LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Ross Zwisler <ross.zwisler@linux.intel.com>
To: Ross Zwisler <ross.zwisler@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, "Anaczkowski,
	Lukasz" <lukasz.anaczkowski@intel.com>,
	"Box, David E" <david.e.box@intel.com>,
	"Kogut, Jaroslaw" <Jaroslaw.Kogut@intel.com>,
	"Koss, Marcin" <marcin.koss@intel.com>,
	"Koziej, Artur" <artur.koziej@intel.com>,
	"Lahtinen, Joonas" <joonas.lahtinen@intel.com>,
	"Moore, Robert" <robert.moore@intel.com>,
	"Nachimuthu, Murugasamy" <murugasamy.nachimuthu@intel.com>,
	"Odzioba, Lukasz" <lukasz.odzioba@intel.com>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>,
	"Schmauss, Erik" <erik.schmauss@intel.com>,
	"Verma, Vishal L" <vishal.l.verma@intel.com>,
	"Zheng, Lv" <lv.zheng@intel.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Balbir Singh <bsingharora@gmail.com>,
	Brice Goglin <brice.goglin@gmail.com>,
	Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>,
	Jerome Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>,
	John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>, Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org>,
	Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com>,
	devel@acpica.org, linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org, linux-mm@kvack.org,
	linux-nvdimm@lists.01.org, linux-api@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 0/3] create sysfs representation of ACPI HMAT
Date: Wed, 20 Dec 2017 09:41:07 -0700
Message-ID: <20171220164107.GA29103@linux.intel.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20171218203547.GA2366@linux.intel.com>

On Mon, Dec 18, 2017 at 01:35:47PM -0700, Ross Zwisler wrote:
> On Thu, Dec 14, 2017 at 02:00:32PM +0100, Michal Hocko wrote:
<>
> > What is the testing procedure? How can I setup qemu to simlate such HW?
> 
> Well, the QEMU table simulation is gross, so I'd rather not get everyone
> testing with that.  Injecting custom HMAT and SRAT tables via initrd/initramfs
> is a much better way:
> 
> https://www.kernel.org/doc/Documentation/acpi/initrd_table_override.txt
> 
> Dan recently posted a patch that lets this happen for the HMAT:
> 
> https://lists.01.org/pipermail/linux-nvdimm/2017-December/013545.html
> 
> I'm working right now on getting an easier way to generate HMAT tables - I'll
> let you know when I have something working.

I've posted details on how to set up test configurations using injected HMAT
and SRAT tables here:

https://github.com/rzwisler/hmat_examples

So far I've got two different sample configs, and we can add more as they are
useful.  Having the sample configs in github is also nice because if someone
finds a config that causes a kernel issue it can be reported then added to
this list of example configs for future testing.

Please let me know if you have trouble getting this working.

  reply index

Thread overview: 42+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2017-12-14  2:10 Ross Zwisler
2017-12-14  2:10 ` [PATCH v3 1/3] acpi: HMAT support in acpi_parse_entries_array() Ross Zwisler
2017-12-15  0:49   ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2017-12-15  1:10   ` Dan Williams
2017-12-16  1:53     ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2017-12-16  1:57       ` Dan Williams
2017-12-16  2:15         ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2017-12-14  2:10 ` [PATCH v3 2/3] hmat: add heterogeneous memory sysfs support Ross Zwisler
2017-12-15  0:52   ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2017-12-15 20:53     ` Ross Zwisler
2017-12-14  2:10 ` [PATCH v3 3/3] hmat: add performance attributes Ross Zwisler
2017-12-14 13:00 ` [PATCH v3 0/3] create sysfs representation of ACPI HMAT Michal Hocko
2017-12-18 20:35   ` Ross Zwisler
2017-12-20 16:41     ` Ross Zwisler [this message]
2017-12-21 13:18       ` Michal Hocko
2017-12-20 18:19     ` Matthew Wilcox
2017-12-20 20:22       ` Dave Hansen
2017-12-20 21:16         ` Matthew Wilcox
2017-12-20 21:24           ` Ross Zwisler
2017-12-20 22:29             ` Dan Williams
2017-12-20 22:41               ` Ross Zwisler
2017-12-21 20:31                 ` Brice Goglin
2017-12-22 22:53                   ` Dan Williams
2017-12-22 23:22                     ` Ross Zwisler
2017-12-22 23:57                       ` Dan Williams
2017-12-23  1:14                         ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2017-12-27  9:10                     ` Brice Goglin
2017-12-30  6:58                       ` Matthew Wilcox
2017-12-30  9:19                         ` Brice Goglin
2017-12-20 21:13       ` Ross Zwisler
2017-12-21  1:41         ` Elliott, Robert (Persistent Memory)
2017-12-22 21:46           ` Ross Zwisler
2017-12-21 12:50       ` Michael Ellerman
2017-12-22  3:09 ` Anshuman Khandual
2017-12-22 10:31   ` Kogut, Jaroslaw
2017-12-22 14:37     ` Anshuman Khandual
2017-12-22 17:13   ` Dave Hansen
2017-12-23  5:14     ` Anshuman Khandual
2017-12-22 22:13   ` Ross Zwisler
2017-12-23  6:56     ` Anshuman Khandual
2017-12-22 22:31   ` Ross Zwisler
2017-12-25  2:05     ` Liubo(OS Lab)

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20171220164107.GA29103@linux.intel.com \
    --to=ross.zwisler@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=Jaroslaw.Kogut@intel.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=artur.koziej@intel.com \
    --cc=brice.goglin@gmail.com \
    --cc=bsingharora@gmail.com \
    --cc=dan.j.williams@intel.com \
    --cc=dave.hansen@intel.com \
    --cc=david.e.box@intel.com \
    --cc=devel@acpica.org \
    --cc=erik.schmauss@intel.com \
    --cc=jglisse@redhat.com \
    --cc=jhubbard@nvidia.com \
    --cc=joonas.lahtinen@intel.com \
    --cc=lenb@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-api@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux-nvdimm@lists.01.org \
    --cc=lukasz.anaczkowski@intel.com \
    --cc=lukasz.odzioba@intel.com \
    --cc=lv.zheng@intel.com \
    --cc=marcin.koss@intel.com \
    --cc=mhocko@kernel.org \
    --cc=murugasamy.nachimuthu@intel.com \
    --cc=rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com \
    --cc=rjw@rjwysocki.net \
    --cc=robert.moore@intel.com \
    --cc=tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=vishal.l.verma@intel.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/0 lkml/git/0.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/1 lkml/git/1.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/2 lkml/git/2.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/3 lkml/git/3.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/4 lkml/git/4.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/5 lkml/git/5.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/6 lkml/git/6.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/7 lkml/git/7.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/8 lkml/git/8.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/9 lkml/git/9.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 lkml lkml/ https://lore.kernel.org/lkml \
		linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index lkml

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-kernel


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git