linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: "Michal Suchánek" <msuchanek@suse.de>
To: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>
Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	Michael Neuling <mikey@neuling.org>,
	David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org,
	Allison Randal <allison@lohutok.net>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>,
	"Dmitry V. Levin" <ldv@altlinux.org>,
	Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com>,
	Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, Joel Stanley <joel@jms.id.au>,
	Andrew Donnellan <andrew.donnellan@au1.ibm.com>,
	Breno Leitao <leitao@debian.org>,
	Firoz Khan <firoz.khan@linaro.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Hari Bathini <hbathini@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/4] fs: always build llseek.
Date: Wed, 28 Aug 2019 18:15:40 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20190828181540.21fa33a4@naga> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20190828151552.GA16855@infradead.org>

On Wed, 28 Aug 2019 08:15:52 -0700
Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org> wrote:

> On Tue, Aug 27, 2019 at 10:21:06PM +0200, Michal Suchanek wrote:
> > 64bit !COMPAT does not build because the llseek syscall is in the tables.  
> 
> Well, this will bloat thinkgs like 64-bit RISC-V for no good reason.
> Please introduce a WANT_LSEEK like symbol that ppc64 can select instead.

It also builds when llseek is marked as 32bit only in syscall.tbl

It seems it was handled specially in some way before syscall.tbl was
added, though (removed in ab66dcc76d6ab8fae9d69d149ae38c42605e7fc5)

Thanks

Michal

  reply	other threads:[~2019-08-28 16:15 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 12+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-08-27 20:21 [PATCH 0/4] Disable compat cruft on ppc64le Michal Suchanek
2019-08-27 20:21 ` [PATCH 1/4] fs: always build llseek Michal Suchanek
2019-08-28 15:15   ` Christoph Hellwig
2019-08-28 16:15     ` Michal Suchánek [this message]
2019-08-29  6:22       ` Christoph Hellwig
2019-08-29 10:06         ` Michal Suchánek
2019-08-28 18:13   ` Eric W. Biederman
2019-08-28 18:16     ` Eric W. Biederman
2019-08-27 20:21 ` [PATCH 2/4] powerpc: move common register copy functions from signal_32.c to signal.c Michal Suchanek
2019-08-27 20:21 ` [PATCH 3/4] powerpc/64: make buildable without CONFIG_COMPAT Michal Suchanek
2019-08-27 20:36   ` Michal Suchánek
2019-08-27 20:21 ` [PATCH 4/4] powerpc/64: Disable COMPAT if littleendian Michal Suchanek

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20190828181540.21fa33a4@naga \
    --to=msuchanek@suse.de \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=allison@lohutok.net \
    --cc=andrew.donnellan@au1.ibm.com \
    --cc=david@redhat.com \
    --cc=ebiederm@xmission.com \
    --cc=firoz.khan@linaro.org \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=hbathini@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=hch@infradead.org \
    --cc=jcmvbkbc@gmail.com \
    --cc=joel@jms.id.au \
    --cc=ldv@altlinux.org \
    --cc=leitao@debian.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=mikey@neuling.org \
    --cc=npiggin@gmail.com \
    --cc=paulus@samba.org \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).