=85d3a8b3062501f545d16d4caf1c4925ce2fe618.1573576649.git.msuchanek@suse.de \
    --to=msuchanek@suse.de \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=allison@lohutok.net \
    --cc=andrew.donnellan@au1.ibm.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=brajeswar.linux@gmail.com \
    --cc=cclaudio@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=christian@brauner.io \
    --cc=david@redhat.com \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=diana.craciun@nxp.com \
    --cc=dja@axtens.net \
    --cc=dvyukov@google.com \
    --cc=ebiederm@xmission.com \
    --cc=firoz.khan@linaro.org \
    --cc=geert@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=gromero@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=hbathini@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=jagdsh.linux@gmail.com \
    --cc=leitao@debian.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=maddy@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=mahesh@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=malat@debian.org \
    --cc=mikey@neuling.org \
    --cc=naveen.n.rao@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=npiggin@gmail.com \
    --cc=nstange@suse.de \
    --cc=oleg@redhat.com \
    --cc=paulus@samba.org \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=valentin.schneider@arm.com \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=yamada.masahiro@socionext.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).