LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Maxime Ripard <maxime@cerno.tech>
To: dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org,
	Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@intel.com>,
	David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>,
	Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>,
	Thomas Zimmermann <tzimmermann@suse.de>,
	Maxime Ripard <maxime@cerno.tech>
Cc: "Christian König" <christian.koenig@amd.com>,
	"Andrzej Hajda" <a.hajda@samsung.com>,
	"Maxime Ripard" <mripard@kernel.org>,
	"Eric Anholt" <eric@anholt.net>, "Leo Li" <sunpeng.li@amd.com>,
	intel-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org,
	"Jani Nikula" <jani.nikula@linux.intel.com>,
	"Dave Stevenson" <dave.stevenson@raspberrypi.com>,
	"Phil Elwell" <phil@raspberrypi.com>,
	"Tim Gover" <tim.gover@raspberrypi.com>,
	"Dom Cobley" <dom@raspberrypi.com>,
	"Jonas Karlman" <jonas@kwiboo.se>,
	"Neil Armstrong" <narmstrong@baylibre.com>,
	"Joonas Lahtinen" <joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com>,
	"Rodrigo Vivi" <rodrigo.vivi@intel.com>,
	"Robert Foss" <robert.foss@linaro.org>,
	"Jernej Skrabec" <jernej.skrabec@siol.net>,
	amd-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org,
	"Harry Wentland" <harry.wentland@amd.com>,
	"Daniel Vetter" <daniel@ffwll.ch>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	"Alex Deucher" <alexander.deucher@amd.com>,
	"Laurent Pinchart" <Laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
Subject: [PATCH v2 5/5] drm/vc4: hdmi: Signal the proper colorimetry info in the infoframe
Date: Tue, 13 Apr 2021 14:11:04 +0200
Message-ID: <20210413121104.375789-5-maxime@cerno.tech> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210413121104.375789-1-maxime@cerno.tech>

Our driver while supporting HDR didn't send the proper colorimetry info
in the AVI infoframe.

Let's add the property needed so that the userspace can let us know what
the colorspace is supposed to be.

Signed-off-by: Maxime Ripard <maxime@cerno.tech>

---

Changes from v1:
  - New patch
---
 drivers/gpu/drm/vc4/vc4_hdmi.c | 10 ++++++++--
 1 file changed, 8 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/vc4/vc4_hdmi.c b/drivers/gpu/drm/vc4/vc4_hdmi.c
index a33fa1662588..a22e17788074 100644
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/vc4/vc4_hdmi.c
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/vc4/vc4_hdmi.c
@@ -226,7 +226,8 @@ static int vc4_hdmi_connector_atomic_check(struct drm_connector *connector,
 	if (!crtc)
 		return 0;
 
-	if (!drm_connector_atomic_hdr_metadata_equal(old_state, new_state)) {
+	if (old_state->colorspace != new_state->colorspace ||
+	    !drm_connector_atomic_hdr_metadata_equal(old_state, new_state)) {
 		struct drm_crtc_state *crtc_state;
 
 		crtc_state = drm_atomic_get_crtc_state(state, crtc);
@@ -316,6 +317,11 @@ static int vc4_hdmi_connector_init(struct drm_device *dev,
 	if (ret)
 		return ret;
 
+	ret = drm_mode_create_hdmi_colorspace_property(connector);
+	if (ret)
+		return ret;
+
+	drm_connector_attach_colorspace_property(connector);
 	drm_connector_attach_tv_margin_properties(connector);
 	drm_connector_attach_max_bpc_property(connector, 8, 12);
 
@@ -424,7 +430,7 @@ static void vc4_hdmi_set_avi_infoframe(struct drm_encoder *encoder)
 					   vc4_encoder->limited_rgb_range ?
 					   HDMI_QUANTIZATION_RANGE_LIMITED :
 					   HDMI_QUANTIZATION_RANGE_FULL);
-
+	drm_hdmi_avi_infoframe_colorspace(&frame.avi, cstate);
 	drm_hdmi_avi_infoframe_bars(&frame.avi, cstate);
 
 	vc4_hdmi_write_infoframe(encoder, &frame);
-- 
2.30.2


      parent reply index

Thread overview: 5+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-04-13 12:11 [PATCH v2 1/5] drm/connector: Create a helper to attach the hdr_output_metadata property Maxime Ripard
2021-04-13 12:11 ` [PATCH v2 2/5] drm/connector: Add helper to compare HDR metadata Maxime Ripard
2021-04-13 12:11 ` [PATCH v2 3/5] drm/vc4: Add HDR metadata property to the VC5 HDMI connectors Maxime Ripard
2021-04-13 12:11 ` [PATCH v2 4/5] drm/connector: Add a helper to attach the colorspace property Maxime Ripard
2021-04-13 12:11 ` Maxime Ripard [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210413121104.375789-5-maxime@cerno.tech \
    --to=maxime@cerno.tech \
    --cc=Laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com \
    --cc=a.hajda@samsung.com \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=alexander.deucher@amd.com \
    --cc=amd-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=christian.koenig@amd.com \
    --cc=daniel.vetter@intel.com \
    --cc=daniel@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=dave.stevenson@raspberrypi.com \
    --cc=dom@raspberrypi.com \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=eric@anholt.net \
    --cc=harry.wentland@amd.com \
    --cc=intel-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=jani.nikula@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=jernej.skrabec@siol.net \
    --cc=jonas@kwiboo.se \
    --cc=joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=mripard@kernel.org \
    --cc=narmstrong@baylibre.com \
    --cc=phil@raspberrypi.com \
    --cc=robert.foss@linaro.org \
    --cc=rodrigo.vivi@intel.com \
    --cc=sunpeng.li@amd.com \
    --cc=tim.gover@raspberrypi.com \
    --cc=tzimmermann@suse.de \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/0 lkml/git/0.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/1 lkml/git/1.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/2 lkml/git/2.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/3 lkml/git/3.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/4 lkml/git/4.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/5 lkml/git/5.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/6 lkml/git/6.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/7 lkml/git/7.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/8 lkml/git/8.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/9 lkml/git/9.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/10 lkml/git/10.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 lkml lkml/ https://lore.kernel.org/lkml \
		linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index lkml

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-kernel


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git