linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Michal Simek <michal.simek@xilinx.com>
To: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>, Michal Simek <michal.simek@xilinx.com>
Cc: "linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>, git <git@xilinx.com>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	"Aneesh Kumar K.V" <aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com>,
	Arvind Sankar <nivedita@alum.mit.edu>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>, Cornelia Huck <cohuck@redhat.com>,
	Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Greg Ungerer <gerg@linux-m68k.org>,
	Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>,
	Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>,
	Mubin Sayyed <mubinusm@xilinx.com>,
	Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>,
	Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>,
	Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@dabbelt.com>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>,
	Shubhrajyoti Datta <shubhrajyoti.datta@xilinx.com>,
	Siva Durga Prasad Paladugu <siva.durga.paladugu@xilinx.com>,
	Stefan Asserhall <stefan.asserhall@xilinx.com>,
	Vladimir Murzin <vladimir.murzin@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	"open list:GENERIC INCLUDE/ASM HEADER FILES" 
	<linux-arch@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-mm@kvack.org, Bharat Kumar Gogada <bharatku@xilinx.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 00/10] Hi,
Date: Thu, 27 Feb 2020 08:31:28 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <5dfa98df-8955-59fd-1d65-c0a988190acb@xilinx.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAL_JsqLf2e3z+m14264WFcsQgiwKR35Rs9Rw0c_MgoFvKwO2Xg@mail.gmail.com>

On 25. 02. 20 17:32, Rob Herring wrote:
> On Mon, Feb 17, 2020 at 8:28 AM Michal Simek <michal.simek@xilinx.com> wrote:
>>
>> Hi Rob,
>>
>> On 14. 02. 20 0:47, Rob Herring wrote:
>>> On Wed, Feb 12, 2020 at 2:58 AM Michal Simek <michal.simek@xilinx.com> wrote:
>>>>
>>>>
>>>> I am sending this series as before SMP support.
>>>> Most of these patches are clean ups and should be easy to review them. I
>>>> expect there will be more discussions about SMP support.
>>>
>>> While not really related to adding SMP, any chance you or someone
>>> could look at moving microblaze PCI support to drivers/pci/? I suspect
>>> much of the code should drop out as we have common helpers for much of
>>> it now. That would leave only powerpc and mips for DT+PCI platforms.
>>
>> can you please suggest changes which could be done?
>> I have CC Bharat and he could look at it.
> 
> Look at the host controller drivers in drivers/pci/controller/.
> pci-host-{generic,common}.c is a good template to start with as that's
> a controller with standard config space accesses and no h/w setup
> needed. Essentially you need to call devm_pci_alloc_host_bridge(),
> pci_parse_request_of_pci_ranges() and pci_host_probe() with whatever
> h/w setup you need in between those calls.
> 
> Looking at the microblaze PCI code, looks like you may need custom
> config space accessors which is quite common. Probably all the
> resource and device scanning can be removed. If you look at arm64, all
> the arch PCI code is just for ACPI.

Thanks Rob.

Bharat: Can you please take a look?

Thanks,
Michal


  reply	other threads:[~2020-02-27  7:31 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 21+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-02-12  8:57 Michal Simek
2020-02-12  8:57 ` [PATCH 01/10] microblaze: Convert headers to SPDX license Michal Simek
2020-02-12  8:57 ` [PATCH 02/10] microblaze: Remove architecture tlb.h and use generic one Michal Simek
2020-02-12  8:58 ` [PATCH 03/10] microblaze: Remove early printk setup Michal Simek
2020-02-12  8:58 ` [PATCH 04/10] microblaze: Remove empty headers Michal Simek
2020-02-12  8:58 ` [PATCH 05/10] microblaze: Define microblaze barrier Michal Simek
2020-02-12  8:58 ` [PATCH 06/10] microblaze: Add sync to tlb operations Michal Simek
2020-02-12 13:00   ` Arnd Bergmann
2020-02-12 13:01     ` Michal Simek
2020-02-12  8:58 ` [PATCH 07/10] microblaze: Add missing irqflags.h header Michal Simek
2020-02-12  8:58 ` [PATCH 08/10] microblaze: Remove unused boot_cpuid variable Michal Simek
2020-02-12  8:58 ` [PATCH 09/10] microblaze: Define percpu sestion in linker file Michal Simek
2020-02-12  8:58 ` [PATCH 10/10] microblaze: Use asm generic cmpxchg.h for !SMP case Michal Simek
2020-02-12 13:02 ` [PATCH 00/10] Hi, Arnd Bergmann
2020-02-12 13:32   ` Michal Simek
2020-02-13 23:47 ` Rob Herring
2020-02-17 14:27   ` Michal Simek
2020-02-25 16:32     ` Rob Herring
2020-02-27  7:31       ` Michal Simek [this message]
     [not found]         ` <BYAPR02MB5559708A5A584D05516D77EBA58A0@BYAPR02MB5559.namprd02.prod.outlook.com>
2020-06-01 14:05           ` Rob Herring
2020-02-25 11:34 ` Michal Simek

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=5dfa98df-8955-59fd-1d65-c0a988190acb@xilinx.com \
    --to=michal.simek@xilinx.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=bharatku@xilinx.com \
    --cc=bp@suse.de \
    --cc=cohuck@redhat.com \
    --cc=geert@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=gerg@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=git@xilinx.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=linux-arch@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=monstr@monstr.eu \
    --cc=mubinusm@xilinx.com \
    --cc=nivedita@alum.mit.edu \
    --cc=npiggin@gmail.com \
    --cc=oleg@redhat.com \
    --cc=palmer@dabbelt.com \
    --cc=pbonzini@redhat.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=rdunlap@infradead.org \
    --cc=robh@kernel.org \
    --cc=rppt@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=shubhrajyoti.datta@xilinx.com \
    --cc=siva.durga.paladugu@xilinx.com \
    --cc=stefan.asserhall@xilinx.com \
    --cc=vladimir.murzin@arm.com \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --cc=yamada.masahiro@socionext.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 00/10] Hi,' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).