linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>
To: Michal Suchanek <msuchanek@suse.de>
Cc: linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org,
	David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>,
	"Dmitry V. Levin" <ldv@altlinux.org>,
	Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com>,
	Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>,
	Breno Leitao <leitao@debian.org>,
	Michael Neuling <mikey@neuling.org>,
	Firoz Khan <firoz.khan@linaro.org>,
	Hari Bathini <hbathini@linux.ibm.com>,
	Joel Stanley <joel@jms.id.au>,
	Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Allison Randal <allison@lohutok.net>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	"Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>,
	Andrew Donnellan <andrew.donnellan@au1.ibm.com>,
	linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/4] fs: always build llseek.
Date: Wed, 28 Aug 2019 08:15:52 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20190828151552.GA16855@infradead.org> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <80b1955b86fb81e4642881d498068b5a540ef029.1566936688.git.msuchanek@suse.de>

On Tue, Aug 27, 2019 at 10:21:06PM +0200, Michal Suchanek wrote:
> 64bit !COMPAT does not build because the llseek syscall is in the tables.

Well, this will bloat thinkgs like 64-bit RISC-V for no good reason.
Please introduce a WANT_LSEEK like symbol that ppc64 can select instead.

  reply	other threads:[~2019-08-28 15:16 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 12+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-08-27 20:21 [PATCH 0/4] Disable compat cruft on ppc64le Michal Suchanek
2019-08-27 20:21 ` [PATCH 1/4] fs: always build llseek Michal Suchanek
2019-08-28 15:15   ` Christoph Hellwig [this message]
2019-08-28 16:15     ` Michal Suchánek
2019-08-29  6:22       ` Christoph Hellwig
2019-08-29 10:06         ` Michal Suchánek
2019-08-28 18:13   ` Eric W. Biederman
2019-08-28 18:16     ` Eric W. Biederman
2019-08-27 20:21 ` [PATCH 2/4] powerpc: move common register copy functions from signal_32.c to signal.c Michal Suchanek
2019-08-27 20:21 ` [PATCH 3/4] powerpc/64: make buildable without CONFIG_COMPAT Michal Suchanek
2019-08-27 20:36   ` Michal Suchánek
2019-08-27 20:21 ` [PATCH 4/4] powerpc/64: Disable COMPAT if littleendian Michal Suchanek

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20190828151552.GA16855@infradead.org \
    --to=hch@infradead.org \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=allison@lohutok.net \
    --cc=andrew.donnellan@au1.ibm.com \
    --cc=david@redhat.com \
    --cc=ebiederm@xmission.com \
    --cc=firoz.khan@linaro.org \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=hbathini@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=jcmvbkbc@gmail.com \
    --cc=joel@jms.id.au \
    --cc=ldv@altlinux.org \
    --cc=leitao@debian.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=mikey@neuling.org \
    --cc=msuchanek@suse.de \
    --cc=npiggin@gmail.com \
    --cc=paulus@samba.org \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 1/4] fs: always build llseek.' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).