linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Lukasz Luba <lukasz.luba@arm.com>
To: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@kernel.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Chris Redpath <Chris.Redpath@arm.com>,
	Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com>,
	Morten Rasmussen <morten.rasmussen@arm.com>,
	Quentin Perret <qperret@google.com>,
	Linux PM <linux-pm@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>,
	Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>,
	Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@redhat.com>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	segall@google.com, Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>,
	Daniel Bristot de Oliveira <bristot@redhat.com>,
	CCj.Yeh@mediatek.com
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/3] sched/fair: Prepare variables for increased precision of EAS estimated energy
Date: Fri, 2 Jul 2021 20:07:22 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <6ce4d4c8-889b-f2cf-f282-213b9a7651ab@arm.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <ffc63114-c1c2-f866-8b2a-15e9fd0a7818@arm.com>

Hi Peter,

Gentle ping.
You might missed my previous email.

On 6/30/21 6:28 PM, Lukasz Luba wrote:
> 
> 
> On 6/30/21 6:01 PM, Rafael J. Wysocki wrote:
>> On Fri, Jun 25, 2021 at 5:26 PM Lukasz Luba <lukasz.luba@arm.com> wrote:
>>>
>>> The Energy Aware Scheduler (EAS) tries to find best CPU for a waking up
>>> task. It probes many possibilities and compares the estimated energy 
>>> values
>>> for different scenarios. For calculating those energy values it 
>>> relies on
>>> Energy Model (EM) data and em_cpu_energy(). The precision which is 
>>> used in
>>> EM data is in milli-Watts (or abstract scale), which sometimes is not
>>> sufficient. In some cases it might happen that two CPUs from different
>>> Performance Domains (PDs) get the same calculated value for a given task
>>> placement, but in more precised scale, they might differ. This rounding
>>> error has to be addressed. This patch prepares EAS code for better
>>> precision in the coming EM improvements.
>>>
>>> Signed-off-by: Lukasz Luba <lukasz.luba@arm.com>
>>
>> If you want me to pick up this series, this patch requires an ACK from
>> the scheduler maintainers.
>>
> 
> It would be great, if you could take it after e.g. Peter ACK it.
> 
> Peter could you have a look at it, please?
> In this patch 1/3 we have only variables upgrade.
> 
> Regards,
> Lukasz

Could you have a look and ACK the patch 1/3, please?

  reply	other threads:[~2021-07-02 19:07 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 33+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-06-25 15:26 [PATCH 0/3] Improve EAS energy estimation and increase precision Lukasz Luba
2021-06-25 15:26 ` [PATCH 1/3] sched/fair: Prepare variables for increased precision of EAS estimated energy Lukasz Luba
2021-06-30 17:01   ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2021-06-30 17:28     ` Lukasz Luba
2021-07-02 19:07       ` Lukasz Luba [this message]
2021-07-07  7:07   ` Vincent Guittot
2021-07-07  7:49     ` Lukasz Luba
2021-07-07  8:00       ` Vincent Guittot
2021-07-07  8:23         ` Lukasz Luba
2021-07-07  9:37           ` Vincent Guittot
2021-07-07  9:48             ` Lukasz Luba
2021-07-07  9:56               ` Vincent Guittot
2021-07-07 10:06                 ` Lukasz Luba
2021-07-07 10:11                   ` Vincent Guittot
2021-07-07 10:29                     ` Lukasz Luba
2021-07-07 10:32                       ` Vincent Guittot
2021-07-07 10:41                         ` Lukasz Luba
2021-07-07 10:50                           ` Vincent Guittot
2021-07-07 11:02                             ` Lukasz Luba
2021-07-07 13:53                               ` Vincent Guittot
2021-07-07 14:25                                 ` Lukasz Luba
2021-07-07  9:45           ` Dietmar Eggemann
2021-07-07  9:54             ` Lukasz Luba
2021-06-25 15:26 ` [PATCH 2/3] PM: EM: Make em_cpu_energy() able to return bigger values Lukasz Luba
2021-07-05 12:44   ` Dietmar Eggemann
2021-07-06 19:44     ` Lukasz Luba
2021-07-07  7:07   ` Peter Zijlstra
2021-07-07  8:09     ` Lukasz Luba
2021-07-07 10:01       ` Peter Zijlstra
2021-07-07 10:23         ` Lukasz Luba
2021-06-25 15:26 ` [PATCH 3/3] PM: EM: Increase energy calculation precision Lukasz Luba
2021-07-05 12:45   ` Dietmar Eggemann
2021-07-06 19:51     ` Lukasz Luba

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=6ce4d4c8-889b-f2cf-f282-213b9a7651ab@arm.com \
    --to=lukasz.luba@arm.com \
    --cc=CCj.Yeh@mediatek.com \
    --cc=Chris.Redpath@arm.com \
    --cc=bristot@redhat.com \
    --cc=dietmar.eggemann@arm.com \
    --cc=juri.lelli@redhat.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mgorman@suse.de \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=morten.rasmussen@arm.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=qperret@google.com \
    --cc=rafael@kernel.org \
    --cc=rjw@rjwysocki.net \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=segall@google.com \
    --cc=vincent.guittot@linaro.org \
    --cc=viresh.kumar@linaro.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 1/3] sched/fair: Prepare variables for increased precision of EAS estimated energy' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).