linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
To: Davidlohr Bueso <davidlohr@hp.com>
Cc: Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>,
	Darren Hart <dvhart@linux.intel.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Paul McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Mike Galbraith <efault@gmx.de>, Jeff Mahoney <jeffm@suse.com>,
	Jason Low <jason.low2@hp.com>, Waiman Long <Waiman.Long@hp.com>,
	Tom Vaden <tom.vaden@hp.com>,
	"Norton, Scott J" <scott.norton@hp.com>,
	"Chandramouleeswaran, Aswin" <aswin@hp.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 5/4] futex: silence uninitialized warnings
Date: Tue, 7 Jan 2014 10:55:57 +0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CA+55aFwgbgqhbp1fkxvRKEpzyR5J8n1vKT1VZdz9knmPuXhOeg@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <1388972316.4918.5.camel@buesod1.americas.hpqcorp.net>

On Mon, Jan 6, 2014 at 9:38 AM, Davidlohr Bueso <davidlohr@hp.com> wrote:
>  {
>         int lock_taken, ret, force_take = 0;
> -       u32 uval, newval, curval, vpid = task_pid_vnr(task);
> +       u32 uval, newval, uninitialized_var(curval), vpid = task_pid_vnr(task);

Do you have some broken compiler? I really tend to hate this kind of
workarounds, because as mentioned, they can actually hide valid
warnings, and it seems to be due to just stupid compilers. Are we
perhaps better off trying to get people off the broken compiler
versions instead?

              Linus

  parent reply	other threads:[~2014-01-07  2:56 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 23+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2014-01-02 15:05 [PATCH v5 0/4] futex: Wakeup optimizations Davidlohr Bueso
2014-01-02 15:05 ` [PATCH v5 1/4] futex: Misc cleanups Davidlohr Bueso
2014-01-11  6:43   ` Paul E. McKenney
2014-01-02 15:05 ` [PATCH v5 2/4] futex: Larger hash table Davidlohr Bueso
2014-01-11  7:37   ` Paul E. McKenney
2014-01-02 15:05 ` [PATCH v5 3/4] futex: Document ordering guarantees Davidlohr Bueso
2014-01-06 18:58   ` Darren Hart
2014-01-11  7:40   ` Paul E. McKenney
2014-01-02 15:05 ` [PATCH v5 4/4] futex: Avoid taking hb lock if nothing to wakeup Davidlohr Bueso
2014-01-02 19:23   ` Linus Torvalds
2014-01-02 20:59     ` Davidlohr Bueso
2014-01-06 20:56       ` Darren Hart
2014-01-06 20:52   ` Darren Hart
2014-01-07  3:29     ` Davidlohr Bueso
2014-01-07 17:40       ` Darren Hart
2014-01-11  9:49   ` Paul E. McKenney
2014-01-11  9:52     ` Paul E. McKenney
2014-01-11 18:21       ` Davidlohr Bueso
2014-01-06  0:59 ` [PATCH v5 0/4] futex: Wakeup optimizations Davidlohr Bueso
2014-01-06  1:38 ` [PATCH 5/4] futex: silence uninitialized warnings Davidlohr Bueso
2014-01-06 18:48   ` Darren Hart
2014-01-07  2:55   ` Linus Torvalds [this message]
2014-01-07  3:02     ` Davidlohr Bueso

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CA+55aFwgbgqhbp1fkxvRKEpzyR5J8n1vKT1VZdz9knmPuXhOeg@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=Waiman.Long@hp.com \
    --cc=aswin@hp.com \
    --cc=davidlohr@hp.com \
    --cc=dvhart@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=efault@gmx.de \
    --cc=jason.low2@hp.com \
    --cc=jeffm@suse.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mingo@kernel.org \
    --cc=paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=scott.norton@hp.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=tom.vaden@hp.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 5/4] futex: silence uninitialized warnings' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).