linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Tzung-Bi Shih <tzungbi@google.com>
To: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@kernel.org>
Cc: Cheng-Yi Chiang <cychiang@chromium.org>,
	Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@gmail.com>,
	Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>, Jaroslav Kysela <perex@perex.cz>,
	Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.com>, Benson Leung <bleung@chromium.org>,
	Enric Balletbo i Serra <enric.balletbo@collabora.com>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Guenter Roeck <groeck@chromium.org>,
	ALSA development <alsa-devel@alsa-project.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] ASoC: cros_ec_codec: fix uninitialized memory read
Date: Fri, 4 Dec 2020 17:05:37 +0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CA+Px+wXi1eUf2xS0NB2-fnGi8G7h8ugiD4dPfW7ZPYRqC3uxzw@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAK8P3a3qrPa0Jue-eLrXn+ufBsvY4+UQr7SQ9ZHxuEMtvoYMhA@mail.gmail.com>

On Fri, Dec 4, 2020 at 4:28 PM Arnd Bergmann <arnd@kernel.org> wrote:
>
> On Fri, Dec 4, 2020 at 3:56 AM Tzung-Bi Shih <tzungbi@google.com> wrote:
> >
> > On Fri, Dec 4, 2020 at 6:55 AM Arnd Bergmann <arnd@kernel.org> wrote:
> >
> > In the case in i2s_rx_event(), only the "cmd" member is used.  But it
> > is fine to please the compiler.
>
> I wouldn't do it just to please the compiler. I sent this patch since
> the code clearly copies the uninitialized data here. If only
> one byte is meant to be copied, then we should change the
> function call to not pass the entire structure. I'll send a new
> patch for that.

My sentence may confuse you.  But I mean: the uninitialized data
doesn't introduce any bugs because it only uses the first byte in the
case.

Instead of your v2
(https://patchwork.kernel.org/project/alsa-devel/patch/20201204083624.2711356-1-arnd@kernel.org/),
I prefer this version v1.

  reply	other threads:[~2020-12-04  9:06 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 5+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-12-03 22:54 Arnd Bergmann
2020-12-04  2:56 ` Tzung-Bi Shih
2020-12-04  8:28   ` Arnd Bergmann
2020-12-04  9:05     ` Tzung-Bi Shih [this message]
2020-12-04 23:30 ` Mark Brown

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CA+Px+wXi1eUf2xS0NB2-fnGi8G7h8ugiD4dPfW7ZPYRqC3uxzw@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=tzungbi@google.com \
    --cc=alsa-devel@alsa-project.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=arnd@kernel.org \
    --cc=bleung@chromium.org \
    --cc=broonie@kernel.org \
    --cc=cychiang@chromium.org \
    --cc=enric.balletbo@collabora.com \
    --cc=groeck@chromium.org \
    --cc=lgirdwood@gmail.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=perex@perex.cz \
    --cc=tiwai@suse.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH] ASoC: cros_ec_codec: fix uninitialized memory read' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).