linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Jonathan Toppins <jtoppins@redhat.com>
To: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
Cc: msalter@redhat.com, Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>,
	Stefano Stabellini <sstabellini@kernel.org>,
	Hanjun Guo <hanjun.guo@linaro.org>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Shannon Zhao <shannon.zhao@linaro.org>,
	Aleksey Makarov <aleksey.makarov@linaro.org>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: [RFC] arm64/acpi: make ACPI boot preference configurable
Date: Wed, 21 Dec 2016 12:54:05 -0500	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <7eba0601099f75f19021c4259eca75ada06f4511.1482341997.git.jtoppins@redhat.com> (raw)

This patch allows a user to configure ACPI to be preferred over
device-tree.

Currently for ACPI to be used a user either has to set acpi=on on the
kernel command line or make sure any device tree passed to the kernel
is empty. If the dtb passed to the kernel is non-empty then device-tree
will be chosen as the boot method of choice even if it is not correct.
To prevent this situation where a system is only intended to be booted
via ACPI a user can set this kernel configuration so it ignores
device-tree settings unless ACPI table checks fail.

Signed-off-by: Jonathan Toppins <jtoppins@redhat.com>
---
 arch/arm64/Kconfig       | 13 +++++++++++++
 arch/arm64/kernel/acpi.c |  2 +-
 2 files changed, 14 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/arch/arm64/Kconfig b/arch/arm64/Kconfig
index 111742126897..e432e84245b9 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/arm64/Kconfig
@@ -954,6 +954,19 @@ config ARM64_ACPI_PARKING_PROTOCOL
 	  protocol even if the corresponding data is present in the ACPI
 	  MADT table.
 
+config ARM64_PREFER_ACPI
+	bool "Prefer usage of ACPI boot tables over device-tree"
+	depends on ACPI
+	help
+	  Normally device-tree is preferred over ACPI on arm64 unless
+	  explicitly preferred via kernel command line, something like: acpi=on
+	  This configuration changes this default behaviour by pretending
+	  the user set acpi=on on the command line. This configuration still
+	  allows the user to turn acpi table parsing off via acpi=off. If
+	  for some reason the table checks fail the system will still fall
+	  back to using device-tree unless the user explicitly sets acpi=force
+	  on the command line.
+
 config CMDLINE
 	string "Default kernel command string"
 	default ""
diff --git a/arch/arm64/kernel/acpi.c b/arch/arm64/kernel/acpi.c
index 252a6d9c1da5..b5dfa5752ff7 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/kernel/acpi.c
+++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/acpi.c
@@ -43,7 +43,7 @@ int acpi_pci_disabled = 1;	/* skip ACPI PCI scan and IRQ initialization */
 EXPORT_SYMBOL(acpi_pci_disabled);
 
 static bool param_acpi_off __initdata;
-static bool param_acpi_on __initdata;
+static bool param_acpi_on __initdata = IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_ARM64_PREFER_ACPI);
 static bool param_acpi_force __initdata;
 
 static int __init parse_acpi(char *arg)
-- 
2.10.2

             reply	other threads:[~2016-12-21 17:54 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 3+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2016-12-21 17:54 Jonathan Toppins [this message]
2016-12-22 23:06 ` Mark Rutland
2016-12-24 12:18 ` Ard Biesheuvel

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=7eba0601099f75f19021c4259eca75ada06f4511.1482341997.git.jtoppins@redhat.com \
    --to=jtoppins@redhat.com \
    --cc=aleksey.makarov@linaro.org \
    --cc=ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=hanjun.guo@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=msalter@redhat.com \
    --cc=shannon.zhao@linaro.org \
    --cc=sstabellini@kernel.org \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --subject='Re: [RFC] arm64/acpi: make ACPI boot preference configurable' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).