linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Oliver Upton <oupton@google.com>
To: kvmarm@lists.cs.columbia.edu
Cc: kvm@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>,
	Marc Zyngier <maz@kernel.org>, James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>,
	Alexandru Elisei <alexandru.elisei@arm.com>,
	Suzuki K Poulose <suzuki.poulose@arm.com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	Peter Shier <pshier@google.com>,
	Shakeel Butt <shakeelb@google.com>,
	Guangyu Shi <guangyus@google.com>,
	Oliver Upton <oupton@google.com>
Subject: [PATCH 2/3] entry: KVM: Allow use of generic KVM entry w/o full generic support
Date: Thu, 29 Jul 2021 19:56:31 +0000	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210729195632.489978-3-oupton@google.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210729195632.489978-1-oupton@google.com>

Some architectures (e.g. arm64) have yet to adopt the generic entry
infrastructure. Despite that, it would be nice to use some common
plumbing for guest entry/exit handling. For example, KVM/arm64 currently
does not handle TIF_NOTIFY_PENDING correctly.

Allow use of only the generic KVM entry code by tightening up the
include list. No functional change intended.

Signed-off-by: Oliver Upton <oupton@google.com>
---
 include/linux/entry-kvm.h | 6 +++++-
 1 file changed, 5 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/include/linux/entry-kvm.h b/include/linux/entry-kvm.h
index 136b8d97d8c0..0d7865a0731c 100644
--- a/include/linux/entry-kvm.h
+++ b/include/linux/entry-kvm.h
@@ -2,7 +2,11 @@
 #ifndef __LINUX_ENTRYKVM_H
 #define __LINUX_ENTRYKVM_H
 
-#include <linux/entry-common.h>
+#include <linux/static_call_types.h>
+#include <linux/tracehook.h>
+#include <linux/syscalls.h>
+#include <linux/seccomp.h>
+#include <linux/sched.h>
 #include <linux/tick.h>
 
 /* Transfer to guest mode work */
-- 
2.32.0.554.ge1b32706d8-goog


  parent reply	other threads:[~2021-07-29 19:56 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 6+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-07-29 19:56 [PATCH 0/3] KVM: arm64: Use generic guest entry infrastructure Oliver Upton
2021-07-29 19:56 ` [PATCH 1/3] KVM: arm64: Record number of signal exits as a vCPU stat Oliver Upton
2021-07-29 20:07   ` Jing Zhang
2021-07-29 20:23     ` Oliver Upton
2021-07-29 19:56 ` Oliver Upton [this message]
2021-07-29 19:56 ` [PATCH 3/3] KVM: arm64: Use generic KVM xfer to guest work function Oliver Upton

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210729195632.489978-3-oupton@google.com \
    --to=oupton@google.com \
    --cc=alexandru.elisei@arm.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=guangyus@google.com \
    --cc=james.morse@arm.com \
    --cc=kvm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=kvmarm@lists.cs.columbia.edu \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=maz@kernel.org \
    --cc=pbonzini@redhat.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=pshier@google.com \
    --cc=shakeelb@google.com \
    --cc=suzuki.poulose@arm.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 2/3] entry: KVM: Allow use of generic KVM entry w/o full generic support' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).