linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
To: Christopher Heiny <cheiny@synaptics.com>
Cc: Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com>,
	Jean Delvare <khali@linux-fr.org>,
	Linux Kernel <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux Input <linux-input@vger.kernel.org>,
	Allie Xiong <axiong@synaptics.com>,
	William Manson <wmanson@synaptics.com>,
	Peichen Chang <peichen.chang@synaptics.com>,
	Joerie de Gram <j.de.gram@gmail.com>,
	Wolfram Sang <w.sang@pengutronix.de>,
	Mathieu Poirier <mathieu.poirier@linaro.org>,
	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@stericsson.com>,
	Naveen Kumar Gaddipati <naveen.gaddipati@stericsson.com>,
	Jonathan Cameron <jic23@cam.ac.uk>
Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH 17/17] input: RMI4 F54 analog data reporting
Date: Mon, 27 Aug 2012 16:01:52 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CACRpkdYNUNmbMinzAth4ZBUojgTuKCvf1msuvDy3EK_3aQ9vRg@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <1345241877-16200-18-git-send-email-cheiny@synaptics.com>

On Fri, Aug 17, 2012 at 3:17 PM, Christopher Heiny <cheiny@synaptics.com> wrote:

Verbose commit message.

> Signed-off-by: Christopher Heiny <cheiny@synaptics.com>

> +#include <linux/hrtimer.h>
> +#include <linux/kernel.h>
> +#include <linux/rmi.h>
> +#include <linux/slab.h>
> +#include <linux/version.h>
> +#include <linux/delay.h>

This is not using the existing in-kernel framework for ADC (which I think is
what you're doing), in this case use the IIO subsystem so consult
drivers/iio/adc and be inspired.

Just exposing a set of weird sysfs files to userspace is not proper.

Yours,
Linus Walleij

  reply	other threads:[~2012-08-27 23:01 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 44+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2012-08-17 22:17 [RFC PATCH 00/11] input: Synaptics RMI4 Touchscreen Driver Christopher Heiny
2012-08-17 22:17 ` [RFC PATCH 1/17] input: RMI4 public header file and documentation Christopher Heiny
2012-08-22 19:08   ` Linus Walleij
2012-08-22 21:45     ` Dmitry Torokhov
2012-08-23  0:26       ` Christopher Heiny
2012-08-22 23:35     ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2012-08-17 22:17 ` [RFC PATCH 2/17] input: RMI4 core bus and sensor drivers Christopher Heiny
2012-08-23  8:55   ` Linus Walleij
2012-09-25 23:53     ` Christopher Heiny
2012-09-26 11:39       ` Linus Walleij
2012-08-17 22:17 ` [RFC PATCH 3/17] input: RMI4 physical layer drivers for I2C and SPI Christopher Heiny
2012-08-23 13:21   ` Linus Walleij
2012-08-17 22:17 ` [RFC PATCH 4/17] input: RMI4 configs and makefiles Christopher Heiny
2012-08-27 18:39   ` Linus Walleij
2012-08-17 22:17 ` [RFC PATCH 5/17] input: rmidev character driver for RMI4 sensors Christopher Heiny
2012-08-27 18:49   ` Linus Walleij
2012-09-05  0:26     ` Christopher Heiny
2012-09-05  8:29       ` Linus Walleij
2012-08-17 22:17 ` [RFC PATCH 6/17] input: RMI4 firmware update Christopher Heiny
2012-08-27 21:01   ` Linus Walleij
2012-08-17 22:17 ` [RFC PATCH 7/17] input: RMI4 F01 device control Christopher Heiny
2012-08-27 21:59   ` Linus Walleij
2012-08-17 22:17 ` [RFC PATCH 8/17] input: RMI4 F09 Built-In Self Test Christopher Heiny
2012-08-27 22:07   ` Linus Walleij
2012-09-05  0:21     ` Christopher Heiny
2012-08-17 22:17 ` [RFC PATCH 9/17] input: RMI4 F11 multitouch sensing Christopher Heiny
2012-08-27 22:50   ` Linus Walleij
2012-08-17 22:17 ` [RFC PATCH 10/17] input: RM4 F17 Pointing sticks Christopher Heiny
2012-08-17 22:17 ` [RFC PATCH 11/17] input: RMI4 F19 capacitive buttons Christopher Heiny
2012-08-17 22:17 ` [RFC PATCH 12/17] input: RMI4 F1A simple " Christopher Heiny
2012-08-17 22:17 ` [RFC PATCH 13/17] input: RMI4 F21 Force sensing Christopher Heiny
2012-08-17 22:17 ` [RFC PATCH 14/17] input: RMI4 F30 GPIO/LED control Christopher Heiny
2012-08-27 22:58   ` Linus Walleij
2012-09-05  0:28     ` Christopher Heiny
2012-08-17 22:17 ` [RFC PATCH 15/17] input: RMI4 F34 device reflash Christopher Heiny
2012-08-17 22:17 ` [RFC PATCH 16/17] input: RMI4 F41 Active pen 2D input Christopher Heiny
2012-08-17 22:17 ` [RFC PATCH 17/17] input: RMI4 F54 analog data reporting Christopher Heiny
2012-08-27 23:01   ` Linus Walleij [this message]
2012-09-05  0:38     ` Christopher Heiny
2012-08-22 12:50 ` [RFC PATCH 00/11] input: Synaptics RMI4 Touchscreen Driver Linus Walleij
2012-08-22 21:29   ` Christopher Heiny
2012-08-27 23:20   ` Christopher Heiny
2012-08-28  0:12     ` Linus Walleij
2012-08-27 23:05 ` Linus Walleij

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CACRpkdYNUNmbMinzAth4ZBUojgTuKCvf1msuvDy3EK_3aQ9vRg@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=axiong@synaptics.com \
    --cc=cheiny@synaptics.com \
    --cc=dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com \
    --cc=j.de.gram@gmail.com \
    --cc=jic23@cam.ac.uk \
    --cc=khali@linux-fr.org \
    --cc=linus.walleij@stericsson.com \
    --cc=linux-input@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mathieu.poirier@linaro.org \
    --cc=naveen.gaddipati@stericsson.com \
    --cc=peichen.chang@synaptics.com \
    --cc=w.sang@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=wmanson@synaptics.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).