linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Giovanni Gherdovich <ggherdovich@suse.cz>
To: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	"Rafael J . Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>,
	Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>
Cc: Jon Grimm <Jon.Grimm@amd.com>,
	Nathan Fontenot <Nathan.Fontenot@amd.com>,
	Yazen Ghannam <Yazen.Ghannam@amd.com>,
	Thomas Lendacky <Thomas.Lendacky@amd.com>,
	Suthikulpanit Suravee <Suravee.Suthikulpanit@amd.com>,
	Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>, Pu Wen <puwen@hygon.cn>,
	Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@redhat.com>,
	Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>,
	Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com>,
	Michael Larabel <Michael@phoronix.com>,
	x86@kernel.org, linux-pm@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org,
	Giovanni Gherdovich <ggherdovich@suse.cz>
Subject: [PATCH v2 0/1] AMD EPYC: fix schedutil perf regression (freq-invariance)
Date: Fri, 22 Jan 2021 21:40:37 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210122204038.3238-1-ggherdovich@suse.cz> (raw)

Michael Larabel from Phoronix.com graciously tested v1, see results at:

AMD EPYC 7702 -
https://openbenchmarking.org/result/2101210-PTS-LINUX51178

AMD Ryzen 9 5950X - 
https://openbenchmarking.org/result/2101212-HA-RYZEN959566

The reported regression is recovered, and some workloads even report an
improvement over the v5.10 results.

Thanks Michael for the feedback!


v1 at https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20210121003223.20257-1-ggherdovich@suse.cz/

Changes wrt v1:

- move code around so that it builds for non-x86 architectures too

Giovanni Gherdovich (1):
  x86,sched: On AMD EPYC set freq_max = max_boost in schedutil invariant
    formula

 drivers/cpufreq/acpi-cpufreq.c   | 64 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++-
 drivers/cpufreq/cpufreq.c        |  3 ++
 include/linux/cpufreq.h          |  5 +++
 kernel/sched/cpufreq_schedutil.c |  8 +++-
 4 files changed, 76 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

-- 
2.26.2


             reply	other threads:[~2021-01-22 20:48 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 26+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-01-22 20:40 Giovanni Gherdovich [this message]
2021-01-22 20:40 ` [PATCH v2 1/1] x86,sched: On AMD EPYC set freq_max = max_boost in schedutil invariant formula Giovanni Gherdovich
2021-01-25 10:04   ` Peter Zijlstra
2021-01-26  9:28     ` Giovanni Gherdovich
2021-01-26 10:02       ` Peter Zijlstra
2021-02-02 18:45       ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2021-02-02 19:11         ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2021-02-03  9:56           ` Giovanni Gherdovich
2021-02-02 18:40     ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2021-01-25 10:06   ` Peter Zijlstra
2021-01-26  9:09     ` Giovanni Gherdovich
2021-01-26  9:31       ` Mel Gorman
2021-01-26 10:05         ` Peter Zijlstra
     [not found]           ` <1611933781.15858.48.camel@suse.cz>
2021-02-02 14:17             ` Giovanni Gherdovich
2021-02-02 18:21               ` Peter Zijlstra
2021-02-02 18:29                 ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2021-02-02 19:00                   ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2021-02-02 18:59   ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2021-02-02 19:26     ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2021-02-03  8:39       ` Giovanni Gherdovich
2021-02-03 13:40         ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2021-02-03  9:12     ` Giovanni Gherdovich
2021-02-03  6:04   ` Viresh Kumar
2021-01-24 22:30 ` [PATCH v2 0/1] AMD EPYC: fix schedutil perf regression (freq-invariance) Michael Larabel
2021-01-25  8:34   ` Peter Zijlstra
2021-01-26  9:01     ` Giovanni Gherdovich

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210122204038.3238-1-ggherdovich@suse.cz \
    --to=ggherdovich@suse.cz \
    --cc=Jon.Grimm@amd.com \
    --cc=Michael@phoronix.com \
    --cc=Nathan.Fontenot@amd.com \
    --cc=Suravee.Suthikulpanit@amd.com \
    --cc=Thomas.Lendacky@amd.com \
    --cc=Yazen.Ghannam@amd.com \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=dietmar.eggemann@arm.com \
    --cc=juri.lelli@redhat.com \
    --cc=linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mgorman@techsingularity.net \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=puwen@hygon.cn \
    --cc=rjw@rjwysocki.net \
    --cc=vincent.guittot@linaro.org \
    --cc=viresh.kumar@linaro.org \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 0/1] AMD EPYC: fix schedutil perf regression (freq-invariance)' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).