linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Russell King - ARM Linux admin <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
To: Jian Cai <jiancai@google.com>
Cc: "Mark Rutland" <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	"Catalin Marinas" <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	"Linus Walleij" <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	"James Morris" <jmorris@namei.org>,
	manojgupta@google.com, "Will Deacon" <will@kernel.org>,
	"Ingo Molnar" <mingo@kernel.org>, "Marc Zyngier" <maz@kernel.org>,
	"Masahiro Yamada" <masahiroy@kernel.org>,
	"Ard Biesheuvel" <ardb@kernel.org>,
	clang-built-linux@googlegroups.com, llozano@google.com,
	"David Brazdil" <dbrazdil@google.com>,
	"Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>,
	"Kees Cook" <keescook@chromium.org>,
	"Arnd Bergmann" <arnd@arndb.de>,
	"Nathan Chancellor" <nathan@kernel.org>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, ndesaulniers@google.com,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org,
	"David Laight" <David.Laight@aculab.com>,
	"James Morse" <james.morse@arm.com>,
	"Andrew Morton" <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	"Andreas Färber" <afaerber@suse.de>,
	"Mike Rapoport" <rppt@kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v4] ARM: Implement SLS mitigation
Date: Sun, 21 Feb 2021 10:13:17 +0000	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210221101317.GN1463@shell.armlinux.org.uk> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210219230841.875875-1-jiancai@google.com>

On Fri, Feb 19, 2021 at 03:08:13PM -0800, Jian Cai wrote:
> diff --git a/security/Kconfig.hardening b/security/Kconfig.hardening
> index 269967c4fc1b..146b75a79d9e 100644
> --- a/security/Kconfig.hardening
> +++ b/security/Kconfig.hardening
> @@ -121,6 +121,16 @@ choice
>  
>  endchoice
>  
> +config HARDEN_SLS_ALL
> +	bool "enable SLS vulnerability hardening"
> +	default n

Please get rid of this useless "default n"

> +	depends on $(cc-option,-mharden-sls=all)
> +	help
> +	  Enables straight-line speculation vulnerability hardening on ARM and ARM64
> +	  architectures. It inserts speculation barrier sequences (SB or DSB+ISB
> +	  depending on the target architecture) after RET and BR, and replacing
> +	  BLR with BL+BR sequence.

Given that this is in an architecture independent Kconfig file, and it
detects support in CC for this feature, why should this help text be
written to be specific to a couple of architectures? Will this feature
only ever be available on these two architectures? What if someone adds
support for another architecture?

-- 
RMK's Patch system: https://www.armlinux.org.uk/developer/patches/
FTTP is here! 40Mbps down 10Mbps up. Decent connectivity at last!

  reply	other threads:[~2021-02-21 10:14 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 29+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-02-12  5:14 [PATCH] ARM: Implement Clang's " Jian Cai
2021-02-12  5:55 ` Nathan Chancellor
2021-02-12 10:41   ` David Laight
2021-02-12 19:52     ` [PATCH v2] " Jian Cai
2021-02-17  9:49       ` Will Deacon
2021-02-17 11:05         ` David Laight
2021-03-25 14:01         ` Linus Walleij
2021-02-17 18:20       ` Nick Desaulniers
2021-02-19 20:18       ` [PATCH v3] ARM: Implement " Jian Cai
2021-02-19 20:30         ` Nathan Chancellor
2021-02-19 23:08         ` [PATCH v4] " Jian Cai
2021-02-21 10:13           ` Russell King - ARM Linux admin [this message]
2021-02-22 11:58           ` Will Deacon
2021-02-22 21:50             ` Jian Cai
2021-02-23 10:04               ` Will Deacon
2021-03-03 15:18                 ` Linus Walleij
2021-03-03 15:29                   ` David Laight
2021-03-03 15:31                     ` Linus Walleij
2021-02-23  2:31           ` [PATCH v5] " Jian Cai
2021-02-23  2:35             ` Jian Cai
2021-03-03 15:04               ` Linus Walleij
2021-03-04 23:22                 ` Jian Cai
2021-03-06 12:25                   ` Linus Walleij
2021-03-10  4:43                     ` Jian Cai
2021-03-22 11:45                       ` Linus Walleij
2021-03-23 22:39                         ` Jian Cai
2021-03-05  0:53               ` [PATCH v6] " Jian Cai
2021-03-05  9:52                 ` Will Deacon
2021-03-06 12:27                   ` Linus Walleij

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210221101317.GN1463@shell.armlinux.org.uk \
    --to=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=David.Laight@aculab.com \
    --cc=afaerber@suse.de \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=ardb@kernel.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=clang-built-linux@googlegroups.com \
    --cc=dbrazdil@google.com \
    --cc=james.morse@arm.com \
    --cc=jiancai@google.com \
    --cc=jmorris@namei.org \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=llozano@google.com \
    --cc=manojgupta@google.com \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=masahiroy@kernel.org \
    --cc=maz@kernel.org \
    --cc=mingo@kernel.org \
    --cc=nathan@kernel.org \
    --cc=ndesaulniers@google.com \
    --cc=rppt@kernel.org \
    --cc=serge@hallyn.com \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v4] ARM: Implement SLS mitigation' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
on how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox