linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Valentin Schneider <valentin.schneider@arm.com>
To: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>,
	linux-kernel <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Julien Thierry <julien.thierry@arm.com>
Subject: Re: preempt_schedule_irq() loop question
Date: Wed, 16 Jan 2019 15:23:28 +0000	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <4d97b838-6e49-4bba-1c9e-6bf51db3e3a2@arm.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <alpine.DEB.2.21.1901161550460.1749@nanos.tec.linutronix.de>

On 16/01/2019 14:57, Thomas Gleixner wrote:
[...]
> 
> I just went back in the history tree and had to figure out that it's my
> fault :)
> 
> preempt_schedule_irq() was introduced to plug a stupid race, but I did not
> notice (and obviously nobody else) that this made the extra loop in the
> entry code pointless. So it's just histerical raisins without any value.
> 

I see, thanks for clearing that up! Credit goes to Julien & Will for
unearthing the oddity.

> Thanks,
> 
> 	tglx
> 

      reply	other threads:[~2019-01-16 15:23 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 4+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-01-16 12:50 Valentin Schneider
2019-01-16 13:45 ` Peter Zijlstra
2019-01-16 14:57   ` Thomas Gleixner
2019-01-16 15:23     ` Valentin Schneider [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=4d97b838-6e49-4bba-1c9e-6bf51db3e3a2@arm.com \
    --to=valentin.schneider@arm.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=julien.thierry@arm.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mingo@kernel.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --subject='Re: preempt_schedule_irq() loop question' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
on how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox