linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
To: Timur Tabi <timur@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Fu Wei <fu.wei@linaro.org>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>,
	Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org>,
	Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@linaro.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>,
	Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>,
	Sudeep Holla <sudeep.holla@arm.com>,
	Hanjun Guo <hanjun.guo@linaro.org>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	Linaro ACPI Mailman List <linaro-acpi@lists.linaro.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	ACPI Devel Maling List <linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org>,
	rruigrok@codeaurora.org, "Abdulhamid,
	Harb" <harba@codeaurora.org>,
	Christopher Covington <cov@codeaurora.org>,
	G Gregory <graeme.gregory@linaro.org>,
	Al Stone <al.stone@linaro.org>, Jon Masters <jcm@redhat.com>,
	Wei Huang <wei@redhat.com>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>,
	Suravee Suthikulpanit <Suravee.Suthikulpanit@amd.com>,
	Leo Duran <leo.duran@amd.com>, Wim Van Sebroeck <wim@iguana.be>,
	Guenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net>,
	linux-watchdog@vger.kernel.org, Tomasz Nowicki <tn@semihalf.com>,
	Christoffer Dall <christoffer.dall@linaro.org>,
	Julien Grall <julien.grall@arm.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v19 10/15] clocksource/drivers/arm_arch_timer: Refactor the timer init code to prepare for GTDT
Date: Tue, 17 Jan 2017 12:29:21 +0000	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20170117122921.GE11939@leverpostej> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <b977f47b-a85e-d4d5-666c-b8c9cd21c25e@codeaurora.org>

On Tue, Jan 17, 2017 at 06:18:12AM -0600, Timur Tabi wrote:
> Fu Wei wrote:
> >if (i >= ARCH_TIMER_MEM_MAX_FRAMES) {
> >        pr_err(FW_BUG "too many frames, ARMv8 spec only allows 8.\n");
> 
> pr_err(FW_BUG "too many frames, ARMv8 spec only allows %u.\n",
> 	ARCH_TIMER_MEM_MAX_FRAMES);

While I don't see ARCH_TIMER_MEM_MAX_FRAMES changing, this would be
nicer to ensure the result obviously matches.

As for wording, I'd perfer:

	pr_err(FW_BUG "too many frames, only %u are permitted.\n",
	       ARCH_TIMER_MEM_MAX_FRAMES);

... so as to avoid any confusion between spec versions and so on. We can
reconsider the message if/when that changes.

Thanks,
Mark.

  reply	other threads:[~2017-01-17 12:37 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 31+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2016-12-21  6:45 [PATCH v19 00/15] acpi, clocksource: add GTDT driver and GTDT support in arm_arch_timer fu.wei
2016-12-21  6:45 ` [PATCH v19 01/15] clocksource/drivers/arm_arch_timer: Move enums and defines to header file fu.wei
2016-12-21  6:45 ` [PATCH v19 02/15] clocksource/drivers/arm_arch_timer: Add a new enum for spi type fu.wei
2016-12-21  6:45 ` [PATCH v19 03/15] clocksource/drivers/arm_arch_timer: Improve printk relevant code fu.wei
2016-12-21  6:45 ` [PATCH v19 04/15] clocksource/drivers/arm_arch_timer: rename some enums and defines fu.wei
2016-12-21  6:45 ` [PATCH v19 05/15] clocksource/drivers/arm_arch_timer: rework PPI determination fu.wei
2017-01-16 17:29   ` Mark Rutland
2017-01-17 23:49     ` Fu Wei
2016-12-21  6:45 ` [PATCH v19 06/15] clocksource/drivers/arm_arch_timer: Rework counter frequency detection fu.wei
2017-01-16 17:50   ` Mark Rutland
2017-01-18  4:27     ` Fu Wei
2016-12-21  6:45 ` [PATCH v19 07/15] clocksource/drivers/arm_arch_timer: Refactor arch_timer_needs_probing fu.wei
2016-12-21  6:45 ` [PATCH v19 08/15] clocksource/drivers/arm_arch_timer: move arch_timer_needs_of_probing into DT init call fu.wei
2016-12-21  6:45 ` [PATCH v19 09/15] clocksource/drivers/arm_arch_timer: Introduce some new structs to prepare for GTDT fu.wei
2016-12-21  6:45 ` [PATCH v19 10/15] clocksource/drivers/arm_arch_timer: Refactor the timer init code " fu.wei
2017-01-16 18:30   ` Mark Rutland
2017-01-17 10:30     ` Fu Wei
2017-01-17 10:39       ` Fu Wei
2017-01-17 12:18       ` Timur Tabi
2017-01-17 12:29         ` Mark Rutland [this message]
2017-01-17 13:22           ` Fu Wei
2016-12-21  6:45 ` [PATCH v19 11/15] acpi/arm64: Add GTDT table parse driver fu.wei
2016-12-21  6:46 ` [PATCH v19 12/15] clocksource/drivers/arm_arch_timer: Simplify ACPI support code fu.wei
2016-12-21  6:46 ` [PATCH v19 13/15] acpi/arm64: Add memory-mapped timer support in GTDT driver fu.wei
2016-12-21  6:46 ` [PATCH v19 14/15] clocksource/drivers/arm_arch_timer: Add GTDT support for memory-mapped timer fu.wei
2016-12-21  6:46 ` [PATCH v19 15/15] acpi/arm64: Add SBSA Generic Watchdog support in GTDT driver fu.wei
2017-01-16  6:26 ` [PATCH v19 00/15] acpi, clocksource: add GTDT driver and GTDT support in arm_arch_timer Fu Wei
2017-01-16 12:01   ` Mark Rutland
2017-01-16 12:04     ` Fu Wei
2017-01-16 17:00 ` Mark Rutland
2017-01-17  9:14   ` Fu Wei

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20170117122921.GE11939@leverpostej \
    --to=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=Suravee.Suthikulpanit@amd.com \
    --cc=al.stone@linaro.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=christoffer.dall@linaro.org \
    --cc=cov@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=daniel.lezcano@linaro.org \
    --cc=fu.wei@linaro.org \
    --cc=graeme.gregory@linaro.org \
    --cc=hanjun.guo@linaro.org \
    --cc=harba@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=jcm@redhat.com \
    --cc=julien.grall@arm.com \
    --cc=lenb@kernel.org \
    --cc=leo.duran@amd.com \
    --cc=linaro-acpi@lists.linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-watchdog@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@roeck-us.net \
    --cc=lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com \
    --cc=marc.zyngier@arm.com \
    --cc=rjw@rjwysocki.net \
    --cc=rruigrok@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=sudeep.holla@arm.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=timur@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=tn@semihalf.com \
    --cc=wei@redhat.com \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --cc=wim@iguana.be \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v19 10/15] clocksource/drivers/arm_arch_timer: Refactor the timer init code to prepare for GTDT' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).