linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Mimi Zohar <zohar@linux.ibm.com>
To: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>, James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>
Cc: Luis Chamberlain <mcgrof@kernel.org>,
	Scott Branden <scott.branden@broadcom.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@kernel.org>,
	Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	Jessica Yu <jeyu@kernel.org>,
	Dmitry Kasatkin <dmitry.kasatkin@gmail.com>,
	"Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>,
	Casey Schaufler <casey@schaufler-ca.com>,
	"Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Matthew Garrett <matthewgarrett@google.com>,
	David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+huawei@kernel.org>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>,
	"Joel Fernandes (Google)" <joel@joelfernandes.org>,
	KP Singh <kpsingh@google.com>, Dave Olsthoorn <dave@bewaar.me>,
	Hans de Goede <hdegoede@redhat.com>,
	Peter Jones <pjones@redhat.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Stephen Boyd <stephen.boyd@linaro.org>,
	Paul Moore <paul@paul-moore.com>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-integrity@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/4] Fix misused kernel_read_file() enums
Date: Tue, 07 Jul 2020 11:36:04 -0400	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <1594136164.23056.76.camel@linux.ibm.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200707081926.3688096-1-keescook@chromium.org>

Hi Kees,

On Tue, 2020-07-07 at 01:19 -0700, Kees Cook wrote:
> Hi,
> 
> In looking for closely at the additions that got made to the
> kernel_read_file() enums, I noticed that FIRMWARE_PREALLOC_BUFFER
> and FIRMWARE_EFI_EMBEDDED were added, but they are not appropriate
> *kinds* of files for the LSM to reason about. They are a "how" and
> "where", respectively. Remove these improper aliases and refactor the
> code to adapt to the changes.

Thank you for adding the missing calls and the firmware pre allocated
buffer comment update.

> 
> Additionally adds in missing calls to security_kernel_post_read_file()
> in the platform firmware fallback path (to match the sysfs firmware
> fallback path) and in module loading. I considered entirely removing
> security_kernel_post_read_file() hook since it is technically unused,
> but IMA probably wants to be able to measure EFI-stored firmware images,
> so I wired it up and matched it for modules, in case anyone wants to
> move the module signature checks out of the module core and into an LSM
> to avoid the current layering violations.

IMa has always verified kernel module signatures.  Recently appended
kernel module signature support was added to IMA.  The same appended
signature format is also being used to sign and verify the kexec
kernel image.

With IMA's new kernel module appended signature support and patch 4/4
in this series, IMA won't be limit to the finit_module syscall, but
could support the init_module syscall as well.

> 
> This touches several trees, and I suspect it would be best to go through
> James's LSM tree.

Sure.

thanks!

Mimi


  parent reply	other threads:[~2020-07-07 15:38 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 29+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-07-07  8:19 Kees Cook
2020-07-07  8:19 ` [PATCH 1/4] firmware_loader: EFI firmware loader must handle pre-allocated buffer Kees Cook
2020-07-07  8:19 ` [PATCH 2/4] fs: Remove FIRMWARE_PREALLOC_BUFFER from kernel_read_file() enums Kees Cook
2020-07-07 16:42   ` Scott Branden
2020-07-07 21:55     ` Kees Cook
2020-07-08  3:06       ` Scott Branden
2020-07-08  3:14         ` Kees Cook
2020-07-08  1:37   ` [fs] 676800b78f: BUG:unable_to_handle_page_fault_for_address kernel test robot
2020-07-10 21:00   ` [PATCH 2/4] fs: Remove FIRMWARE_PREALLOC_BUFFER from kernel_read_file() enums Scott Branden
2020-07-10 22:04     ` Matthew Wilcox
2020-07-10 22:10       ` Scott Branden
2020-07-10 22:44         ` Kees Cook
2020-07-10 22:58           ` Scott Branden
2020-07-16 20:35           ` Scott Branden
2020-07-16 21:16             ` Kees Cook
2020-07-07  8:19 ` [PATCH 3/4] fs: Remove FIRMWARE_EFI_EMBEDDED " Kees Cook
2020-07-07  8:19 ` [PATCH 4/4] module: Add hook for security_kernel_post_read_file() Kees Cook
2020-07-08  0:47   ` Mimi Zohar
2020-07-08  3:10     ` Kees Cook
2020-07-08 13:47       ` Mimi Zohar
2020-07-07  9:31 ` [PATCH 0/4] Fix misused kernel_read_file() enums Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-07-07 15:36 ` Mimi Zohar [this message]
2020-07-07 21:45   ` Kees Cook
2020-07-08 11:01 ` Hans de Goede
2020-07-08 11:37   ` Hans de Goede
2020-07-08 11:55     ` Luis Chamberlain
2020-07-08 11:58       ` Hans de Goede
2020-07-08 13:30         ` Luis Chamberlain
2020-07-09  2:00           ` Kees Cook

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=1594136164.23056.76.camel@linux.ibm.com \
    --to=zohar@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=casey@schaufler-ca.com \
    --cc=dave@bewaar.me \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=dmitry.kasatkin@gmail.com \
    --cc=ebiederm@xmission.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=hdegoede@redhat.com \
    --cc=jeyu@kernel.org \
    --cc=jmorris@namei.org \
    --cc=joel@joelfernandes.org \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kpsingh@google.com \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-integrity@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=matthewgarrett@google.com \
    --cc=mcgrof@kernel.org \
    --cc=mchehab+huawei@kernel.org \
    --cc=paul@paul-moore.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=pjones@redhat.com \
    --cc=rafael@kernel.org \
    --cc=rdunlap@infradead.org \
    --cc=scott.branden@broadcom.com \
    --cc=serge@hallyn.com \
    --cc=stephen.boyd@linaro.org \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 0/4] Fix misused kernel_read_file() enums' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).