linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>
To: Dmitry Osipenko <digetx@gmail.com>,
	Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>,
	Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzysztof.kozlowski@canonical.com>
Cc: Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	Jonathan Hunter <jonathanh@nvidia.com>,
	Stephen Boyd <sboyd@kernel.org>, Tony Lindgren <tony@atomide.com>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>, Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com>,
	John Crispin <john@phrozen.org>,
	"open list:BROADCOM NVRAM DRIVER" <linux-mips@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	linux-m68k <linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-tegra <linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-clk <linux-clk@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:TI ETHERNET SWITCH DRIVER (CPSW)" 
	<linux-omap@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v1] kbuild: Disable compile testing if HAVE_LEGACY_CLK enabled
Date: Tue, 25 May 2021 17:39:55 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <3661fdba-ad32-5d16-7714-1ebc58caf435@infradead.org> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <2e5bb7c2-62d9-b1f7-7f35-2b379d3692d5@gmail.com>

On 5/25/21 2:29 PM, Dmitry Osipenko wrote:
> 25.05.2021 15:19, Geert Uytterhoeven пишет:
> ...
>>>> There 3 possible solutions:
>>>>
>>>> 1. Factor out COMMON_CLK from HAVE_LEGACY_CLK, if this is possible
>>>> 2. Build stubs universally, maybe using weak functions.
>>>
>>> I vote for this one - global stubs.
>>
>> Yep.
>>
>>> Or for a new one:
>>> 4. Disable COMPILE_TEST for specific platforms (mentioned in commit
>>> msg). Eventually could be like:
>>> config RALINK
>>>         depends !COMPILE_TEST || (COMPILE_TEST && COMMON_CLK)
>>
>> That's a neat idea!
>>
>> Of course there's a fifth option:
>>
>> 5. Convert legacy platforms to COMMON_CLK.
>>
>> Which is already happening for ARM EP93XX.
> 
> I'll try to take a closer look at alternative options, thank you for
> yours input.

Hi,

If you are messing around with HAVE_LEGACY_CLK and COMMON_CLK
and don't mind, please have a look at this report from
'kernel test robot':
  https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/202103162301.oomY9NwI-lkp@intel.com/


Maybe this one is more MIPS-specific. I dunno.
I tried to come up with a patch for it and failed.

I will be happy to built-test any patches that you come up with.

Maybe I have just looked at this too long...

thanks.
-- 
~Randy


  reply	other threads:[~2021-05-26  0:40 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 9+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-05-23 23:25 Dmitry Osipenko
2021-05-24  8:54 ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2021-05-24 12:39   ` Dmitry Osipenko
2021-05-25 12:03     ` Krzysztof Kozlowski
2021-05-25 12:19       ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2021-05-25 21:29         ` Dmitry Osipenko
2021-05-26  0:39           ` Randy Dunlap [this message]
2021-05-28  9:27             ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-05-28  9:24     ` Arnd Bergmann

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=3661fdba-ad32-5d16-7714-1ebc58caf435@infradead.org \
    --to=rdunlap@infradead.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=digetx@gmail.com \
    --cc=geert@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=john@phrozen.org \
    --cc=jonathanh@nvidia.com \
    --cc=krzysztof.kozlowski@canonical.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-clk@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=linux-mips@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-omap@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=paul.burton@mips.com \
    --cc=sboyd@kernel.org \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --cc=tony@atomide.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v1] kbuild: Disable compile testing if HAVE_LEGACY_CLK enabled' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).