linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
To: Scott Branden <scott.branden@broadcom.com>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>,
	Luis Chamberlain <mcgrof@kernel.org>,
	Mimi Zohar <zohar@linux.ibm.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@kernel.org>,
	Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	Jessica Yu <jeyu@kernel.org>,
	Dmitry Kasatkin <dmitry.kasatkin@gmail.com>,
	"Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>,
	Casey Schaufler <casey@schaufler-ca.com>,
	"Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Matthew Garrett <matthewgarrett@google.com>,
	David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+huawei@kernel.org>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>,
	"Joel Fernandes (Google)" <joel@joelfernandes.org>,
	KP Singh <kpsingh@google.com>, Dave Olsthoorn <dave@bewaar.me>,
	Hans de Goede <hdegoede@redhat.com>,
	Peter Jones <pjones@redhat.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Stephen Boyd <stephen.boyd@linaro.org>,
	Paul Moore <paul@paul-moore.com>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-integrity@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 2/4] fs: Remove FIRMWARE_PREALLOC_BUFFER from kernel_read_file() enums
Date: Fri, 10 Jul 2020 23:04:11 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20200710220411.GR12769@casper.infradead.org> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <3fdb3c53-7471-14d8-ce6a-251d8b660b8a@broadcom.com>

On Fri, Jul 10, 2020 at 02:00:32PM -0700, Scott Branden wrote:
> > @@ -950,8 +951,8 @@ int kernel_read_file(struct file *file, void **buf, loff_t *size,
> >   		goto out;
> >   	}
> > -	if (id != READING_FIRMWARE_PREALLOC_BUFFER)
> > -		*buf = vmalloc(i_size);
> > +	if (!*buf)
> The assumption that *buf is always NULL when id !=
> READING_FIRMWARE_PREALLOC_BUFFER doesn't appear to be correct.
> I get unhandled page faults due to this change on boot.

Did it give you a stack backtrace?


  reply	other threads:[~2020-07-10 22:05 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 29+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-07-07  8:19 [PATCH 0/4] Fix misused " Kees Cook
2020-07-07  8:19 ` [PATCH 1/4] firmware_loader: EFI firmware loader must handle pre-allocated buffer Kees Cook
2020-07-07  8:19 ` [PATCH 2/4] fs: Remove FIRMWARE_PREALLOC_BUFFER from kernel_read_file() enums Kees Cook
2020-07-07 16:42   ` Scott Branden
2020-07-07 21:55     ` Kees Cook
2020-07-08  3:06       ` Scott Branden
2020-07-08  3:14         ` Kees Cook
2020-07-08  1:37   ` [fs] 676800b78f: BUG:unable_to_handle_page_fault_for_address kernel test robot
2020-07-10 21:00   ` [PATCH 2/4] fs: Remove FIRMWARE_PREALLOC_BUFFER from kernel_read_file() enums Scott Branden
2020-07-10 22:04     ` Matthew Wilcox [this message]
2020-07-10 22:10       ` Scott Branden
2020-07-10 22:44         ` Kees Cook
2020-07-10 22:58           ` Scott Branden
2020-07-16 20:35           ` Scott Branden
2020-07-16 21:16             ` Kees Cook
2020-07-07  8:19 ` [PATCH 3/4] fs: Remove FIRMWARE_EFI_EMBEDDED " Kees Cook
2020-07-07  8:19 ` [PATCH 4/4] module: Add hook for security_kernel_post_read_file() Kees Cook
2020-07-08  0:47   ` Mimi Zohar
2020-07-08  3:10     ` Kees Cook
2020-07-08 13:47       ` Mimi Zohar
2020-07-07  9:31 ` [PATCH 0/4] Fix misused kernel_read_file() enums Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-07-07 15:36 ` Mimi Zohar
2020-07-07 21:45   ` Kees Cook
2020-07-08 11:01 ` Hans de Goede
2020-07-08 11:37   ` Hans de Goede
2020-07-08 11:55     ` Luis Chamberlain
2020-07-08 11:58       ` Hans de Goede
2020-07-08 13:30         ` Luis Chamberlain
2020-07-09  2:00           ` Kees Cook

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200710220411.GR12769@casper.infradead.org \
    --to=willy@infradead.org \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=casey@schaufler-ca.com \
    --cc=dave@bewaar.me \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=dmitry.kasatkin@gmail.com \
    --cc=ebiederm@xmission.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=hdegoede@redhat.com \
    --cc=jeyu@kernel.org \
    --cc=jmorris@namei.org \
    --cc=joel@joelfernandes.org \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kpsingh@google.com \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-integrity@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=matthewgarrett@google.com \
    --cc=mcgrof@kernel.org \
    --cc=mchehab+huawei@kernel.org \
    --cc=paul@paul-moore.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=pjones@redhat.com \
    --cc=rafael@kernel.org \
    --cc=rdunlap@infradead.org \
    --cc=scott.branden@broadcom.com \
    --cc=serge@hallyn.com \
    --cc=stephen.boyd@linaro.org \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=zohar@linux.ibm.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 2/4] fs: Remove FIRMWARE_PREALLOC_BUFFER from kernel_read_file() enums' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).