linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>
To: Adam Ford <aford173@gmail.com>
Cc: linux-clk@vger.kernel.org, aford@beaconembedded.com,
	charles.steves@logicpd.com, Aisheng Dong <aisheng.dong@nxp.com>,
	Michael Turquette <mturquette@baylibre.com>,
	Stephen Boyd <sboyd@kernel.org>, Shawn Guo <shawnguo@kernel.org>,
	Pengutronix Kernel Team <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	Fabio Estevam <festevam@gmail.com>,
	NXP Linux Team <linux-imx@nxp.com>,
	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	Jerome Brunet <jbrunet@baylibre.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH] clk: imx: Fix reparenting of UARTs not associated with sdout
Date: Mon, 7 Dec 2020 06:24:38 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20201207052438.GA3977@pengutronix.de> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20201204183154.94002-1-aford173@gmail.com>

Hi Adam,

On Fri, Dec 04, 2020 at 12:31:54PM -0600, Adam Ford wrote:
> The default clock source on i.MX8M Mini and Nano boards use a 24MHz clock,
> but users who need to re-parent the clock source run into issues because
> all the UART clocks are enabled whether or not they're needed by sdout.
> 
> Any attempt to change the parent results in an busy error because the
> clocks have been enabled already.
> 
>   clk: failed to reparent uart1 to sys_pll1_80m: -16
> 
> Instead of pre-initializing all UARTS, scan the device tree to see if UART
> clock is used as stdout before initializing it.  Only enable the UART clock
> if it's needed in order to delay the clock initialization until after the
> re-parenting of the clocks.
> 
> Fixes: 9461f7b33d11c ("clk: fix CLK_SET_RATE_GATE with clock rate protection")
> Suggested-by: Aisheng Dong <aisheng.dong@nxp.com>
> Signed-off-by: Adam Ford <aford173@gmail.com>
> 
> diff --git a/drivers/clk/imx/clk.c b/drivers/clk/imx/clk.c
> index 47882c51cb85..6dcc5fbd8f3f 100644
> --- a/drivers/clk/imx/clk.c
> +++ b/drivers/clk/imx/clk.c
> @@ -163,12 +163,18 @@ __setup_param("earlyprintk", imx_keep_uart_earlyprintk,
>  
>  void imx_register_uart_clocks(struct clk ** const clks[])
>  {
> +	struct clk *uart_clk;
>  	if (imx_keep_uart_clocks) {
>  		int i;
>  
>  		imx_uart_clocks = clks;
> -		for (i = 0; imx_uart_clocks[i]; i++)
> -			clk_prepare_enable(*imx_uart_clocks[i]);
> +		for (i = 0; imx_uart_clocks[i]; i++) {
> +			uart_clk = of_clk_get(of_stdout, i);

This looks wrong. imx_uart_clocks is an array containing all clocks that
could possibly be used for an UART. With of_clk_get(of_stdout, i) you
get the nth clock for one specific UART.
What you have to do here is: For each of imx_uart_clocks[] you have to
iterate over all clocks of the of_stdout node.

Sascha

> +			if (IS_ERR(uart_clk))
> +				continue;
> +			clk_prepare_enable(uart_clk);
> +			clk_put(uart_clk);
> +		}
>  	}
>  }
>  
> -- 
> 2.25.1
> 
> 

-- 
Pengutronix e.K.                           |                             |
Steuerwalder Str. 21                       | http://www.pengutronix.de/  |
31137 Hildesheim, Germany                  | Phone: +49-5121-206917-0    |
Amtsgericht Hildesheim, HRA 2686           | Fax:   +49-5121-206917-5555 |

  reply	other threads:[~2020-12-07  5:25 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 4+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-12-04 18:31 Adam Ford
2020-12-07  5:24 ` Sascha Hauer [this message]
2020-12-07 15:51   ` Adam Ford
2020-12-07 16:53     ` Sascha Hauer

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20201207052438.GA3977@pengutronix.de \
    --to=s.hauer@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=aford173@gmail.com \
    --cc=aford@beaconembedded.com \
    --cc=aisheng.dong@nxp.com \
    --cc=charles.steves@logicpd.com \
    --cc=festevam@gmail.com \
    --cc=jbrunet@baylibre.com \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-clk@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-imx@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mturquette@baylibre.com \
    --cc=sboyd@kernel.org \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH] clk: imx: Fix reparenting of UARTs not associated with sdout' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).