linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Maxime Ripard <maxime@cerno.tech>
To: Mike Turquette <mturquette@baylibre.com>,
	Stephen Boyd <sboyd@kernel.org>,
	dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org,
	Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@intel.com>,
	David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>,
	Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>,
	Thomas Zimmermann <tzimmermann@suse.de>,
	Maxime Ripard <maxime@cerno.tech>
Cc: Maxime Ripard <mripard@kernel.org>,
	linux-clk@vger.kernel.org,
	Dave Stevenson <dave.stevenson@raspberrypi.com>,
	Phil Elwell <phil@raspberrypi.com>,
	Tim Gover <tim.gover@raspberrypi.com>,
	Dom Cobley <dom@raspberrypi.com>, Emma Anholt <emma@anholt.net>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
Subject: [PATCH v2 0/3] clk: Implement a clock request API
Date: Tue, 14 Sep 2021 11:35:12 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210914093515.260031-1-maxime@cerno.tech> (raw)

Hi,\r
\r
This is a follow-up of the discussion here:\r
https://lore.kernel.org/linux-clk/20210319150355.xzw7ikwdaga2dwhv@gilmour/\r
\r
This implements a mechanism to raise and lower clock rates based on consumer\r
workloads, with an example of such an implementation for the RaspberryPi4 HDMI\r
controller.\r
\r
There's a couple of things worth discussing:\r
\r
  - The name is in conflict with clk_request_rate, and even though it feels\r
    like the right name to me, we should probably avoid any confusion\r
\r
  - The code so far implements a policy of always going for the lowest rate\r
    possible. While we don't have an use-case for something else, this should\r
    maybe be made more flexible?\r
\r
Let me know what you think\r
Maxime\r
\r
Changes from v1:\r
  - Return NULL in clk_request_start if clk pointer is NULL\r
  - Test for clk_req pointer in clk_request_done\r
  - Add another user in vc4\r
  - Rebased on top of v5.15-rc1\r
\r
Dom Cobley (1):\r
  drm/vc4: hvs: Convert to the new clock request API\r
\r
Maxime Ripard (2):\r
  clk: Introduce a clock request API\r
  drm/vc4: hdmi: Convert to the new clock request API\r
\r
 drivers/clk/clk.c              | 126 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++\r
 drivers/gpu/drm/vc4/vc4_hdmi.c |  15 ++--\r
 drivers/gpu/drm/vc4/vc4_hdmi.h |   3 +\r
 drivers/gpu/drm/vc4/vc4_kms.c  |   5 +-\r
 include/linux/clk.h            |   4 ++\r
 5 files changed, 146 insertions(+), 7 deletions(-)\r
\r
-- \r
2.31.1\r
\r

             reply	other threads:[~2021-09-14  9:35 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 14+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-09-14  9:35 Maxime Ripard [this message]
2021-09-14  9:35 ` [PATCH v2 1/3] clk: Introduce " Maxime Ripard
2022-01-12  3:37   ` Stephen Boyd
2022-01-12 11:46     ` Maxime Ripard
2022-01-13 21:44       ` Stephen Boyd
2022-01-14 16:15         ` Maxime Ripard
2022-01-14 22:38           ` Stephen Boyd
2022-01-14 22:41           ` Stephen Boyd
2021-09-14  9:35 ` [PATCH v2 2/3] drm/vc4: hdmi: Convert to the new " Maxime Ripard
2021-09-14  9:35 ` [PATCH v2 3/3] drm/vc4: hvs: " Maxime Ripard
2021-12-15 14:08 ` [PATCH v2 0/3] clk: Implement a " Maxime Ripard
2022-01-12 13:28 ` Dmitry Osipenko
2022-01-12 13:51   ` Maxime Ripard
2022-01-12 14:13     ` Dmitry Osipenko

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210914093515.260031-1-maxime@cerno.tech \
    --to=maxime@cerno.tech \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=daniel.vetter@intel.com \
    --cc=dave.stevenson@raspberrypi.com \
    --cc=dom@raspberrypi.com \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=emma@anholt.net \
    --cc=linux-clk@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=mripard@kernel.org \
    --cc=mturquette@baylibre.com \
    --cc=phil@raspberrypi.com \
    --cc=sboyd@kernel.org \
    --cc=tim.gover@raspberrypi.com \
    --cc=tzimmermann@suse.de \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 0/3] clk: Implement a clock request API' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).