linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
To: Alexander Popov <alex.popov@linux.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>,
	John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Stephen Boyd <sboyd@kernel.org>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@redhat.com>,
	Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>,
	Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com>,
	Ben Segall <bsegall@google.com>, Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, notify@kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/1] timer: Warn about schedule_timeout() called for tasks in TASK_RUNNING state
Date: Thu, 16 Jan 2020 09:52:20 -0500	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20200116095220.7368a604@gandalf.local.home> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200116140218.1328022-1-alex.popov@linux.com>

On Thu, 16 Jan 2020 17:02:18 +0300
Alexander Popov <alex.popov@linux.com> wrote:

> When we were preparing the patch 6dcd5d7a7a29c1e, we made a mistake noticed
> by Linus: schedule_timeout() was called without setting the task state to
> anything particular. It calls the scheduler, but doesn't delay anything,
> because the task stays runnable. That happens because sched_submit_work()
> does nothing for tasks in TASK_RUNNING state.
> 
> Let's add a WARN_ONCE() under CONFIG_SCHED_DEBUG to detect such kernel
> API misuse.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Alexander Popov <alex.popov@linux.com>
> ---
>  kernel/time/timer.c | 5 +++++
>  1 file changed, 5 insertions(+)
> 
> diff --git a/kernel/time/timer.c b/kernel/time/timer.c
> index 4820823515e9..52ad2d6ce352 100644
> --- a/kernel/time/timer.c
> +++ b/kernel/time/timer.c
> @@ -1887,6 +1887,11 @@ signed long __sched schedule_timeout(signed long timeout)
>  		}
>  	}
>  
> +#ifdef CONFIG_SCHED_DEBUG
> +	WARN_ONCE(current->state == TASK_RUNNING,
> +			"schedule_timeout for TASK_RUNNING\n");
> +#endif
> +

But this can trigger false warnings. For example, if we are waiting on
an event with a timeout:


	DEFINE_WAIT(wait);

	for (;;) {
		prepare_to_wait(&waitq, &wait, TASK_UNINTERRUPTIBLE);
		if (event)
			break;
		timeout = schedule_timeout(timeout);
		if (!timeout)
			break;
	}
	finish_wait(&waitq, &wait);


If the event happens between "prepare_to_wait" and just before
schedule_timeout(), the wait queue will set this task's state to
TASK_RUNNING, which in turn triggers your warning.

-- Steve


>  	expire = timeout + jiffies;
>  
>  	timer.task = current;


  reply	other threads:[~2020-01-16 14:52 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 4+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-01-16 14:02 [PATCH 1/1] timer: Warn about schedule_timeout() called for tasks in TASK_RUNNING state Alexander Popov
2020-01-16 14:52 ` Steven Rostedt [this message]
2020-01-16 14:55   ` Steven Rostedt
2020-01-17 15:33   ` Alexander Popov

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200116095220.7368a604@gandalf.local.home \
    --to=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=alex.popov@linux.com \
    --cc=bsegall@google.com \
    --cc=dietmar.eggemann@arm.com \
    --cc=john.stultz@linaro.org \
    --cc=juri.lelli@redhat.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mgorman@suse.de \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=notify@kernel.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=sboyd@kernel.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=vincent.guittot@linaro.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).