live-patching.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com>
To: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@kernel.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>,
	Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>,
	Jiri Kosina <jikos@kernel.org>, Miroslav Benes <mbenes@suse.cz>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>, Guo Ren <guoren@kernel.org>,
	"James E.J. Bottomley" <James.Bottomley@hansenpartnership.com>,
	Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>,
	Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>,
	Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>,
	Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>,
	Heiko Carstens <hca@linux.ibm.com>,
	Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>,
	Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>,
	x86@kernel.org, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Anton Vorontsov <anton@enomsg.org>,
	Colin Cross <ccross@android.com>, Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>,
	Joe Lawrence <joe.lawrence@redhat.com>,
	Kamalesh Babulal <kamalesh@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+huawei@kernel.org>,
	Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <bigeasy@linutronix.de>,
	linux-doc@vger.kernel.org, linux-csky@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org,
	linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, live-patching@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 11/11 v3] ftrace: Add recording of functions that caused recursion
Date: Fri, 6 Nov 2020 14:13:17 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20201106131317.GW20201@alley> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20201106023548.102375687@goodmis.org>

On Thu 2020-11-05 21:32:46, Steven Rostedt wrote:
> From: "Steven Rostedt (VMware)" <rostedt@goodmis.org>
> 
> This adds CONFIG_FTRACE_RECORD_RECURSION that will record to a file
> "recursed_functions" all the functions that caused recursion while a
> callback to the function tracer was running.
> 
> Changes since v2:
> 
>  - Use trace_recursion flags in current for protecting recursion of recursion recording
>  - Make the recursion logic a little cleaner
>  - Export GPL the recursion recording

JFYI, the code reading and writing the cache looks good to me.

It is still possible that some entries might stay unused (filled
with zeroes) but it should be hard to hit in practice. It
is good enough from my POV.

I do not give Reviewed-by tag just because I somehow do not have power
to review the entire patch carefully enough at the moment.

Best Regards,
Petr

  reply	other threads:[~2020-11-06 13:13 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 8+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
     [not found] <20201106023235.367190737@goodmis.org>
2020-11-06  2:32 ` [PATCH 06/11 v3] livepatch/ftrace: Add recursion protection to the ftrace callback Steven Rostedt
2020-11-06 10:05   ` Miroslav Benes
2020-11-06  2:32 ` [PATCH 07/11 v3] livepatch: Trigger WARNING if livepatch function fails due to recursion Steven Rostedt
2020-11-06 10:07   ` Miroslav Benes
2020-11-06  2:32 ` [PATCH 11/11 v3] ftrace: Add recording of functions that caused recursion Steven Rostedt
2020-11-06 13:13   ` Petr Mladek [this message]
2020-11-06 13:41     ` Steven Rostedt
2020-11-06 14:27       ` Petr Mladek

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20201106131317.GW20201@alley \
    --to=pmladek@suse.com \
    --cc=James.Bottomley@hansenpartnership.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=anton@enomsg.org \
    --cc=benh@kernel.crashing.org \
    --cc=bigeasy@linutronix.de \
    --cc=borntraeger@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=ccross@android.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=deller@gmx.de \
    --cc=gor@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=guoren@kernel.org \
    --cc=hca@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=jikos@kernel.org \
    --cc=joe.lawrence@redhat.com \
    --cc=jpoimboe@redhat.com \
    --cc=kamalesh@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=linux-csky@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-s390@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=live-patching@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mbenes@suse.cz \
    --cc=mchehab+huawei@kernel.org \
    --cc=mhiramat@kernel.org \
    --cc=mingo@kernel.org \
    --cc=mpe@ellerman.id.au \
    --cc=paulus@samba.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=tony.luck@intel.com \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).