LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: "Uwe Kleine-König" <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>
To: "Jonathan Neuschäfer" <j.neuschaefer@gmx.net>
Cc: Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com>,
	Heiko Stuebner <heiko@sntech.de>,
	devicetree@vger.kernel.org,
	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>,
	linux-rtc@vger.kernel.org, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+huawei@kernel.org>,
	Fabio Estevam <festevam@gmail.com>,
	Daniel Palmer <daniel@0x0f.com>,
	Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@gmail.com>,
	Andreas Kemnade <andreas@kemnade.info>,
	NXP Linux Team <linux-imx@nxp.com>,
	linux-pwm@vger.kernel.org, Stephan Gerhold <stephan@gerhold.net>,
	allen <allen.chen@ite.com.tw>,
	Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>,
	Lubomir Rintel <lkundrak@v3.sk>, Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	Alessandro Zummo <a.zummo@towertech.it>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>,
	Pengutronix Kernel Team <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	Heiko Stuebner <heiko.stuebner@theobroma-systems.com>,
	Josua Mayer <josua.mayer@jm0.eu>, Shawn Guo <shawnguo@kernel.org>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 5/7] rtc: New driver for RTC in Netronix embedded controller
Date: Mon, 5 Oct 2020 09:35:38 +0200
Message-ID: <20201005073538.g37j3tfc7q4gifdz@pengutronix.de> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20201004014323.GD500800@latitude>


[-- Attachment #1: Type: text/plain, Size: 868 bytes --]

Hello Jonathan,

On Sun, Oct 04, 2020 at 03:43:23AM +0200, Jonathan Neuschäfer wrote:
> On Fri, Sep 25, 2020 at 07:44:24AM +0200, Uwe Kleine-König wrote:
> > > +static struct platform_driver ntxec_rtc_driver = {
> > > +	.driver = {
> > > +		.name = "ntxec-rtc",
> > > +	},
> > > +	.probe = ntxec_rtc_probe,
> > 
> > No .remove function?
> 
> I don't think it would serve a purpose in this driver. There are no
> device-specific resources to release (no clocks to unprepare, for
> example).

I had in mind that without a .remove callback the driver cannot detach.
but looking in the code (drivers/base/platform.c) this seems wrong.
So my concern can be considered void.

Best regards
Uwe

-- 
Pengutronix e.K.                           | Uwe Kleine-König            |
Industrial Linux Solutions                 | https://www.pengutronix.de/ |

[-- Attachment #2: signature.asc --]
[-- Type: application/pgp-signature, Size: 488 bytes --]

  parent reply index

Thread overview: 31+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-09-24 19:24 [PATCH v3 0/7] Netronix embedded controller driver for Kobo and Tolino ebook readers Jonathan Neuschäfer
2020-09-24 19:24 ` [PATCH v3 1/7] dt-bindings: Add vendor prefix for Netronix, Inc Jonathan Neuschäfer
2020-10-12  7:19   ` Uwe Kleine-König
2020-10-12 11:48     ` Lee Jones
2020-09-24 19:24 ` [PATCH v3 2/7] dt-bindings: mfd: Add binding for Netronix embedded controller Jonathan Neuschäfer
2020-09-29 18:52   ` Rob Herring
2020-09-24 19:24 ` [PATCH v3 3/7] mfd: Add base driver " Jonathan Neuschäfer
2020-09-25  9:29   ` Andy Shevchenko
2020-09-25 21:32     ` Jonathan Neuschäfer
2020-09-29 16:37       ` Andy Shevchenko
2020-10-02 22:54         ` Jonathan Neuschäfer
2020-09-24 19:24 ` [PATCH v3 4/7] pwm: ntxec: Add driver for PWM function in Netronix EC Jonathan Neuschäfer
2020-09-25  6:30   ` Uwe Kleine-König
2020-09-27 21:10     ` Jonathan Neuschäfer
2020-09-28  8:35       ` Uwe Kleine-König
2020-10-02 23:36         ` Jonathan Neuschäfer
2020-10-03  8:17           ` Andy Shevchenko
2020-09-24 19:24 ` [PATCH v3 5/7] rtc: New driver for RTC in Netronix embedded controller Jonathan Neuschäfer
2020-09-24 20:40   ` Andreas Kemnade
2020-10-02 23:41     ` Jonathan Neuschäfer
2020-09-25  5:44   ` Uwe Kleine-König
2020-10-04  1:43     ` Jonathan Neuschäfer
2020-10-04  8:42       ` Alexandre Belloni
2020-10-11 19:09         ` Jonathan Neuschäfer
2020-10-05  7:35       ` Uwe Kleine-König [this message]
2020-09-25  9:36   ` Alexandre Belloni
2020-09-25 22:00     ` Jonathan Neuschäfer
2020-09-24 19:24 ` [PATCH v3 6/7] MAINTAINERS: Add entry for " Jonathan Neuschäfer
2020-09-25  5:08 ` [PATCH v3 7/7] ARM: dts: imx50-kobo-aura: Add " Jonathan Neuschäfer
2020-10-07  7:46   ` Krzysztof Kozlowski
2020-10-11 19:42     ` Jonathan Neuschäfer

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20201005073538.g37j3tfc7q4gifdz@pengutronix.de \
    --to=u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=a.zummo@towertech.it \
    --cc=alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=allen.chen@ite.com.tw \
    --cc=andreas@kemnade.info \
    --cc=andy.shevchenko@gmail.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=broonie@kernel.org \
    --cc=daniel@0x0f.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=festevam@gmail.com \
    --cc=heiko.stuebner@theobroma-systems.com \
    --cc=heiko@sntech.de \
    --cc=j.neuschaefer@gmx.net \
    --cc=josua.mayer@jm0.eu \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=lee.jones@linaro.org \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-imx@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pwm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-rtc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=lkundrak@v3.sk \
    --cc=mchehab+huawei@kernel.org \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=s.hauer@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=sam@ravnborg.org \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --cc=stephan@gerhold.net \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/0 lkml/git/0.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/1 lkml/git/1.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/2 lkml/git/2.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/3 lkml/git/3.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/4 lkml/git/4.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/5 lkml/git/5.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/6 lkml/git/6.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/7 lkml/git/7.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/8 lkml/git/8.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/9 lkml/git/9.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 lkml lkml/ https://lore.kernel.org/lkml \
		linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index lkml

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-kernel


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git