LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
To: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-arch@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-api@vger.kernel.org,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>,
	Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>, Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>,
	Cong Wang <xiyou.wangcong@gmail.com>,
	Luis Chamberlain <mcgrof@kernel.org>,
	Alex Smith <alex.smith@imgtec.com>,
	Anders Berg <anders.berg@lsi.com>,
	Apelete Seketeli <apelete@seketeli.net>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Chee Nouk Phoon <cnphoon@altera.com>,
	Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>,
	Christian Ruppert <christian.ruppert@abilis.com>,
	Greg Ungerer <gerg@uclinux.org>,
	Harvey Hunt <harvey.hunt@imgtec.com>,
	Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>, Hongliang Tao <taohl@lemote.com>,
	Hua Yan <yanh@lemote.com>, Huacai Chen <chenhc@lemote.com>,
	John Crispin <blogic@openwrt.org>,
	Jonas Jensen <jonas.jensen@gmail.com>,
	Josh Boyer <jwboyer@gmail.com>, Jun Nie <jun.nie@linaro.org>,
	Kevin Hilman <khilman@linaro.org>,
	Kevin Wells <kevin.wells@nxp.com>,
	Kumar Gala <galak@codeaurora.org>,
	Lars-Peter Clausen <lars@metafoo.de>,
	Ley Foon Tan <lftan@altera.com>,
	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	Markos Chandras <markos.chandras@imgtec.com>,
	Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com>, Noam Camus <noamc@ezchip.com>,
	Olof Johansson <olof@lixom.net>,
	Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com>,
	Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>,
	Phil Edworthy <phil.edworthy@renesas.com>,
	Pierrick Hascoet <pierrick.hascoet@abilis.com>,
	Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>,
	Roland Stigge <stigge@antcom.de>,
	Santosh Shilimkar <santosh.shilimkar@ti.com>,
	Scott Telford <stelford@cadence.com>,
	Stephen Boyd <sboyd@codeaurora.org>,
	"Steven J. Hill" <Steven.Hill@imgtec.com>,
	Tanmay Inamdar <tinamdar@apm.com>,
	Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
Subject: Re: [RFC][PATCH] sysctl: Remove the sysctl system call
Date: Tue, 1 Oct 2019 11:46:45 -0700
Message-ID: <201910011140.EA0181F13@keescook> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <8736gcjosv.fsf@x220.int.ebiederm.org>

On Tue, Oct 01, 2019 at 01:36:32PM -0500, Eric W. Biederman wrote:
> 
> This system call has been deprecated almost since it was introduced, and
> in a survey of the linux distributions I can no longer find any of them
> that enable CONFIG_SYSCTL_SYSCALL.  The only indication that I can find
> that anyone might care is that a few of the defconfigs in the kernel
> enable CONFIG_SYSCTL_SYSCALL.  However this appears in only 31 of 414
> defconfigs in the kernel, so I suspect this symbols presence is simply
> because it is harmless to include rather than because it is necessary.
> 
> As there appear to be no users of the sysctl system call, remove the
> code.  As this removes one of the few uses of the internal kernel mount
> of proc I hope this allows for even more simplifications of the proc
> filesystem.

I'm for it. :) I tripped over this being deprecated over a decade ago. :P

I think you can actually take this further and remove (or at least
empty) the uapi/linux/sysctl.h file too.

-- 
Kees Cook

       reply index

Thread overview: 13+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
     [not found] <8736gcjosv.fsf@x220.int.ebiederm.org>
2019-10-01 18:46 ` Kees Cook [this message]
2019-10-01 22:53   ` Eric W. Biederman
2019-10-02  0:40     ` Jann Horn
2019-10-02  7:31     ` Arnd Bergmann
2019-10-02 14:41       ` Eric W. Biederman
2019-10-02 14:49       ` Eric W. Biederman
2019-10-02 18:52     ` Helge Deller
2019-10-03  6:56   ` Florian Weimer
     [not found]     ` <87tv8pftjj.fsf_-_@x220.int.ebiederm.org>
2019-10-03 21:05       ` [REPOST][RFC][PATCH] " Kees Cook
2019-10-08 10:30         ` Michael Kerrisk (man-pages)
2019-10-03 21:08     ` [RFC][PATCH] " Christian Brauner
2019-10-04  7:31       ` vger mail woes? (was: Re: [RFC][PATCH] sysctl: Remove the sysctl system call) Florian Weimer
2019-10-02 16:17 ` [RFC][PATCH] sysctl: Remove the sysctl system call Andi Kleen

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=201910011140.EA0181F13@keescook \
    --to=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=Steven.Hill@imgtec.com \
    --cc=ak@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=alex.smith@imgtec.com \
    --cc=anders.berg@lsi.com \
    --cc=andi@firstfloor.org \
    --cc=apelete@seketeli.net \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=blogic@openwrt.org \
    --cc=chenhc@lemote.com \
    --cc=chris@zankel.net \
    --cc=christian.ruppert@abilis.com \
    --cc=cnphoon@altera.com \
    --cc=deller@gmx.de \
    --cc=ebiederm@xmission.com \
    --cc=galak@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=gerg@uclinux.org \
    --cc=harvey.hunt@imgtec.com \
    --cc=jcmvbkbc@gmail.com \
    --cc=jonas.jensen@gmail.com \
    --cc=jun.nie@linaro.org \
    --cc=jwboyer@gmail.com \
    --cc=kevin.wells@nxp.com \
    --cc=khilman@linaro.org \
    --cc=lars@metafoo.de \
    --cc=lethal@linux-sh.org \
    --cc=lftan@altera.com \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-api@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arch@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=markos.chandras@imgtec.com \
    --cc=mcgrof@kernel.org \
    --cc=noamc@ezchip.com \
    --cc=olof@lixom.net \
    --cc=paul.burton@mips.com \
    --cc=phil.edworthy@renesas.com \
    --cc=pierrick.hascoet@abilis.com \
    --cc=ralf@linux-mips.org \
    --cc=santosh.shilimkar@ti.com \
    --cc=sboyd@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=stelford@cadence.com \
    --cc=stigge@antcom.de \
    --cc=taohl@lemote.com \
    --cc=tinamdar@apm.com \
    --cc=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=vgupta@synopsys.com \
    --cc=xiyou.wangcong@gmail.com \
    --cc=yanh@lemote.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/0 lkml/git/0.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/1 lkml/git/1.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/2 lkml/git/2.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/3 lkml/git/3.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/4 lkml/git/4.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/5 lkml/git/5.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/6 lkml/git/6.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/7 lkml/git/7.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/8 lkml/git/8.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 lkml lkml/ https://lore.kernel.org/lkml \
		linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index lkml

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-kernel


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git