linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
To: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	stable@vger.kernel.org, Luis Chamberlain <mcgrof@kernel.org>,
	Mimi Zohar <zohar@linux.ibm.com>,
	Scott Branden <scott.branden@broadcom.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@kernel.org>,
	Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	Jessica Yu <jeyu@kernel.org>,
	Dmitry Kasatkin <dmitry.kasatkin@gmail.com>,
	"Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>,
	Casey Schaufler <casey@schaufler-ca.com>,
	"Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Matthew Garrett <matthewgarrett@google.com>,
	David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+huawei@kernel.org>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>,
	"Joel Fernandes (Google)" <joel@joelfernandes.org>,
	KP Singh <kpsingh@google.com>, Dave Olsthoorn <dave@bewaar.me>,
	Hans de Goede <hdegoede@redhat.com>,
	Peter Jones <pjones@redhat.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Stephen Boyd <stephen.boyd@linaro.org>,
	Paul Moore <paul@paul-moore.com>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-integrity@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH 1/4] firmware_loader: EFI firmware loader must handle pre-allocated buffer
Date: Tue,  7 Jul 2020 01:19:23 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20200707081926.3688096-2-keescook@chromium.org> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200707081926.3688096-1-keescook@chromium.org>

The EFI platform firmware fallback would clobber any pre-allocated
buffers. Instead, correctly refuse to reallocate when too small (as
already done in the sysfs fallback), or perform allocation normally
when needed.

Fixes: e4c2c0ff00ec ("firmware: Add new platform fallback mechanism and firm ware_request_platform()")
Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
---
 drivers/base/firmware_loader/fallback_platform.c | 5 ++++-
 1 file changed, 4 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/drivers/base/firmware_loader/fallback_platform.c b/drivers/base/firmware_loader/fallback_platform.c
index cdd2c9a9f38a..685edb7dd05a 100644
--- a/drivers/base/firmware_loader/fallback_platform.c
+++ b/drivers/base/firmware_loader/fallback_platform.c
@@ -25,7 +25,10 @@ int firmware_fallback_platform(struct fw_priv *fw_priv, u32 opt_flags)
 	if (rc)
 		return rc; /* rc == -ENOENT when the fw was not found */
 
-	fw_priv->data = vmalloc(size);
+	if (fw_priv->data && size > fw_priv->allocated_size)
+		return -ENOMEM;
+	if (!fw_priv->data)
+		fw_priv->data = vmalloc(size);
 	if (!fw_priv->data)
 		return -ENOMEM;
 
-- 
2.25.1


  reply	other threads:[~2020-07-07  8:19 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 29+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-07-07  8:19 [PATCH 0/4] Fix misused kernel_read_file() enums Kees Cook
2020-07-07  8:19 ` Kees Cook [this message]
2020-07-07  8:19 ` [PATCH 2/4] fs: Remove FIRMWARE_PREALLOC_BUFFER from " Kees Cook
2020-07-07 16:42   ` Scott Branden
2020-07-07 21:55     ` Kees Cook
2020-07-08  3:06       ` Scott Branden
2020-07-08  3:14         ` Kees Cook
2020-07-08  1:37   ` [fs] 676800b78f: BUG:unable_to_handle_page_fault_for_address kernel test robot
2020-07-10 21:00   ` [PATCH 2/4] fs: Remove FIRMWARE_PREALLOC_BUFFER from kernel_read_file() enums Scott Branden
2020-07-10 22:04     ` Matthew Wilcox
2020-07-10 22:10       ` Scott Branden
2020-07-10 22:44         ` Kees Cook
2020-07-10 22:58           ` Scott Branden
2020-07-16 20:35           ` Scott Branden
2020-07-16 21:16             ` Kees Cook
2020-07-07  8:19 ` [PATCH 3/4] fs: Remove FIRMWARE_EFI_EMBEDDED " Kees Cook
2020-07-07  8:19 ` [PATCH 4/4] module: Add hook for security_kernel_post_read_file() Kees Cook
2020-07-08  0:47   ` Mimi Zohar
2020-07-08  3:10     ` Kees Cook
2020-07-08 13:47       ` Mimi Zohar
2020-07-07  9:31 ` [PATCH 0/4] Fix misused kernel_read_file() enums Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-07-07 15:36 ` Mimi Zohar
2020-07-07 21:45   ` Kees Cook
2020-07-08 11:01 ` Hans de Goede
2020-07-08 11:37   ` Hans de Goede
2020-07-08 11:55     ` Luis Chamberlain
2020-07-08 11:58       ` Hans de Goede
2020-07-08 13:30         ` Luis Chamberlain
2020-07-09  2:00           ` Kees Cook

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200707081926.3688096-2-keescook@chromium.org \
    --to=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=casey@schaufler-ca.com \
    --cc=dave@bewaar.me \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=dmitry.kasatkin@gmail.com \
    --cc=ebiederm@xmission.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=hdegoede@redhat.com \
    --cc=jeyu@kernel.org \
    --cc=jmorris@namei.org \
    --cc=joel@joelfernandes.org \
    --cc=kpsingh@google.com \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-integrity@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=matthewgarrett@google.com \
    --cc=mcgrof@kernel.org \
    --cc=mchehab+huawei@kernel.org \
    --cc=paul@paul-moore.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=pjones@redhat.com \
    --cc=rafael@kernel.org \
    --cc=rdunlap@infradead.org \
    --cc=scott.branden@broadcom.com \
    --cc=serge@hallyn.com \
    --cc=stable@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=stephen.boyd@linaro.org \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=zohar@linux.ibm.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 1/4] firmware_loader: EFI firmware loader must handle pre-allocated buffer' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).