linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Alexander Popov <alex.popov@linux.com>
To: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Tycho Andersen <tycho@tycho.ws>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Laura Abbott <labbott@redhat.com>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>,
	Herbert Xu <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au>,
	linux-crypto <linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [GIT PULL] gcc-plugin updates for v4.19-rc1
Date: Thu, 16 Aug 2018 00:18:56 +0300	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <90a49b4e-7b17-0262-e358-27343549d990@linux.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAGXu5j+Yv9Bu4mJPOfkpxrom91kSKaUESHR-Tn1CAJCTTZy_8w@mail.gmail.com>

On 15.08.2018 23:56, Kees Cook wrote:
> On Wed, Aug 15, 2018 at 1:18 PM, Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> wrote:
>> I absolutely refuse to take any hardening patches at all that have
>> BUG() or panic() or similar machine-killing in it.
> 
> Okay, mental model adjusted. :) It was only "strong discouraged" until now.

I've just got the insight, how to avoid having BUG_ON() in stackleak_erase().
If 'task_struct.lowest_stack' is corrupted, we can erase once starting from the
stack bottom and reset the 'lowest_stack' value.

>> I care not one whit about the reason for them. In fact, if the reason
>> is stated as "it makes debugging easiler", then I fart in your general
>> direction and call your mother a hamster.

That is plain harassment. I ask to *stop* it!

--
Alexander

  reply	other threads:[~2018-08-15 21:19 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 12+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-08-13 21:43 Kees Cook
2018-08-15 16:41 ` Linus Torvalds
2018-08-15 18:35   ` Kees Cook
2018-08-15 19:04     ` Linus Torvalds
2018-08-15 19:43       ` Alexander Popov
2018-08-15 19:45       ` Kees Cook
2018-08-15 20:18         ` Linus Torvalds
2018-08-15 20:56           ` Kees Cook
2018-08-15 21:18             ` Alexander Popov [this message]
2018-08-15 21:33               ` Linus Torvalds
2018-08-16 22:18             ` Alexander Popov
2018-08-16  9:51           ` David Laight

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=90a49b4e-7b17-0262-e358-27343549d990@linux.com \
    --to=alex.popov@linux.com \
    --cc=dave.hansen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=herbert@gondor.apana.org.au \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=labbott@redhat.com \
    --cc=linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mingo@kernel.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=tycho@tycho.ws \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --cc=yamada.masahiro@socionext.com \
    --subject='Re: [GIT PULL] gcc-plugin updates for v4.19-rc1' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).