linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
To: Christian Brauner <christian@brauner.io>
Cc: Aleksa Sarai <cyphar@cyphar.com>,
	Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	Jeff Layton <jlayton@kernel.org>,
	"J. Bruce Fields" <bfields@fieldses.org>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	Eric Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	David Drysdale <drysdale@google.com>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org>, Jann Horn <jannh@google.com>,
	Chanho Min <chanho.min@lge.com>, Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>,
	Aleksa Sarai <asarai@suse.de>,
	containers@lists.linux-foundation.org,
	linux-fsdevel <linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux API <linux-api@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux List Kernel Mailing <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-arch <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH RESEND v5 2/5] namei: O_BENEATH-style path resolution flags
Date: Sat, 9 Mar 2019 10:08:08 -0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAHk-=whMuk-b6rzhbF2=vVNOuEZk8-opRJ1fD07a9ztQ+V97Aw@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20190309172631.ygfdhrn4rcwkgfmk@brauner.io>

On Sat, Mar 9, 2019 at 9:26 AM Christian Brauner <christian@brauner.io> wrote:
>
> Aside from that I want to point out that it is non-trivial to do this in
> user space.

Oh, absolutely agreed. It's easy to do it in the kernel, and doing it
anywhere else ends up having horrible races that the kernel has to
deal with and has long solved anyway.

I've only seen this (2/5) patch, so I won't comment on the other ones,
but this still makes sense to me.

Al, comments?

                  Linus

  reply	other threads:[~2019-03-09 18:16 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 11+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-03-06 19:12 [PATCH RESEND v5 0/5] namei: vfs flags to restrict path resolution Aleksa Sarai
2019-03-06 19:12 ` [PATCH RESEND v5 1/5] namei: split out nd->dfd handling to dirfd_path_init Aleksa Sarai
2019-03-06 19:12 ` [PATCH RESEND v5 2/5] namei: O_BENEATH-style path resolution flags Aleksa Sarai
2019-03-09 17:00   ` Linus Torvalds
2019-03-09 17:26     ` Christian Brauner
2019-03-09 18:08       ` Linus Torvalds [this message]
2019-03-10 12:12         ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-03-06 19:12 ` [PATCH RESEND v5 3/5] namei: O_THISROOT: chroot-like path resolution Aleksa Sarai
2019-03-06 19:12 ` [PATCH RESEND v5 4/5] namei: aggressively check for nd->root escape on ".." resolution Aleksa Sarai
2019-03-06 19:12 ` [PATCH RESEND v5 5/5] binfmt_*: scope path resolution of interpreters Aleksa Sarai
2019-03-20 14:37 [PATCH RESEND v5 0/5] namei: vfs flags to restrict path resolution Aleksa Sarai
2019-03-20 14:37 ` [PATCH RESEND v5 2/5] namei: O_BENEATH-style path resolution flags Aleksa Sarai

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAHk-=whMuk-b6rzhbF2=vVNOuEZk8-opRJ1fD07a9ztQ+V97Aw@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=asarai@suse.de \
    --cc=ast@kernel.org \
    --cc=bfields@fieldses.org \
    --cc=chanho.min@lge.com \
    --cc=christian@brauner.io \
    --cc=containers@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=cyphar@cyphar.com \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=drysdale@google.com \
    --cc=ebiederm@xmission.com \
    --cc=jannh@google.com \
    --cc=jlayton@kernel.org \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=linux-api@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arch@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=oleg@redhat.com \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).