linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
To: Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@amd.com>
Cc: "Peter Zijlstra" <peterz@infradead.org>,
	"Ingo Molnar" <mingo@kernel.org>,
	"Ingo Molnar" <mingo@redhat.com>,
	"Alexander Shishkin" <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>,
	"Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo" <acme@kernel.org>,
	"Babu Moger" <babu.moger@amd.com>,
	"Borislav Petkov" <bp@alien8.de>,
	"Fenghua Yu" <fenghua.yu@intel.com>,
	"Frank van der Linden" <fllinden@amazon.com>,
	"H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>,
	"Huang Rui" <ray.huang@amd.com>,
	"Janakarajan Natarajan" <Janakarajan.Natarajan@amd.com>,
	"Jan Beulich" <jbeulich@suse.com>,
	"Jiaxun Yang" <jiaxun.yang@flygoat.com>,
	"Jiri Olsa" <jolsa@redhat.com>,
	"Josh Poimboeuf" <jpoimboe@redhat.com>,
	"Linus Torvalds" <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>,
	"Luwei Kang" <luwei.kang@intel.com>,
	"Martin Liška" <mliska@suse.cz>,
	"Matt Fleming" <matt@codeblueprint.co.uk>,
	"Namhyung Kim" <namhyung@kernel.org>,
	"Paolo Bonzini" <pbonzini@redhat.com>,
	"Pawan Gupta" <pawan.kumar.gupta@linux.intel.com>,
	"Suravee Suthikulpanit" <Suravee.Suthikulpanit@amd.com>,
	"Thomas Gleixner" <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	"Tom Lendacky" <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>,
	x86@kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	stable@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 2/2] x86/cpu/amd: Enable the fixed intructions retired free counter IRPERF
Date: Wed, 15 Jan 2020 20:03:24 -0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20200116040324.GI302770@tassilo.jf.intel.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200115205646.10678-2-kim.phillips@amd.com>

> +	if (cpu_has(c, X86_FEATURE_IRPERF) &&
> +	    !(c->x86 == 0x17 && c->x86_model <= 0x1f))

Such checks are normally through a x86_pmu lag or possibly a X86_BUG_* flag

> +		msr_set_bit(MSR_K7_HWCR, MSR_K7_HWCR_IRPERF_EN_BIT);
>  }
>  
>  #ifdef CONFIG_X86_32
> -- 
> 2.24.1
> 

      reply	other threads:[~2020-01-16  4:03 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 3+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-01-15 20:56 [PATCH 1/2 RESEND] perf/x86/amd: Add missing L2 misses event spec to AMD Family 17h's event map Kim Phillips
2020-01-15 20:56 ` [PATCH 2/2] x86/cpu/amd: Enable the fixed intructions retired free counter IRPERF Kim Phillips
2020-01-16  4:03   ` Andi Kleen [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200116040324.GI302770@tassilo.jf.intel.com \
    --to=ak@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=Janakarajan.Natarajan@amd.com \
    --cc=Suravee.Suthikulpanit@amd.com \
    --cc=acme@kernel.org \
    --cc=alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=babu.moger@amd.com \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=fenghua.yu@intel.com \
    --cc=fllinden@amazon.com \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=jbeulich@suse.com \
    --cc=jiaxun.yang@flygoat.com \
    --cc=jolsa@redhat.com \
    --cc=jpoimboe@redhat.com \
    --cc=kim.phillips@amd.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=luwei.kang@intel.com \
    --cc=matt@codeblueprint.co.uk \
    --cc=mingo@kernel.org \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=mliska@suse.cz \
    --cc=namhyung@kernel.org \
    --cc=pawan.kumar.gupta@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=pbonzini@redhat.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=ray.huang@amd.com \
    --cc=stable@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=thomas.lendacky@amd.com \
    --cc=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 2/2] x86/cpu/amd: Enable the fixed intructions retired free counter IRPERF' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).