linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Yu-cheng Yu <yu-cheng.yu@intel.com>
To: x86@kernel.org, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-doc@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-mm@kvack.org, linux-arch@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-api@vger.kernel.org, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>,
	Balbir Singh <bsingharora@gmail.com>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>,
	Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@gmail.com>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>,
	Eugene Syromiatnikov <esyr@redhat.com>,
	Florian Weimer <fweimer@redhat.com>,
	"H.J. Lu" <hjl.tools@gmail.com>, Jann Horn <jannh@google.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>,
	Nadav Amit <nadav.amit@gmail.com>,
	Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>, Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>,
	"Ravi V. Shankar" <ravi.v.shankar@intel.com>,
	Dave Martin <Dave.Martin@arm.com>,
	Weijiang Yang <weijiang.yang@intel.com>,
	Pengfei Xu <pengfei.xu@intel.com>,
	Haitao Huang <haitao.huang@intel.com>,
	Rick P Edgecombe <rick.p.edgecombe@intel.com>
Cc: Yu-cheng Yu <yu-cheng.yu@intel.com>
Subject: [PATCH v30 00/10] Control-flow Enforcement: Indirect Branch Tracking
Date: Mon, 30 Aug 2021 11:22:11 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210830182221.3535-1-yu-cheng.yu@intel.com> (raw)

Control-flow Enforcement (CET) is a new Intel processor feature that blocks
return/jump-oriented programming attacks.  Details are in "Intel 64 and
IA-32 Architectures Software Developer's Manual" [1].

This is the second part of CET and enables Indirect Branch Tracking (IBT).
It is built on top of the shadow stack series.

Changes in v30:
- Rebase to Linus tree v5.14.

Changes in v29:
- Rebase to Linus tree v5.14-rc6.

Changes in v28:
- Patch #10: Update change log and comments.
- Rebase to Linus tree v5.14-rc2.

Changes in v27:
- Use a ucontext flag to save/restore IBT status.
- Disable IBT support for IA32.
- Rebase to Linus tree v5.13-rc2.

[1] Intel 64 and IA-32 Architectures Software Developer's Manual:

    https://software.intel.com/en-us/download/intel-64-and-ia-32-
    architectures-sdm-combined-volumes-1-2a-2b-2c-2d-3a-3b-3c-3d-and-4

H.J. Lu (3):
  x86/cet/ibt: Update arch_prctl functions for Indirect Branch Tracking
  x86/vdso: Insert endbr32/endbr64 to vDSO
  x86/vdso/32: Add ENDBR to __kernel_vsyscall entry point

Yu-cheng Yu (7):
  x86/cet/ibt: Add Kconfig option for Indirect Branch Tracking
  x86/cet/ibt: Add user-mode Indirect Branch Tracking support
  x86/cet/ibt: Handle signals for Indirect Branch Tracking
  x86/cet/ibt: Disable IBT for ia32
  x86/cet/ibt: Update ELF header parsing for Indirect Branch Tracking
  x86/vdso: Introduce ENDBR macro
  x86/vdso: Add ENDBR to __vdso_sgx_enter_enclave

 arch/x86/Kconfig                         | 19 +++++
 arch/x86/entry/vdso/Makefile             |  4 +
 arch/x86/entry/vdso/vdso32/system_call.S |  2 +
 arch/x86/entry/vdso/vsgx.S               |  4 +
 arch/x86/ia32/ia32_signal.c              | 22 +++++-
 arch/x86/include/asm/cet.h               | 13 ++++
 arch/x86/include/asm/disabled-features.h |  8 +-
 arch/x86/include/asm/elf.h               | 13 +++-
 arch/x86/include/asm/vdso.h              | 20 ++++-
 arch/x86/include/uapi/asm/ucontext.h     |  5 ++
 arch/x86/kernel/Makefile                 |  1 +
 arch/x86/kernel/cet_prctl.c              |  5 ++
 arch/x86/kernel/ibt.c                    | 99 ++++++++++++++++++++++++
 arch/x86/kernel/process_64.c             |  6 ++
 arch/x86/kernel/signal.c                 |  6 ++
 15 files changed, 221 insertions(+), 6 deletions(-)
 create mode 100644 arch/x86/kernel/ibt.c

-- 
2.21.0


             reply	other threads:[~2021-08-30 18:23 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 11+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-30 18:22 Yu-cheng Yu [this message]
2021-08-30 18:22 ` [PATCH v30 01/10] x86/cet/ibt: Add Kconfig option for Indirect Branch Tracking Yu-cheng Yu
2021-08-30 18:22 ` [PATCH v30 02/10] x86/cet/ibt: Add user-mode Indirect Branch Tracking support Yu-cheng Yu
2021-08-30 18:22 ` [PATCH v30 03/10] x86/cet/ibt: Handle signals for Indirect Branch Tracking Yu-cheng Yu
2021-08-30 18:22 ` [PATCH v30 04/10] x86/cet/ibt: Disable IBT for ia32 Yu-cheng Yu
2021-08-30 18:22 ` [PATCH v30 05/10] x86/cet/ibt: Update ELF header parsing for Indirect Branch Tracking Yu-cheng Yu
2021-08-30 18:22 ` [PATCH v30 06/10] x86/cet/ibt: Update arch_prctl functions " Yu-cheng Yu
2021-08-30 18:22 ` [PATCH v30 07/10] x86/vdso: Insert endbr32/endbr64 to vDSO Yu-cheng Yu
2021-08-30 18:22 ` [PATCH v30 08/10] x86/vdso: Introduce ENDBR macro Yu-cheng Yu
2021-08-30 18:22 ` [PATCH v30 09/10] x86/vdso/32: Add ENDBR to __kernel_vsyscall entry point Yu-cheng Yu
2021-08-30 18:22 ` [PATCH v30 10/10] x86/vdso: Add ENDBR to __vdso_sgx_enter_enclave Yu-cheng Yu

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210830182221.3535-1-yu-cheng.yu@intel.com \
    --to=yu-cheng.yu@intel.com \
    --cc=Dave.Martin@arm.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=bsingharora@gmail.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=dave.hansen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=esyr@redhat.com \
    --cc=fweimer@redhat.com \
    --cc=gorcunov@gmail.com \
    --cc=haitao.huang@intel.com \
    --cc=hjl.tools@gmail.com \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=jannh@google.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=linux-api@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arch@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=mike.kravetz@oracle.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=nadav.amit@gmail.com \
    --cc=oleg@redhat.com \
    --cc=pavel@ucw.cz \
    --cc=pengfei.xu@intel.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=ravi.v.shankar@intel.com \
    --cc=rdunlap@infradead.org \
    --cc=rick.p.edgecombe@intel.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=weijiang.yang@intel.com \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).