linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
To: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>
Cc: Giovanni Gherdovich <ggherdovich@suse.cz>,
	Srinivas Pandruvada <srinivas.pandruvada@linux.intel.com>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>,
	Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org>,
	x86@kernel.org, linux-pm@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>,
	Matt Fleming <matt@codeblueprint.co.uk>,
	Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>,
	Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@redhat.com>, Paul Turner <pjt@google.com>,
	Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>,
	Quentin Perret <qperret@qperret.net>,
	Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com>,
	Doug Smythies <dsmythies@telus.net>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 1/2] x86,sched: Add support for frequency invariance
Date: Fri, 4 Oct 2019 13:48:34 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20191004114834.GE19463@hirez.programming.kicks-ass.net> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <1990043.dY4KdrEkPr@kreacher>

On Thu, Oct 03, 2019 at 07:53:49PM +0200, Rafael J. Wysocki wrote:
> On Thursday, October 3, 2019 2:15:37 PM CEST Peter Zijlstra wrote:
> > On Thu, Oct 03, 2019 at 12:27:52PM +0200, Rafael J. Wysocki wrote:
> > > > +	if (smp_processor_id() != 0)
> > > > +		return;

> Well, but the smp_processor_id() check has nothing to do with whether or not
> this is "core" or "atom" or something else, for example.

It is dodgy to begin with, it hard assumes we boot on cpu-0. A
'initialized' state would probably be better.

  reply	other threads:[~2019-10-04 11:49 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 25+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-10-02 12:29 [PATCH v2 0/2] Add support for frequency invariance for (some) x86 Giovanni Gherdovich
2019-10-02 12:29 ` [PATCH v2 1/2] x86,sched: Add support for frequency invariance Giovanni Gherdovich
2019-10-02 15:23   ` kbuild test robot
2019-10-02 15:49     ` Giovanni Gherdovich
2019-10-02 16:43   ` kbuild test robot
2019-10-02 18:27   ` Peter Zijlstra
2019-10-03 10:27   ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2019-10-03 12:15     ` Peter Zijlstra
2019-10-03 17:36       ` Srinivas Pandruvada
2019-10-03 17:53       ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2019-10-04 11:48         ` Peter Zijlstra [this message]
2019-10-08  7:48         ` Giovanni Gherdovich
2019-10-08  9:32           ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2019-10-02 12:29 ` [PATCH v2 2/2] cpufreq: intel_pstate: Conditional frequency invariant accounting Giovanni Gherdovich
2019-10-03 18:05   ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2019-10-04  3:31     ` Srinivas Pandruvada
2019-10-04  8:08       ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2019-10-04  8:29       ` Giovanni Gherdovich
2019-10-04  8:28         ` Vincent Guittot
2019-10-04  8:33           ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2019-10-04  8:29         ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2019-10-04  8:57           ` Giovanni Gherdovich
2019-10-04  9:17             ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2019-10-04 15:17             ` Srinivas Pandruvada
2019-10-07  8:33               ` Giovanni Gherdovich

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20191004114834.GE19463@hirez.programming.kicks-ass.net \
    --to=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=bp@suse.de \
    --cc=dietmar.eggemann@arm.com \
    --cc=dsmythies@telus.net \
    --cc=ggherdovich@suse.cz \
    --cc=juri.lelli@redhat.com \
    --cc=lenb@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=matt@codeblueprint.co.uk \
    --cc=mgorman@techsingularity.net \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=pjt@google.com \
    --cc=qperret@qperret.net \
    --cc=rjw@rjwysocki.net \
    --cc=srinivas.pandruvada@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=vincent.guittot@linaro.org \
    --cc=viresh.kumar@linaro.org \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).