LinuxPPC-Dev Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
To: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>
Cc: linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org,
	Linux-sh list <linux-sh@vger.kernel.org>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Rasmus Villemoes <linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk>,
	Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org>,
	Linux List Kernel Mailing <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	"open list:KERNEL SELFTEST FRAMEWORK"
	<linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org>,
	sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, Shuah Khan <shuah@kernel.org>,
	linux-arch <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-s390 <linux-s390@vger.kernel.org>,
	Tycho Andersen <tycho@tycho.ws>, Aleksa Sarai <asarai@suse.de>,
	Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>,
	Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	linux-mips@vger.kernel.org, linux-xtensa@linux-xtensa.org,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Jann Horn <jannh@google.com>, Aleksa Sarai <cyphar@cyphar.com>,
	Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>,
	Shuah Khan <skhan@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>,
	David Drysdale <drysdale@google.com>,
	Christian Brauner <christian@brauner.io>,
	"J. Bruce Fields" <bfields@fieldses.org>,
	linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-m68k <linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org>,
	Linux API <linux-api@vger.kernel.org>,
	Chanho Min <chanho.min@lge.com>, Jeff Layton <jlayton@kernel.org>,
	Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>,
	Eric Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com>,
	alpha <linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-fsdevel <linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org,
	Linux Containers <containers@lists.linux-foundation.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v12 11/12] open: openat2(2) syscall
Date: Sat, 7 Sep 2019 10:45:33 -0700
Message-ID: <CAHk-=whe90Ec_RRrMRLE0=bJOHNS9YmVwcytVxmrfK3oCuZF6A@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <C81D6D29-F6BF-48E6-A15E-3ABCB2C992E5@amacapital.net>

On Sat, Sep 7, 2019 at 10:42 AM Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net> wrote:
>
> Linus, you rejected resolveat() because you wanted a *nice* API

No. I rejected resoveat() because it was a completely broken garbage
API that couldn't do even basic stuff right (like O_CREAT).

We have a ton of flag space in the new openat2() model, we might as
well leave the old flags alone that people are (a) used to and (b) we
have code to support _anyway_.

Making up a new flag namespace is only going to cause us - and users -
more work, and more confusion. For no actual advantage. It's not going
to be "cleaner". It's just going to be worse.

                 Linus

  reply index

Thread overview: 65+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-09-04 20:19 [PATCH v12 00/12] namei: openat2(2) path resolution restrictions Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 01/12] lib: introduce copy_struct_{to,from}_user helpers Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 20:48   ` [PATCH v12 01/12] lib: introduce copy_struct_{to, from}_user helpers Linus Torvalds
2019-09-04 21:00   ` [PATCH v12 01/12] lib: introduce copy_struct_{to,from}_user helpers Randy Dunlap
2019-09-05  7:32   ` Peter Zijlstra
2019-09-05  9:26     ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-05  9:43       ` Peter Zijlstra
2019-09-05 10:57         ` Peter Zijlstra
2019-09-11 10:37           ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-05 13:35         ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-05 17:01         ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-05  8:43   ` Rasmus Villemoes
2019-09-05  9:50     ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-05 10:45       ` Christian Brauner
2019-09-05  9:09   ` [PATCH v12 01/12] lib: introduce copy_struct_{to, from}_user helpers Andreas Schwab
2019-09-05 10:13     ` Gabriel Paubert
2019-09-05 11:05   ` [PATCH v12 01/12] lib: introduce copy_struct_{to,from}_user helpers Christian Brauner
2019-09-05 11:17     ` Rasmus Villemoes
2019-09-05 11:29       ` Christian Brauner
2019-09-05 13:40     ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-05 11:09   ` Christian Brauner
2019-09-05 11:27     ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-05 11:40       ` Christian Brauner
2019-09-05 18:07   ` Al Viro
2019-09-05 18:23     ` Christian Brauner
2019-09-05 18:28       ` Al Viro
2019-09-05 18:35         ` Christian Brauner
2019-09-05 19:56         ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-05 22:31           ` Al Viro
2019-09-06  7:00           ` Christian Brauner
2019-09-05 23:00     ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-05 23:49       ` Al Viro
2019-09-06  0:09         ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-06  0:14         ` Al Viro
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 02/12] clone3: switch to copy_struct_from_user() Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 03/12] sched_setattr: switch to copy_struct_{to, from}_user() Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 04/12] perf_event_open: switch to copy_struct_from_user() Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 05/12] namei: obey trailing magic-link DAC permissions Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-17 21:30   ` Jann Horn
2019-09-18 13:51     ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-18 15:46       ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 06/12] procfs: switch magic-link modes to be more sane Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 07/12] open: O_EMPTYPATH: procfs-less file descriptor re-opening Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 08/12] namei: O_BENEATH-style path resolution flags Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 09/12] namei: LOOKUP_IN_ROOT: chroot-like path resolution Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 10/12] namei: aggressively check for nd->root escape on ".." resolution Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 21:09   ` Linus Torvalds
2019-09-04 21:35     ` Linus Torvalds
2019-09-04 21:36       ` Linus Torvalds
2019-09-04 21:48     ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 22:16       ` Linus Torvalds
2019-09-04 22:31       ` David Howells
2019-09-04 22:38         ` Linus Torvalds
2019-09-04 23:29           ` Al Viro
2019-09-04 23:44             ` Linus Torvalds
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 11/12] open: openat2(2) syscall Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 21:00   ` Randy Dunlap
2019-09-07 12:40   ` Jeff Layton
2019-09-07 16:58     ` Linus Torvalds
2019-09-07 17:42       ` Andy Lutomirski
2019-09-07 17:45         ` Linus Torvalds [this message]
2019-09-07 18:15           ` Andy Lutomirski
2019-09-10  6:35           ` Ingo Molnar
2019-09-08 16:24     ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 12/12] selftests: add openat2(2) selftests Aleksa Sarai

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAHk-=whe90Ec_RRrMRLE0=bJOHNS9YmVwcytVxmrfK3oCuZF6A@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=asarai@suse.de \
    --cc=ast@kernel.org \
    --cc=bfields@fieldses.org \
    --cc=chanho.min@lge.com \
    --cc=christian@brauner.io \
    --cc=containers@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=cyphar@cyphar.com \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=drysdale@google.com \
    --cc=ebiederm@xmission.com \
    --cc=jannh@google.com \
    --cc=jlayton@kernel.org \
    --cc=jolsa@redhat.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-api@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arch@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=linux-mips@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-s390@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-sh@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-xtensa@linux-xtensa.org \
    --cc=linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=luto@amacapital.net \
    --cc=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=namhyung@kernel.org \
    --cc=oleg@redhat.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=shuah@kernel.org \
    --cc=skhan@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=sparclinux@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=tycho@tycho.ws \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

LinuxPPC-Dev Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linuxppc-dev/0 linuxppc-dev/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linuxppc-dev linuxppc-dev/ https://lore.kernel.org/linuxppc-dev \
		linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org linuxppc-dev@ozlabs.org linuxppc-dev@archiver.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linuxppc-dev

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.ozlabs.lists.linuxppc-dev


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/ public-inbox