linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: James Clark <james.clark@arm.com>
To: acme@kernel.org, mathieu.poirier@linaro.org,
	coresight@lists.linaro.org, linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org
Cc: leo.yan@linaro.org, suzuki.poulose@arm.com,
	mike.leach@linaro.org, James Clark <james.clark@arm.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>,
	Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>, Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>,
	John Garry <john.garry@huawei.com>, Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
Subject: [RFC PATCH 4/6] perf tools: Add flag for tracking warnings of missing DSOs
Date: Thu, 29 Jul 2021 16:58:03 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210729155805.2830-5-james.clark@arm.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210729155805.2830-1-james.clark@arm.com>

Auxtrace support may need DSOs for decoding (for example Arm
Coresight). If one of these is missing it would make sense to
warn once for each one that's missing, but not flood the output
with every address as there could be thousands of lookups.

This flag will allow tracking whether a warning was shown for
each DSO.

Signed-off-by: James Clark <james.clark@arm.com>
---
 tools/perf/util/dso.h | 1 +
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+)

diff --git a/tools/perf/util/dso.h b/tools/perf/util/dso.h
index 52e7101c5609..83723ba11dc8 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/dso.h
+++ b/tools/perf/util/dso.h
@@ -170,6 +170,7 @@ struct dso {
 	u8		 has_srcline:1;
 	u8		 hit:1;
 	u8		 annotate_warned:1;
+	u8		 auxtrace_warned:1;
 	u8		 short_name_allocated:1;
 	u8		 long_name_allocated:1;
 	u8		 is_64_bit:1;
-- 
2.28.0


  parent reply	other threads:[~2021-07-29 16:00 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 18+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-07-29 15:57 [RFC PATCH 0/6] perf tools: Warning fixes James Clark
2021-07-29 15:58 ` [RFC PATCH 1/6] perf tools: Add WARN_ONCE equivalent for UI warnings James Clark
2021-08-02 14:44   ` Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2021-07-29 15:58 ` [RFC PATCH 2/6] perf tools: Re-add annotate_warned functionality James Clark
2021-07-29 15:58 ` [RFC PATCH 3/6] perf tools: Add disassembly warnings for annotate --stdio James Clark
2021-07-29 15:58 ` James Clark [this message]
2021-07-29 15:58 ` [RFC PATCH 5/6] perf cs-etm: Improve Coresight zero timestamp warning James Clark
2021-08-02 15:17   ` Leo Yan
2021-08-03 13:25     ` Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2021-07-29 15:58 ` [RFC PATCH 6/6] perf cs-etm: Add warnings for missing DSOs James Clark
2021-08-02 14:51   ` Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2021-08-02 17:03     ` Mathieu Poirier
2021-08-03  8:06       ` Mike Leach
2021-08-02 15:41   ` Leo Yan
2021-08-03 13:24     ` Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2021-08-03 14:01       ` Leo Yan
2021-08-05 12:59         ` James Clark
2021-08-06 18:36           ` Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210729155805.2830-5-james.clark@arm.com \
    --to=james.clark@arm.com \
    --cc=acme@kernel.org \
    --cc=alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=coresight@lists.linaro.org \
    --cc=john.garry@huawei.com \
    --cc=jolsa@redhat.com \
    --cc=leo.yan@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mathieu.poirier@linaro.org \
    --cc=mike.leach@linaro.org \
    --cc=namhyung@kernel.org \
    --cc=suzuki.poulose@arm.com \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [RFC PATCH 4/6] perf tools: Add flag for tracking warnings of missing DSOs' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
on how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox