LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
To: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>,
	Ross Zwisler <ross.zwisler@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, "Anaczkowski,
	Lukasz" <lukasz.anaczkowski@intel.com>,
	"Box, David E" <david.e.box@intel.com>,
	"Kogut, Jaroslaw" <Jaroslaw.Kogut@intel.com>,
	"Koss, Marcin" <marcin.koss@intel.com>,
	"Koziej, Artur" <artur.koziej@intel.com>,
	"Lahtinen, Joonas" <joonas.lahtinen@intel.com>,
	"Moore, Robert" <robert.moore@intel.com>,
	"Nachimuthu, Murugasamy" <murugasamy.nachimuthu@intel.com>,
	"Odzioba, Lukasz" <lukasz.odzioba@intel.com>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>,
	"Schmauss, Erik" <erik.schmauss@intel.com>,
	"Verma, Vishal L" <vishal.l.verma@intel.com>,
	"Zheng, Lv" <lv.zheng@intel.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Balbir Singh <bsingharora@gmail.com>,
	Brice Goglin <brice.goglin@gmail.com>,
	Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>,
	Jerome Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>,
	John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>, Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org>,
	Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com>,
	devel@acpica.org, linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org, linux-mm@kvack.org,
	linux-nvdimm@lists.01.org, linux-api@vger.kernel.org,
	linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 0/3] create sysfs representation of ACPI HMAT
Date: Wed, 20 Dec 2017 12:22:21 -0800
Message-ID: <2da89d31-27a3-34ab-2dbb-92403c8215ec@intel.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20171220181937.GB12236@bombadil.infradead.org>

On 12/20/2017 10:19 AM, Matthew Wilcox wrote:
> I don't know what the right interface is, but my laptop has a set of
> /sys/devices/system/memory/memoryN/ directories.  Perhaps this is the
> right place to expose write_bw (etc).

Those directories are already too redundant and wasteful.  I think we'd
really rather not add to them.  In addition, it's technically possible
to have a memory section span NUMA nodes and have different performance
properties, which make it impossible to represent there.

In any case, ACPI PXM's (Proximity Domains) are guaranteed to have
uniform performance properties in the HMAT, and we just so happen to
always create one NUMA node per PXM.  So, NUMA nodes really are a good fit.

  reply index

Thread overview: 42+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2017-12-14  2:10 Ross Zwisler
2017-12-14  2:10 ` [PATCH v3 1/3] acpi: HMAT support in acpi_parse_entries_array() Ross Zwisler
2017-12-15  0:49   ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2017-12-15  1:10   ` Dan Williams
2017-12-16  1:53     ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2017-12-16  1:57       ` Dan Williams
2017-12-16  2:15         ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2017-12-14  2:10 ` [PATCH v3 2/3] hmat: add heterogeneous memory sysfs support Ross Zwisler
2017-12-15  0:52   ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2017-12-15 20:53     ` Ross Zwisler
2017-12-14  2:10 ` [PATCH v3 3/3] hmat: add performance attributes Ross Zwisler
2017-12-14 13:00 ` [PATCH v3 0/3] create sysfs representation of ACPI HMAT Michal Hocko
2017-12-18 20:35   ` Ross Zwisler
2017-12-20 16:41     ` Ross Zwisler
2017-12-21 13:18       ` Michal Hocko
2017-12-20 18:19     ` Matthew Wilcox
2017-12-20 20:22       ` Dave Hansen [this message]
2017-12-20 21:16         ` Matthew Wilcox
2017-12-20 21:24           ` Ross Zwisler
2017-12-20 22:29             ` Dan Williams
2017-12-20 22:41               ` Ross Zwisler
2017-12-21 20:31                 ` Brice Goglin
2017-12-22 22:53                   ` Dan Williams
2017-12-22 23:22                     ` Ross Zwisler
2017-12-22 23:57                       ` Dan Williams
2017-12-23  1:14                         ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2017-12-27  9:10                     ` Brice Goglin
2017-12-30  6:58                       ` Matthew Wilcox
2017-12-30  9:19                         ` Brice Goglin
2017-12-20 21:13       ` Ross Zwisler
2017-12-21  1:41         ` Elliott, Robert (Persistent Memory)
2017-12-22 21:46           ` Ross Zwisler
2017-12-21 12:50       ` Michael Ellerman
2017-12-22  3:09 ` Anshuman Khandual
2017-12-22 10:31   ` Kogut, Jaroslaw
2017-12-22 14:37     ` Anshuman Khandual
2017-12-22 17:13   ` Dave Hansen
2017-12-23  5:14     ` Anshuman Khandual
2017-12-22 22:13   ` Ross Zwisler
2017-12-23  6:56     ` Anshuman Khandual
2017-12-22 22:31   ` Ross Zwisler
2017-12-25  2:05     ` Liubo(OS Lab)

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=2da89d31-27a3-34ab-2dbb-92403c8215ec@intel.com \
    --to=dave.hansen@intel.com \
    --cc=Jaroslaw.Kogut@intel.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=artur.koziej@intel.com \
    --cc=brice.goglin@gmail.com \
    --cc=bsingharora@gmail.com \
    --cc=dan.j.williams@intel.com \
    --cc=david.e.box@intel.com \
    --cc=devel@acpica.org \
    --cc=erik.schmauss@intel.com \
    --cc=jglisse@redhat.com \
    --cc=jhubbard@nvidia.com \
    --cc=joonas.lahtinen@intel.com \
    --cc=lenb@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-api@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux-nvdimm@lists.01.org \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=lukasz.anaczkowski@intel.com \
    --cc=lukasz.odzioba@intel.com \
    --cc=lv.zheng@intel.com \
    --cc=marcin.koss@intel.com \
    --cc=mhocko@kernel.org \
    --cc=murugasamy.nachimuthu@intel.com \
    --cc=rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com \
    --cc=rjw@rjwysocki.net \
    --cc=robert.moore@intel.com \
    --cc=ross.zwisler@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=vishal.l.verma@intel.com \
    --cc=willy@infradead.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/0 lkml/git/0.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/1 lkml/git/1.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/2 lkml/git/2.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/3 lkml/git/3.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/4 lkml/git/4.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/5 lkml/git/5.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/6 lkml/git/6.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/7 lkml/git/7.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/8 lkml/git/8.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/9 lkml/git/9.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 lkml lkml/ https://lore.kernel.org/lkml \
		linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index lkml

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-kernel


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git