linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
To: Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>
Cc: linux-pci@vger.kernel.org, Wenrui Li <wenrui.li@rock-chips.com>,
	Gabriele Paoloni <gabriele.paoloni@huawei.com>,
	Shawn Lin <shawn.lin@rock-chips.com>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>,
	Michal Simek <michal.simek@xilinx.com>,
	Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	Tanmay Inamdar <tinamdar@apm.com>,
	Pratyush Anand <pratyush.anand@gmail.com>,
	Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Jon Mason <jonmason@broadcom.com>,
	Murali Karicheri <m-karicheri2@ti.com>,
	Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Bharat Kumar Gogada <bharat.kumar.gogada@xilinx.com>,
	Ray Jui <rjui@broadcom.com>, John Garry <john.garry@huawei.com>,
	Joao Pinto <Joao.Pinto@synopsys.com>,
	Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>,
	Mingkai Hu <mingkai.hu@freescale.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	"Luis R. Rodriguez" <mcgrof@kernel.org>,
	Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@free-electrons.com>,
	Jingoo Han <jingoohan1@gmail.com>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	Stanimir Varbanov <svarbanov@mm-sol.com>,
	Minghuan Lian <minghuan.Lian@freescale.com>,
	Zhou Wang <wangzhou1@hisilicon.com>,
	Roy Zang <tie-fei.zang@freescale.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v4 03/21] ARM64: implement pci_remap_cfgspace() interface
Date: Thu, 20 Apr 2017 11:33:40 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20170420103340.GA755@e104818-lin.cambridge.arm.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20170419164913.19674-4-lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>

On Wed, Apr 19, 2017 at 05:48:52PM +0100, Lorenzo Pieralisi wrote:
> The PCI bus specifications (rev 3.0, 3.2.5 "Transaction Ordering
> and Posting") defines rules for PCI configuration space transactions
> ordering and posting, that state that configuration writes
> are non-posted transactions.
> 
> This rule is reinforced by the ARM v8 architecture reference manual
> (issue A.k, Early Write Acknowledgment) that explicitly recommends
> that No Early Write Acknowledgment attribute should be used to map
> PCI configuration (write) transactions.
> 
> Current ioremap interface on ARM64 implements mapping functions
> where the Early Write Acknowledgment hint is enabled, so they
> cannot be used to map PCI configuration space in a PCI specs
> compliant way.
> 
> Implement an ARM64 specific pci_remap_cfgspace() interface
> that allows to map PCI config region with nGnRnE attributes, providing
> a remap function that complies with PCI specifications and the ARMv8
> architecture reference manual recommendations.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>
> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>

Acked-by: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>

  reply	other threads:[~2017-04-20 10:33 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 35+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2017-04-19 16:48 [PATCH v4 00/21] PCI: fix config space memory mappings Lorenzo Pieralisi
2017-04-19 16:48 ` [PATCH v4 01/21] PCI: remove __weak tag from pci_remap_iospace() Lorenzo Pieralisi
2017-04-19 16:48 ` [PATCH v4 02/21] linux/io.h: add PCI config space remap interface Lorenzo Pieralisi
2017-04-20 10:51   ` Lorenzo Pieralisi
2017-04-20 13:12     ` Bjorn Helgaas
2017-04-19 16:48 ` [PATCH v4 03/21] ARM64: implement pci_remap_cfgspace() interface Lorenzo Pieralisi
2017-04-20 10:33   ` Catalin Marinas [this message]
2017-04-19 16:48 ` [PATCH v4 04/21] ARM: " Lorenzo Pieralisi
2017-04-19 16:48 ` [PATCH v4 05/21] lib: fix Devres devm_ioremap_* offset parameter kerneldoc description Lorenzo Pieralisi
2017-04-28 21:20   ` Tejun Heo
2017-04-19 16:48 ` [PATCH v4 06/21] PCI: implement Devres interface to map PCI config space Lorenzo Pieralisi
2017-04-19 16:48 ` [PATCH v4 07/21] PCI: ECAM: use pci_remap_cfgspace() to map config region Lorenzo Pieralisi
2017-04-19 16:48 ` [PATCH v4 08/21] PCI: xilinx: update PCI config space remap function Lorenzo Pieralisi
2017-04-19 16:48 ` [PATCH v4 09/21] PCI: xilinx-nwl: " Lorenzo Pieralisi
2017-04-19 16:48 ` [PATCH v4 10/21] PCI: spear13xx: " Lorenzo Pieralisi
2017-04-19 16:49 ` [PATCH v4 11/21] PCI: rockchip: " Lorenzo Pieralisi
2017-04-19 16:49 ` [PATCH v4 12/21] PCI: qcom: " Lorenzo Pieralisi
2017-04-19 16:49 ` [PATCH v4 13/21] PCI: iproc-platform: " Lorenzo Pieralisi
2017-04-19 16:49 ` [PATCH v4 14/21] PCI: designware: " Lorenzo Pieralisi
2017-04-21 22:02   ` Jingoo Han
2017-04-19 16:49 ` [PATCH v4 15/21] PCI: armada8k: " Lorenzo Pieralisi
2017-04-19 16:49 ` [PATCH v4 16/21] PCI: xgene: " Lorenzo Pieralisi
2017-04-19 16:49 ` [PATCH v4 17/21] PCI: tegra: " Lorenzo Pieralisi
2017-04-19 16:49 ` [PATCH v4 18/21] PCI: hisi: " Lorenzo Pieralisi
2017-04-19 16:49 ` [PATCH v4 19/21] PCI: layerscape: " Lorenzo Pieralisi
2017-04-19 16:49 ` [PATCH v4 20/21] PCI: keystone-dw: " Lorenzo Pieralisi
2017-04-19 16:49 ` [PATCH v4 21/21] PCI: versatile: " Lorenzo Pieralisi
2017-04-20 13:25 ` [PATCH v4 00/21] PCI: fix config space memory mappings Bjorn Helgaas
2017-04-25  6:40 ` Jon Masters
2017-04-25 16:20   ` Jingoo Han
2017-04-25 18:31     ` Khuong Dinh
2017-04-26 10:53   ` Dongdong Liu
2017-04-26 17:24     ` Jingoo Han
2017-04-27  1:46       ` Dongdong Liu
2017-04-27 16:42         ` Khuong Dinh

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20170420103340.GA755@e104818-lin.cambridge.arm.com \
    --to=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=Joao.Pinto@synopsys.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=benh@kernel.crashing.org \
    --cc=bharat.kumar.gogada@xilinx.com \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=gabriele.paoloni@huawei.com \
    --cc=jingoohan1@gmail.com \
    --cc=john.garry@huawei.com \
    --cc=jonmason@broadcom.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com \
    --cc=m-karicheri2@ti.com \
    --cc=mcgrof@kernel.org \
    --cc=michal.simek@xilinx.com \
    --cc=minghuan.Lian@freescale.com \
    --cc=mingkai.hu@freescale.com \
    --cc=pratyush.anand@gmail.com \
    --cc=rjui@broadcom.com \
    --cc=shawn.lin@rock-chips.com \
    --cc=svarbanov@mm-sol.com \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --cc=thomas.petazzoni@free-electrons.com \
    --cc=tie-fei.zang@freescale.com \
    --cc=tinamdar@apm.com \
    --cc=wangzhou1@hisilicon.com \
    --cc=wenrui.li@rock-chips.com \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).