linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
To: Jian Cai <jiancai@google.com>
Cc: "Nick Desaulniers" <ndesaulniers@google.com>,
	"Manoj Gupta" <manojgupta@google.com>,
	"Luis Lozano" <llozano@google.com>,
	clang-built-linux <clang-built-linux@googlegroups.com>,
	"Nathan Chancellor" <nathan@kernel.org>,
	"David Laight" <David.Laight@aculab.com>,
	"Will Deacon" <will@kernel.org>,
	"Russell King" <rmk+kernel@armlinux.org.uk>,
	"Russell King" <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	"Catalin Marinas" <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	"James Morris" <jmorris@namei.org>,
	"Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>,
	"Arnd Bergmann" <arnd@arndb.de>,
	"Masahiro Yamada" <masahiroy@kernel.org>,
	"Krzysztof Kozlowski" <krzk@kernel.org>,
	"Marc Zyngier" <maz@kernel.org>,
	"Kees Cook" <keescook@chromium.org>,
	"Andreas Färber" <afaerber@suse.de>,
	"Ard Biesheuvel" <ardb@kernel.org>,
	"Ingo Molnar" <mingo@kernel.org>,
	"Andrew Morton" <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	"Mike Rapoport" <rppt@kernel.org>,
	"Mark Rutland" <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	"David Brazdil" <dbrazdil@google.com>,
	"James Morse" <james.morse@arm.com>,
	"Linux ARM" <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	"linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v5] ARM: Implement SLS mitigation
Date: Sat, 6 Mar 2021 13:25:36 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CACRpkdYrqy78EfB_+UY0QtA0v0tD+_+O09Pod8-1Vd-p-VyMWA@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CA+SOCL+M5YfhygG=ogqvqp7y40v+32RiteGr=53THzwvdGugyA@mail.gmail.com>

On Fri, Mar 5, 2021 at 12:23 AM Jian Cai <jiancai@google.com> wrote:
> On Wed, Mar 3, 2021 at 7:04 AM Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org> wrote:
> >
> > On Tue, Feb 23, 2021 at 3:36 AM Jian Cai <jiancai@google.com> wrote:
> >
> > > This patch adds CONFIG_HARDEN_SLS_ALL that can be used to turn on
> > > -mharden-sls=all, which mitigates the straight-line speculation
> > > vulnerability, speculative execution of the instruction following some
> > > unconditional jumps. Notice -mharden-sls= has other options as below,
> > > and this config turns on the strongest option.
> > >
> > > all: enable all mitigations against Straight Line Speculation that are implemented.
> > > none: disable all mitigations against Straight Line Speculation.
> > > retbr: enable the mitigation against Straight Line Speculation for RET and BR instructions.
> > > blr: enable the mitigation against Straight Line Speculation for BLR instructions.
> >
> > I heard about compiler protection for this, so nice to see it happening!
> >
> > Would you happen to know if there is any plan to do the same for GCC?
> > I know you folks at Google like LLVM, but if you know let us know.
>
> I think gcc also has these options.
> https://gcc.gnu.org/onlinedocs/gcc/AArch64-Options.html

And how does that work with this part of your patch:

+#define SLS_TEXT                                       \
+       ALIGN_FUNCTION();                              \
+       *(.text.__llvm_slsblr_thunk_*)

This does not look compiler agnostic?

Yours,
Linus Walleij

  reply	other threads:[~2021-03-06 12:26 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 29+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-02-12  5:14 [PATCH] ARM: Implement Clang's " Jian Cai
2021-02-12  5:55 ` Nathan Chancellor
2021-02-12 10:41   ` David Laight
2021-02-12 19:52     ` [PATCH v2] " Jian Cai
2021-02-17  9:49       ` Will Deacon
2021-02-17 11:05         ` David Laight
2021-03-25 14:01         ` Linus Walleij
2021-02-17 18:20       ` Nick Desaulniers
2021-02-19 20:18       ` [PATCH v3] ARM: Implement " Jian Cai
2021-02-19 20:30         ` Nathan Chancellor
2021-02-19 23:08         ` [PATCH v4] " Jian Cai
2021-02-21 10:13           ` Russell King - ARM Linux admin
2021-02-22 11:58           ` Will Deacon
2021-02-22 21:50             ` Jian Cai
2021-02-23 10:04               ` Will Deacon
2021-03-03 15:18                 ` Linus Walleij
2021-03-03 15:29                   ` David Laight
2021-03-03 15:31                     ` Linus Walleij
2021-02-23  2:31           ` [PATCH v5] " Jian Cai
2021-02-23  2:35             ` Jian Cai
2021-03-03 15:04               ` Linus Walleij
2021-03-04 23:22                 ` Jian Cai
2021-03-06 12:25                   ` Linus Walleij [this message]
2021-03-10  4:43                     ` Jian Cai
2021-03-22 11:45                       ` Linus Walleij
2021-03-23 22:39                         ` Jian Cai
2021-03-05  0:53               ` [PATCH v6] " Jian Cai
2021-03-05  9:52                 ` Will Deacon
2021-03-06 12:27                   ` Linus Walleij

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CACRpkdYrqy78EfB_+UY0QtA0v0tD+_+O09Pod8-1Vd-p-VyMWA@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=David.Laight@aculab.com \
    --cc=afaerber@suse.de \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=ardb@kernel.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=clang-built-linux@googlegroups.com \
    --cc=dbrazdil@google.com \
    --cc=james.morse@arm.com \
    --cc=jiancai@google.com \
    --cc=jmorris@namei.org \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=krzk@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=llozano@google.com \
    --cc=manojgupta@google.com \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=masahiroy@kernel.org \
    --cc=maz@kernel.org \
    --cc=mingo@kernel.org \
    --cc=nathan@kernel.org \
    --cc=ndesaulniers@google.com \
    --cc=rmk+kernel@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=rppt@kernel.org \
    --cc=serge@hallyn.com \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v5] ARM: Implement SLS mitigation' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
on how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox