linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>
To: kajoljain <kjain@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Ian Rogers <irogers@google.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>,
	Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>, Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>,
	Song Liu <songliubraving@fb.com>,
	Andrii Nakryiko <andriin@fb.com>, Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>,
	John Garry <john.garry@huawei.com>,
	Jin Yao <yao.jin@linux.intel.com>,
	Kan Liang <kan.liang@linux.intel.com>,
	Cong Wang <xiyou.wangcong@gmail.com>,
	Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@amd.com>, Paul Clarke <pc@us.ibm.com>,
	Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, netdev@vger.kernel.org,
	bpf@vger.kernel.org, linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org,
	Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu>,
	Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 0/7] Share events between metrics
Date: Fri, 22 May 2020 11:31:41 -0300	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20200522143141.GG14034@kernel.org> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <3e8f12d8-0c56-11e9-e557-e384210f15c1@linux.ibm.com>

Em Fri, May 22, 2020 at 02:55:46PM +0530, kajoljain escreveu:
> On 5/20/20 11:50 PM, Ian Rogers wrote:
> > Metric groups contain metrics. Metrics create groups of events to
> > ideally be scheduled together. Often metrics refer to the same events,
> > for example, a cache hit and cache miss rate. Using separate event
> > groups means these metrics are multiplexed at different times and the
> > counts don't sum to 100%. More multiplexing also decreases the
> > accuracy of the measurement.

<SNIP>
 
> > Ian Rogers (7):
> >   perf metricgroup: Always place duration_time last
> >   perf metricgroup: Use early return in add_metric
> >   perf metricgroup: Delay events string creation
> >   perf metricgroup: Order event groups by size
> >   perf metricgroup: Remove duped metric group events
> >   perf metricgroup: Add options to not group or merge
> >   perf metricgroup: Remove unnecessary ',' from events
 
> Reviewd-By: Kajol Jain <kjain@linux.ibm.com>
> Tested-By: Kajol Jain <kjain@linux.ibm.com> ( Tested it to see behavior with some metric groups in both x86 and Power machine)

Thanks, added to the patches,

- Arnaldo

      reply	other threads:[~2020-05-22 14:31 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 17+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-05-20 18:20 Ian Rogers
2020-05-20 18:20 ` [PATCH v2 1/7] perf metricgroup: Always place duration_time last Ian Rogers
2020-05-20 18:20 ` [PATCH v2 2/7] perf metricgroup: Use early return in add_metric Ian Rogers
2020-05-20 18:20 ` [PATCH v2 3/7] perf metricgroup: Delay events string creation Ian Rogers
2020-05-20 18:20 ` [PATCH v2 4/7] perf metricgroup: Order event groups by size Ian Rogers
2020-05-20 18:20 ` [PATCH v2 5/7] perf metricgroup: Remove duped metric group events Ian Rogers
2020-05-20 18:20 ` [PATCH v2 6/7] perf metricgroup: Add options to not group or merge Ian Rogers
2020-05-20 18:20 ` [PATCH v2 7/7] perf metricgroup: Remove unnecessary ',' from events Ian Rogers
2020-05-21 11:43 ` [PATCH v2 0/7] Share events between metrics Jiri Olsa
2020-05-21 17:22   ` Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2020-05-22 10:13     ` Jiri Olsa
2020-05-22 14:49       ` Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
     [not found]         ` <CAP-5=fUaaNpi3RZd9-Q-uCaudop0tU5NN8HFek5e2XLoBZqt6w@mail.gmail.com>
2020-05-22 17:56           ` Ian Rogers
2020-05-23 22:19             ` Jiri Olsa
2020-05-25 13:34               ` Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2020-05-22  9:25 ` kajoljain
2020-05-22 14:31   ` Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200522143141.GG14034@kernel.org \
    --to=acme@kernel.org \
    --cc=ak@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=andriin@fb.com \
    --cc=bpf@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=eranian@google.com \
    --cc=irogers@google.com \
    --cc=john.garry@huawei.com \
    --cc=jolsa@redhat.com \
    --cc=kan.liang@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=kim.phillips@amd.com \
    --cc=kjain@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=namhyung@kernel.org \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=pc@us.ibm.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=songliubraving@fb.com \
    --cc=srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=vincent.weaver@maine.edu \
    --cc=xiyou.wangcong@gmail.com \
    --cc=yao.jin@linux.intel.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 0/7] Share events between metrics' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).